We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn - Alpine, TX

Traveler (5)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (6)


#12 of 13 hotels in Alpine
Discover a remote, high-desert jewel nestled in the tall hills of West Texas and all it has to offer while staying at the Americas Best Value Inn Alpine. Our property is ideally situated less than 2 miles away from downtown Alpine and Sul Ross State University, and only a few miles from popular local attractions such as Museum of the Big Bend, Hancock Hill, and Wassermann Wranch. We are conveniently located off E Ave East and Highway 118. Start your work or sightseeing day in fine form with free daily hot breakfast or a free cup of coffee in our lobby available 24 hours a day. Guests have a choice of a variety of restaurants in the immediate area. Our knowledgeable and helpful staff will recommend what best suits your taste buds. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, stay connected with our free Wi-Fi available throughout the property.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
20Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 7
  • 20
  • 18
  • 12
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed on this hotel as a part of our purpose to visit the Marfa Mystery Lights location. The Hotel was kind of crowded by contractors working in some of the projects going around the area but we had a very pleasant. It is not a 5 start hotel but meet the purpose for staying one night and not brake the bank. We will stay again case that we need one more time.
Read more
Response from Roger B, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn - Alpine, TX
Responded Mar 21, 2019
We are happy that you enjoy your stay with us. We hope that you did get to see the Marfa Mystery Lights. We thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Read more
Do not stay here unless you want to lose $60 on a hair dryer that you did not steal. Get them to check your room before you leave so you don't end up in this unnecessary situation. Hotel room was not great either huge hole in the wall from the door hitting it and walls peeling. There were stains on the chair and on the bed spread.
Read more
Response from Roger B, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Alpine, TX
Responded Mar 18, 2019
We are sorry to hear that you did not like our hotel. As for the hair dryer the maids check every day if the hair dryer is in the room. Once the hair dryer goes missing we call to see if the person took it by mistake, after that we do charge $60 for a stolen item. As for the hole on the wall we are fixing that issue, as there are some guest that slam the door on the wall and make a hole. And just a reminder we are the second cheapest hotel in town.
Read more
We had a reservation. We were NOT told it could not be cancelled. We arrived to check in. Arturo the front desk clerk told us check in time was at 3pm, even though we were told we could check in at noon. Arturo told us we could not check in till 3, but it would probably be more like 4 because the maids were not there yet. We went to another hotel , checked in and were in our room within 5 minutes. I called America's Best Value inn Alpine to cancel the reservation. Arturo was clueless and we ended up speaking to a very unprofessional and sarcastic manager. He was rude and would not give me his name. He refused to cancel the charges. He never apologized, Please for your sake avoid this terrible and unprofessionally run Inn.
Read more
Response from Roger B, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Alpine, TX
Responded Mar 18, 2019
When you did your reservation you had 48 hours prior you check-in date to cancel the reservation. And as Arturo said check-in time is at 3 pm not at noon, check-out time is at 11 am so the maids need time to clean the room. The day that you did come was the week that we were all booked. All the room were sold out the day prior to that. The maids were cleaning as fast as they can, but we did sold more than 80 room the day before. I am glad that you did find a hotel who could check you in early. As for the manager you never asked for the name. Can you please provide how this manager was "sarcastic and unprofessional." As for the charges you will be charge for one night stay as it was a no-show.
Read more
We stayed one night on our way out of town after spending a full day in Big Bend National Park. It was a large comfortable room for one night. The only complaint I would have is that the heater fan would not shut off. When the room hit the right temp the fan would continue to run. That causes us a lot of allergy issues so that was the only bothersome thing.
Read more
Response from Roger B, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Alpine, TX
Responded Feb 5, 2019
If you place the heater on auto the fan will continue running after the heater has turn off to circulate the air. If you wanted to the fan to turn off you needed to place it on heat. We appreciate you using our facility.
Read more
We had three people in our room and two towels. I had to use a wet towel used by someone else after showering. Then after our first day our room had not been cleaned when we got back that night. The breakfast is marginal at best.
Read more
Response from Roger B, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Alpine, TX
Responded Feb 5, 2019
Extra towels are avaliable upon request. There are only two sets put in each room. By chance did you have the do not disturbe sign up and can you please provide your name and date of stay and room number so we could check and review the maid sheets. Thank you for using our facility hope to see you again.
Read more
$81 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
sunday house hotel alpine
United StatesTexasAlpine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing