We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Whitten South

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
BEST WESTERN Whitten South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

272 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 269: English reviews
Sugar Land
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is a bit dated but relatively clean. The lobby is inviting and the check-in was very smooth. When you check-in, they offer you a something to drink, which was a nice touch. The room was efficient, quiet and the AC worked well, which really helped as it was very hot outside. The breakfast area was a bid disappointing... More 

Helpful?
Thank stancal
wiexpo, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitten South, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall, especially the free drinks at check in. I'm sorry to hear the breakfast was not what you had expected. We try to offer a little bit of everything by having bacon, eggs and sausage,... More 

North Bend
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The lobby is absolutely beautiful. It makes you feel great after a long day in the car. Check in was smooth, and they even offer you a complimentary beer, wine, or soda upon arrival! The best part was a big comfortable leather recliner in the room. What a nice touch. Restaurants within walking distance. The complimentary breakfast in the morning... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy K
wiexpo, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitten South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel, we appreciate your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the recliner in the room. All of our guests love the complimentary cold drinks upon arrival. Multiple restaurants in the area are a big plus for our guests too! Thank... More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is exactly what I hope for in a budget hotel. We arrived hot and tired from almost 12 hours of driving from Denver Colorado. Our room was clean, the AC worked like a champion (106 ° outside) The bed was fine and the breakfast was all we needed to start the day. This is located right off the highway... More 

Helpful?
Thank jbdenverco
wiexpo, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitten South, responded to this review

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We like to leave the air conditioners on during these hot summer months so our guest walk into a nice cool room. Guests love our location because we are near many local restaurants, the Mall of Abilene, and directly off the 83/84 highway. Thank you so much for taking... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was attracted to this hotel because of the low prices. We arrived and the hotel looked kinda sketchy however when we checked in everything was very neat and organized. The breakfast was great and our room was clean. We were also offered free beer! Or any other drink of your choice.

Helpful?
Thank bryce p
wiexpo, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitten South, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Being an exterior hotel people do think we look a little 'sketchy' from the outside but are quite surprised when they come inside. I'm glad you enjoyed your room, breakfast, and free beer! All of our guests seem to love the free beverages. We hope to see you again soon... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped here while on the road traveling through for the night. The rooms were clean and bed comfortable and that is all we were looking for. Had a few minor things wrong had to get tv to work ourselves no biggie probably happened when room was cleaned. Phone to front office didn't work well couldn't hear them on their end... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mccann1
wiexpo, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitten South, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. I'm happy to hear that your room was clean and comfortable and that you were able to make use of our guest laundry area. I am sorry that you had to work at it to get the television on and it did not... More 

Tucson, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

Comfortable beds, clean room, delicious continental breakfast. Close to the Hwy, Mall & multiple locations to eat. Staff was polite & gave us directions to their location over the phone. Will keep at the top of our list for stay in Abilene.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Shantel R M
wiexpo, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitten South, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your room and breakfast. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Abilene. Stephanie O'Neill More 

Killeen, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016

We chose this hotel because of the great reviews. Yeah- had I not booked a non-refundable room, we would have gone across the street to the Hampton. Here's the thing: This hotel is clearly for the working man: truckers, electricians, painters, etc., and thats cool. Everyone's gotta stay somewhere- but its really not for families. When we drove up, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karagape
wiexpo, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitten South, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay with us. During the same time as your stay we did have a group of remodelers staying with us to do some work on a local chicken restaurant. We also had the Texas State High School Rodeo Finals in town, putting almost every hotel in... More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

The staff was very friendly and accommodating and the breakfast plentiful. The building was old but pretty well kept and everything seemed to work. We had come for ACU orientation and it was a little further away than we had anticipated but easy to access via uncrowded roads. The towels and linens were nice!

Helpful?
Thank Casane
wiexpo, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitten South, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us even though you had to drive a little further than expected. Being in a town with three universities we have a lot of college parents that stay with us. Thank you for the compliments to our linens and staff. We appreciate you taking time to review our hotel... More 

oklahoma city, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

Hotel was very nice and the room was clean. Internet was really slow. The swimming pool was empty and on a memorial day weekend that was bad. We were planning on soaking in the pool after the long drive we made to get there. There were plenty of restaurants nearby and the shopping mall was close. If it wasn't for... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James C
wiexpo, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitten South, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, all except for the pool being closed. Unfortunately, with it raining every couple days these past few weeks we have not been able to get the pool painted, which takes 6 to 7 days to dry! We must have this done to be able to pass the inspection... More 

Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016

We were just traveling through, on our way home from a trip to the west coast. The reservations for this motel were made by the folks in Albuquerque, NM we asked for a ground floor and got one. This motel was a great place to stay because it was far enough off the freeway that we didn't get a lot... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve T
wiexpo, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitten South, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. I'm pleased to hear that your requests for the room were met and that your enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you as our guest again on your next trip thru Abilene. Stephanie O'Neill More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abilene hotels
6.6 mi away
Residence Inn Abilene
Residence Inn Abilene
#2 of 39 in Abilene
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene I-20
1.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Abilene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Abilene Mall
6.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Abilene Northeast
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#14 of 39 in Abilene
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Whitten South

Address: 3950 Ridgemont Dr, Abilene, TX 79606-2730
Location: United States > Texas > Abilene
Price Range: $77 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Whitten South 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Best Western + Iniative, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Whitten South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Abilene
Abilene Best Western
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Abilene
#2 Business Hotel in Abilene
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abilene
#4 Family Hotel in Abilene
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay