We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Aiken

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Hotel Aiken
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 131: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We really enjoyed Hotel Aiken. It is very old, so you really have to take that into consideration. The rooms were clean and the staff were very nice. That is really all that matters to us. Updates are being made. We will definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Alice S
Management response:

Thank you for your review. Yes our hotel is 118 years old and full of history. We glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I took the advice of fellow reviewers and asked for a room away from the music. We got a room across the parking lot in their "motel" annex. It was very run down. We stayed for 2 nights (Aug 26 & 27). When we woke in the morning....7:30/8:00 there was maybe a serving spoonful of scrambled eggs left, five small... More 

Helpful?
Thank beachgirl3045
Management response:

Thank you so much for the review. We are always looking for ways to improve and feedback like yours does just that. So thank you and we will do our best in the future. Please if you come back and are faced with a limited breakfast, let the staff know and we will cook you anything you need. Thanks again. More 

Travelers are raving about these Aiken hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016

The hotel is a bit rundown but it is a fun place to be at. The people are great and very friendly. They have breakfast in the morning. The food is very good. It is in a central location, downtown to be exact with lots of small shops and restaurants in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Patty G
Management response:

Thank you so much for your comments. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Georgetown, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

The above photo is not even close to the room we were assigned. Ours was dirty, and so small you could not pull luggage between the beds and the tv. when we arrived, there were no bath towels in the room...In the bath was a 3 inch hole in the wall where the toilet tissue holder had been pulled out... More 

Helpful?
Thank anne h
Management response:

Thank you for your comments and we are so sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We have 68 rooms and 43 of them are all different in size and style. Again thank you for your comments it will help us in improving the guest experience. More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016 via mobile

I stayed at Hotel Aiken for a weekend in the outside building. It was pretty dated, all of the outside rooms could definitely use an upgrade. Also there was no liner in the shower, just a cloth shower curtain, my friends stayed in the room next to mine and they said they had the same thing, so whenever you shower... More 

Helpful?
Thank AMO921
Management response:

Thank you for your response to your stay. We here at the Hotel Aiken are always trying to make improvements. We thank you for your comments it is what helps us get better. More 

Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

I stayed at the Hotel Aiken for one night. I was upgraded to the main building at no extra charge. The facilities could use some care, some of the first floor common areas were unused and run down. But the hotel has a very historic feel- rooms with high ceilings and antique-feeling furniture. It reminded me of a European inn.... More 

Helpful?
Thank levnc
Management response:

Thank You so much for your comments. More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2016

If you're planning to stay here, know that the hotel was built in 1898. The furniture in our room (main building) wasn't original, but had been there a long time. Stains on the chair and bathtub. Comfortable beds, but smaller room. The bathroom hadn't been cleaned well, with hairs and a soap wrapper on the floor. The vanity top was... More 

Helpful?
Thank _ncemily27526
Management response:

We welcome your comments and thank you. More 

Harwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2016

We had a king suite, plenty of room, two tv's, bathroom was fine. A young man named Michael was operating the elevator and made our whole trip! What a wonderful young man, couldn't do enough for us! Thanks!!

Helpful?
Thank Brian H
Management response:

We so enjoy our masters guests they are always so fun and full of energy. Thank you for commenting on one of our employees, Michael he is one of our gems. I will definitely pass the review to Michael. Again Thank You. More 

Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is beyond gross. Prepaid for Masters weekend 2 nights $604.38. We came and checked in and then left within 10 minutes. Besides the hotel being dirty it was unlivable. Room was dirty, carpets not vacuumed, stains on carpet, mold on window sills, cracked from letting in outside air, the threshold carpet at door worn out and exposed nail... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas G
Management response:

Thank you for your review. We are always looking for ways to improve. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2016 via mobile

When we pulled up to the main hotel we were thrilled. Then, we were told we were not booked into the main building, rather the "courtyard". The courtyard is a dump. Our room was clean but ancient and the noise in the alley (forget courtyard) kept us up half the night. If you can stay in the main building, great.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

Thank you for your review. We are so sorry we didn't meet your standards. If you visit our quaint town again please stop by and we would love to give you a tour of our historic property. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aiken hotels
5.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Aiken
0.3 mi away
The Willcox
The Willcox
#2 of 20 in Aiken
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Aiken
Hampton Inn Aiken
#1 of 20 in Aiken
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aiken
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Aiken is the perfect place to "play & stay" in downtown Aiken! Originally built in 1898 the main building of the Hotel Aiken has gone through many changes and a series of major and continuous renovations since 2001, with the accent on retaining the historical feel of this landmark building whilst providing all the modern amenities one would expect from a contemporary Hotel, such as free use of hard-wired HSIA in all rooms. We also offer more moderate accommodations in our courtyard building, where the rooms are basic, standard motel rooms. We have three on site bars, which makes Hotel Aiken one of downtown Aiken’s most popular watering holes. We have live entertainment on Wednesday-Saturday nights until 2AM and are open seven days a week. Hotel Aiken is centrally located and considered "party central" almost every day of the week. Please keep this in mind when making your reservations at our hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Aiken

Address: 235 Richland Ave W, Aiken, SC 29801-3865
Location: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Price Range: $49 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aiken 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Aiken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay