We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva
See the most recent reviews
Showing 137: English reviews
Chiriqui Province, Panama
Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile

To be honest you don't have much choice in this little town. I've stayed a few different places and they are all about the same. The hotel was under construction so we had to use a side door to get in. Overall the rooms were OK and what I would expect from a holiday Inn. The staff was friendly. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carltico
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva, responded to this review

Dear Carltico, Thank you for your stay and for leaving a review about our hotel on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is extremely important as this will help us to achieve our mission to provide the perfect guest experience. Thank you for noting our friendly staff. However, I am truly sorry for the inconvenience you had experienced due to the ongoing renovations....

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

Stayed overnight and the room was dark, sparsely furnished, marginal room. The refrigerator was loud, we had to unplug to sleep, musty, uncomfortable bed. AC was all or nothing..while on you would freeze when off boil. Carpet in hallway visibly dirty. If not so tired, we would have left. Would never stay again and will probably not stay at any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colleen H
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva, responded to this review

Dear Colleen H, Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us...

Hillsboro, Ohio
Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

This hotel was very clean and maintained. With its super friendly staff I wouldn't think twice before staying again. The pool was nice, and right out the door is a little picnic area. The kurig machine in the room was nice and worked great. Bathroom was stocked with some general necessities. Breakfast was great. For me it all falls down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PretendFarmGirl
Bowmanville, Canada
Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

Staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and modern. Unfortunately the coffee and tea in the lobby was often times chilly. The hotel is isolated - there is only on restaurant located across the busy road. Do to its isolated location it is difficult to set up your GPS to navigate to other places of interest.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelista1969
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva, responded to this review

Dear Travelista1969, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are so pleased to know you liked the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of our rooms. On the other hand, we are sorry you were not satisfied with the complimentary coffee we offer in the lobby and location of our hotel property. We take our...

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed July 28, 2016

I stayed here with my church summer mission team. All of our work was in Madison, OH which is a short drive away. The staff at all hours was very friendly. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable, and quiet. Some hotels lack in water pressure, but this one did not. When I took a shower, I felt like I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kscheuring
Reviewed July 25, 2016

Stayed here for work. Was surprised to discover they had evening appetizers along with breakfast. Was very surprised at the great quality of the food offered at both times. Hot food was offered at both and was able to stretch my food budget! The room was very comfortable and since I somehow forgot my hair brush...(kids) they did provide basic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cagednurse
Devan P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva, responded to this review

cagednurse, Thank you for your kind words! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay while you were with us! We offer our guests complimentary appetizers during the week days because we know after a long day of work its nice to not go back out! We are so happy to hear you were able to take...

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed July 20, 2016

This hotel seems to be well-maintained, and it's very clean throughout. The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was rather modern and also clean. Bath and Body Works products were provided--shampoo, conditioner, and lotion. This was a nice extra touch. The only issue we had was when booking online, only double beds could be booked. I wrote an online...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lovelaughtravellive
Devan P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva, responded to this review

Lovelaughtravellive, Thank you so much for your valuable feedback! We strive to provide our guests with the best amenities and service starting with modern accommodations and upgraded Bath & Body Works amenities. We apologize that we were not able to place you in the room of your choice, we do the best we can but at times we are unable...

Lawrenceville, Georgia
Reviewed July 14, 2016

It is a standard HIE, nothing special. The room and common areas were very clean, the service was great and the staff was so friendly. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was great. What more can you ask for?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank schmackdaddy_1
Devan P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva, responded to this review

schmackdaddy_1, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback! We are so happy to hear you found our staff friendly, and our hotel as clean as could be! We hope to see you again should you be in the area! Safe travels!

Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here with a brand new baby for 2 nights. The rooms were clean, roomy, and well stocked with all the necessities. Breakfast was as expected, more than adequate. But the staff is where this place really shined. From the managers to the front desk staff and cleaning personnel. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
Devan P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva, responded to this review

Geoff B, Thank you so much for your awesome review! We all want to say congratulations on the new addition to your family and wish you 3 all the best! We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed July 7, 2016

Stayed here two nights over the recent holiday weekend while attending a wedding and visiting family that live in the area. Everything was fine. No complaints. Bed was comfortable. Room was clean. Items we had asked for in the room prior to arriving were there waiting for us. Breakfast was decent and lots available. I guess the only complaint would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jefe96
Devan P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva, responded to this review

jefe96, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback! I have shared your comments with our breakfast host regarding our coffee and we have contacted our provider about the blend we receive. I am happy to hear though our staff and rooms were comfortable! We hope to see you again if you are ever in the...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austinburg
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
#2 of 5 in Austinburg
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 5 in Painesville
423 reviews
21.1 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
7.2 mi away
The Lakehouse Inn
The Lakehouse Inn
#1 of 3 in Geneva on the Lake
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ashtabula offers the finest accommodations in the Ashtabula area. Easily accessible, the Holiday Inn Express is located just off I-90, at exit 223. The Holiday Inn Express is between Erie and Cleveland, with Erie being 45 minutes east, and Cleveland being 50 minutes west. Cleveland Hopkins Airport is also only 45 miles away. The Holiday Inn Express is located 45 miles from the Presque Isle Downs, near Erie, which offers horse racing and slot machine gambling. We are also conveniently located 10 minutes from Thompson Speedway. Located only 5 miles east of Great Sports Complex. Amenities include an indoor heated pool, exercise room, business center, & deluxe complimentary Express Start breakfast. All rooms include free wireless high-speed Internet access, iron, ironing board, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, 25" TVs with full cable, two - two line phones with data ports, in room movies & Nintendo for a nominal fee. Several types of suites are available as well, including: business leisure, two room family suite, and super luxurious two room theme suites with whirlpool tubs. A meeting room is available for special events. The friendly and dedicated staff is Smart Service Plus trained, and will ensure your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel is a comfortable, enjoyable and memorable one. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva

Address: 1831 Austinburg Rd., Route 45 North, Austinburg, OH 44010
Location: United States > Ohio > Austinburg
Price Range: $111 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva Hotel Ashtabula
Holiday Inn Ashtabula
Ashtabula Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva Austinburg, Ohio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room 206 is near the overhang, so smokers who congregate there will provide sound throughout the night.”
150billl, Jan 16, 2017 | Read review
“I'd recommend any room except for the first floor room right next to the elevator.”
Someone555, Sep 7, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms fabulous, best views are higher up.”
RichardT666, Jun 25, 2016 | Read review
“For convenience and room size the first floor suite was great, close to the pool and breakfast room and the front desk.”
554josephk, May 1, 2016 | Read review
“don't spend extra for King Suite”
Leeza217, Apr 10, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question