We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grid 9 Hotel

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Grid 9 Hotel
Grid 9 Hotel
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

549 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 437: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is located in walking distance of Chinatown and 1 minute from the Monorail Station Maharajalela. Rooms are cozy but clean and the hotel itself has an industrial look with lots of grey and steel. Wifi is good and enclosed is a small bar/lounge/restaurant, but we preferred to eat at the foodcourts of Chinatown or around the corner. We... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Marije M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The sheets and pillow cover have stains. Towels have weird odors. Clogged bathroom drain. It'd be great if the room was cleaner, but the size of the room is cozy and just nice for 2 travellers. Good location, Maharajalela station is just few steps away but too bad the hotel doesn't waive parking fees or provide free parking lots. Well,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ivor Xian Z
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a double bedroom online, on our way to Kuala Lumpur. Once arrived at the Sentral KL bus station, we got a taxi to the hotel. It was 5 myr only! We realised after that the hotel is right under the Maharajalela monorail station, another big plus. We arrived at the hotel at 9pm, the security guard helped me... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Fst85
gridnine o, Manager at Grid 9 Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We are so grateful that you were recently our guest and thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warm regards, Elise Chan Manager More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed here a few times and whenever I'm in KL I always come back. The rooms are very clean, it's right next to a monorail station and the food downstairs is awesome! My favourite is the butter chicken! I also enjoyed the breakfasts in the same area downstairs and the friendly staff. There's free WiFi throughout the building and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne P
gridnine o, Manager at Grid 9 Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We are so grateful that you were recently our guest and thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warm regards, Elise Chan Manager More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Cost-effective, clean rooms, right next to the monorail so it's easy to get around the city. Staff weren't super helpful, but did their best when we asked for assistance, part of the issue may be the language barrier. Food at he cafe downstairs is delicious and cheap, super convenient especially for breakfast before heading out for the day.

Helpful?
1 Thank etravel16
gridnine o, Manager at Grid 9 Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We are so grateful that you were recently our guest and thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us, and we will definitely look into the points that you highlighted. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Warm regards, Elise Chan Manager More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016 via mobile

it's really worth to your budget. cheap but you got an excellent place to stay. mrt in front of your window, a cozy livingroom with double komputer to surfing in the internet, a billiard that waiting for you to play, nice building (because it's new),good staffs and clean bathroom of course.

Helpful?
1 Thank Astrinnputri
gridnine o, Manager at Grid 9 Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We are so grateful that you were recently our guest and thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warm regards, Elise Chan Manager More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016 via mobile

I will definitely stay here again and only hope to see some staffs service in more professional way . Location is very convenient and I had really good time staying hostel cafè. If you are planning to stay in group this place would be the best ! Thanks Grid 9. All the best

Helpful?
1 Thank santosh m
gridnine o, Manager at Grid 9 Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We are so grateful that you were recently our guest and thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us, and will definitely look into the point that you highlighted. Our team look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warm regards, Elise Chan Manager More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

When we arrived the payment was a lot more than we thought it was after booking on booking.com. "Service charge included" yet we didn't even get shown to our room and you are given sheets for you to make your own bed. Also our aircon was broken and during our 3 nights stay we was left with a soggy, wet... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Laura A
gridnine o, Manager at Grid 9 Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/ Madam, Thank you for taking time to review us on Tripadvisor. First of all, we apologised for any inconvenience caused. Regarding to the room payment, it is clearly stated on Booking.com that the price is not included service charge and tax. As for bed sheets that you commented above, it is actually a dormitory that guest would prefer... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

I was there for 3 Nights. I came in the middle of the night and it was no Problem. Only problem, they dont make the beds, the sheets are in the locker. I had a top bunk bed so I had to put sheets on my bed in the middle of the night trying not to wake up everybody (failed)... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jsabella D
gridnine o, Manager at Grid 9 Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/ Madam, We are so grateful that you were recently our guest and thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us, except for the bed making. Regarding to bed sheets in the room that you commented above, it is actually a dormitory that guest would prefer to put on... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our malaysia trip, our third stay in KL we wished we had found this place sooner. The hotel is very modern and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. Right next to the monorail station without being noisy. The restaurant downstairs serves reasonably priced food and drinks which is helpful... More 

Helpful?
Thank Braddybaer
gridnine o, Manager at Grid 9 Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Braddybaer, We are so grateful that you were recently our guest and thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warm regards, Elise Chan Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

372 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (242)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (119)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (100)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)
Viewed
The LMG Crib (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
2.4 mi away
V Garden Hotel
V Garden Hotel
#86 of 312 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simms Boutique Hotel
Simms Boutique Hotel
#105 of 312 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
1.1 mi away
U Pac Hotel
U Pac Hotel
#58 of 312 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#71 of 312 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
0.5 mi away
Citin Seacare Pudu Kuala Lumpur
Citin Seacare Pudu Kuala Lumpur
#32 of 312 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 stars 646 reviews
0.4 mi away
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#45 of 312 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 stars 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We built Grid 9 with a vision to create a social experience unlike any other hotel. Inspired by the design of a grid, we want the paths of our guests to intersect, forming a network of globetrotters around the world. More than just a hotel or a flashpacker, we are a hybrid of both. From our pods to our rooms, from our lounge to our gastropub, the Grid 9 experience is what differentiates us from the pack.Located in the heart of KL, we are a 10 minute walk to Chinatown and right next to the Jalan Maharajalela monorail station.P.S. The wifi is free =) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grid 9 Hotel

Address: No.9, Jalan Maharajalela, Kuala Lumpur 50150, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $15 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grid 9 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, ETB, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Grid 9 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#37 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay