We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Step Inn Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for: 1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Step Inn Guest House
Step Inn Guest House
Panoramas (3)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 272: English reviews
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The location of this hostel is perfect. The bus from the airport stops just in a 5 minutes walking distance. A street with lots of restaurants is within 10 minutes walking distance. You can reach all the important places for sightseeing by foot. Propably the cheepest beer you can get in KL. Nice atmosphere, couches to chill out, but smoking... More 

Helpful?
Thank 7Ines
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hostel is huge, quite run down. It definitely needs a make over. The communal area is tiny for the size of it. The girl who checked us in from Latvia was OK, bit condescending but the guy in the morning didn't want to know. He was very rude and all he wanted to do was eat breakfast and watch... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
stepinn, Manager at Step Inn Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Ryan, Thank you for your feedback and sorry for the inconvenience, all our rooms has locks and all dorm rooms comes with lockers for each bed, we give back the key deposit to every guests, its not possible that you have asked your key deposit back and our staff said no, please feel free to come back anytime to... More 

Vina del Mar, Chile
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hostel was good enough to stay one or two days. They have free tea and coffee plus toasts in the morning. The wifi just works in the reception area. The staff was cool as long as you don't make too many questions. Good thing is that you are a walking distance from chinatown, train & bus station.. Really convenient!

Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaMansilla
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I heard about this hostel from a friend. I don't personally stay in hostels my self but for the sake of adventure i thought i would give this a go. I left my current fancy digs and made my way over to the Step Inn Guest House. The address shown on trip advisor is wrong. Its actually on Jalan Pudu... More 

Helpful?
Thank AsianNomad16
England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016

This is the 3rd or 4th time I have stayed in Step Inn and I was not disappointed. I received a warm welcome-and was recognised! After a swift but no less courteous check in, I was shown to my dorm. I slept way better than I expected, the mattress was comfortable, sheets were clean. I also received a towel, wifi... More 

Helpful?
Thank Toddlingalong
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016

I really liked the location. I went every day to the same Singaporian restaurant down the street. That restaurany is one the best places I ate on this trip. The people were friendly at the hostel, met awesome friends truly enjoyed my time there. Very affordable

Helpful?
Thank deeperthanpoetry
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

Myself and boyfriend stayed here for the price we paid it was basic they let us check in at 4am not ment to untill 2 pm so very happy about that. Breakfast was basic toast n jam. The room was okay the bathroom wasnt the best as shower was over the toilet. The staff were very helpful organised taxi to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tara C
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016

Nice, affordable, strategic location, though it's kinda confusing if you take a walk directly from Bukit Bintang, especially when they have 2 guest houses now (Yup, we arrived at the second step inn guest house, instead of the first one :p) But then, their location located in front of Plaza Rakyat LRT Station and near Pudu Bus Terminal. It's in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sumomo C
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016 via mobile

Step Inn is a basic hostel, with a good location for ammenities and very close to a metro station. The 4 bed dorm we stayed in was fine, it did the job for a few nights. We didn't find it too hot with just a fan, and you also have a window you can open (just be aware of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank GemRVN
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2016 via mobile

Very sociable hostel! I stayed four nights in fan and aircon dorms, go aircon. The people i met there as a solo backpacker were awesome! We chilled on the covered patio and played games all night. Kitchenette was great to use and staff are super friendly!

Helpful?
Thank Cam D
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

125 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (100)
Viewed
Dormitory (17)
Viewed
Double Room Ensuite with AC (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
Viewed
Triple Room with AC (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
Citin Seacare Pudu Kuala Lumpur
Citin Seacare Pudu Kuala Lumpur
#30 of 320 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 stars 665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grid 9 Hotel
Grid 9 Hotel
#78 of 320 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Raizzy's Guesthouse
Raizzy's Guesthouse
#4 of 306 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travel Hub
Travel Hub
#7 of 306 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Explorers Guesthouse
The Explorers Guesthouse
#3 of 211 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rain Forest Hotel
Rain Forest Hotel
#8 of 306 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
There are two things we are proud of here at Step Inn. First, is our excellent location. We are situated in the well-known Golden Triangle of Kuala Lumpur, where everything is easily within walking distance. In this area is the busy China Town(10 mins), street food heaven Jalan Alor(10 mins), the best bar street in town Changkat(10 mins), shopping central Bukit Bintang(15 minutes), and the famous Petronas Towers(30 mins). We are also a few minute walk to the local metro(LRT), airport shuttle(Star Shuttle), and one of the central bus terminals(Pudu Sentral), so you can easily plan your next destination. The second thing we pride ourselves in, is our hospitality. We do our best to establish, a warm homey environment. The moment you walk in the door, you are considered part of the family. We provide a free map and enjoy giving tips on the city, so you can fill your few days or maybe many days, with lots of things to do. Our knowledgeable staff can also give suggestions for your continuing journey out of Malaysia's capital city. For being a budget guest house we do provide a couple perks that you won't find in many places, in the Golden Triangle. We have many types of rooms' available, double-ensuite, double, single, family, and dormitory beds. All rooms are clean, with a window and fan. On check in we provide you with a fresh towel & free roll of toilet paper(for single, double, en-suite, & family rooms only). In the morning, there is a free simple breakfast, with all day coffee and tea, that will help you get started so you can begin your tour of this great city. We provide 24 hour reception and free WiFi in every room, so you can stay connected at all times or get help at any hour. So, if you are looking for a homey budget guest house, with an excellent location, great knowledgeable staff, and nice facilities, please Step Inn. ***We offer special prices for walk-in and email customers*** ***Now if you book 3 days or more with any of our booking sites, you are eligible for a free meal at our restaurant TG's Nasi Kandar.*** ... more   less 

Additional Information about Step Inn Guest House

Address: No 35 & 37 Jalan Pudu, Kuala Lumpur 55200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $10 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Step Inn Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your Step Inn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Step Inn Guest House Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay