We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Arashiyama Benkei

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Arashiyama Benkei
Arashiyama Benkei
Panoramas (22)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 134: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

From Checkin to checkout, an amazing journey of experience. Excellent service, central location, friendly kimono-clad ladies, fresh & too tasty meals. And of course, the very relaxing dip in the private outdoor onsen. What more can I say? Go experience it!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cchris_gan
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Never been in a bamboo forrest. It was so peaceful. Best time to visit is in the morning. For photographers, be prepared for extra ordinary scenery. You can hire the rigshaw. Then finish your visit by tasting Japanese snacks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Telly F
benkei-staff, 広報担当マネージャー at Arashiyama Benkei, responded to this review

Dear Telly F, Thank you for your recent stay at Arashiyama Benkei. We are much grateful to see your review and rating to our service. From your review, we are grateful that you have enjoyed the moment here at Arashiyama KYOTO. We hope to see you again here at "Authentic Japanese Ryokan" ARASHIYAMA BENKEI. Best regards, 嵐山辨慶 Arashiyama Benkei

Fairfax, California
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night in November. The ryokan in located right on the river in an excellent location. Very close to the Bamboo Grove and the other attractions in the area. It was my first ryokan experience so I wasn't quite sure what to expect, except what I have read. The staff was very nice and helpful. Their English...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phishow
benkei-staff, 広報担当マネージャー at Arashiyama Benkei, responded to this review

Dear Phishow, First of all, Thank you so much for your stay at Arashiyama Benkei in NOV, and also we are very pleased receive the review about our ryokan and the surround area of Arashiyama. Your review have very detailed and frank point of view which would help us to improve our hospitality and also make changes to our facility....

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We read nice reviews of this ryokan and so we booked when we went Kyoto for the red leaves. Booking through internet was very efficient. Clarification emails were done in English. We were to check in on 20 November and we drove from Kyoto. When we arrive at Arashiyama then we realised that roads leading to ryokan were closed to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MadeleineKam
benkei-staff, 広報担当マネージャー at Arashiyama Benkei, responded to this review

Dear Madeleine, First of all, thank you so much for your recent stay at Arashiyama Benkei, and we are grateful to receive your kind review. As you have commented, we are trying to keep our tradition as "Ryokan" but also to keep up with global standard for the great hospitality for the domestic and international guests. By seeing your review...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and i stayed for one night at Arashiyama Benkei. I thoroughly enjoyed our whole ryokan experience. We dropped our luggage early in the morning and came back to check in around 4pm. We stayed in the 'ta-ke' room. The room is very traditional - tatami floor, traditional doors and windows. It is quite small as we only went...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Yen T
benkei-staff, 広報担当マネージャー at Arashiyama Benkei, responded to this review

Dear Yen T, First of all, thank you for your recent stay at Arashiyama Benkei!! Your review really explained and point out about us in detail. From every description you have put into your comment, we truly appreciated that we could provide you the "moments" in Kyoto. We hope that you will select us again for your next trip to...

Bolzano, Italy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very typical extraordinary special Japanese style Ryokan.The service was excellent -the people very polite -nice cloth to wear-beautiful and excellent food everybody spoke some English so it was just an outstanding experience. I think it's a special place nearly a must to go and experience!unfortunately it's a little bit expensive but if you want something special I guess you have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ibauer_120930
benkei-staff, 広報担当マネージャー at Arashiyama Benkei, responded to this review

Dear ibauer_120930, Thank you for your recent stay at Arashiyama Benkei!! We are much grateful to see your review and rating to our service. Your review have described exactly the our aim for being as Ryokan. Thank you very much!! We hope to see you again here at "Authentic Japanese Ryokan" ARASHIYAMA BENKEI. Best regards, 嵐山辨慶 Arashiyama Benkei

Geneva
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For two nights I enjoyed the ryokan experience here and it was very good. Firstly, the kaiseki dinners were exquisite, better than the other two I had in other places. I enjoyed them immensely and appreciated that they had translated the list of the 13 courses into English. The location is lovely, the staff were very nice, the baths a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BarbaraTravels
benkei-staff, 広報担当マネージャー at Arashiyama Benkei, responded to this review

Dear BarbaraTravels, First of all, Thank you very much for your previous stay. And we are truly appreciated with your kind and honest point of view for our ryokan. Pricing part, as whole area of Arashiyama is the place of high standard, that is effecting the accommodation price range. Regarding to the our facilities, we have been renovating and renewing...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent four nights in Kyoto and wanted to spend one of them at a ryokan. We weren't sure if we should do Arashiyama (it didn't seem as convenient as central Tokyo) but we were SO glad we did. It's a lovely part of town that feels authentically Japanese. The bamboo forests, monkey park, and just walking around were our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephanie S
benkei-staff, 広報担当マネージャー at Arashiyama Benkei, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie S, We thank you so much for your kind review, and truly appreciate with you have chosen Arashiyama Benkei for your wonderful trip in Kyoto. Your review have described our ryokan's location and the point of charm in well detailed. We are grateful to see that you have felt our ryokan as a "perfect home base". Again, we...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked Arashiyama Benkei looking for a traditional Japanese experience and we were not disappointed. The hotel and staff offer a very traditional experience - from tatami floor to hot baths. The service was excellent, food was excellent, and the whole experience was worth the price (which is high). I only wish we had more time there.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pete M
benkei-staff, 広報担当マネージャー at Arashiyama Benkei, responded to this review

Dear Pete M, First of all, we would like to "Thank You" for select our ryokan in your wonderful trip to Kyoto, Japan. And we are grateful to see from your review that hospitality we have provided was satisfied. It is all about how we can provide the "Ryokan Experience" to our foreign guest, as it is one of the...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved our stay at Arashiyama Benkei. The tranquility of the setting and personal attentive service of our hosts fulfilled our ideals of the Japanese ryokan experience. The meals were fine dining examples of local produce and quite a large spread. Breakfast overlooking the river was a spectacular and memorable moment.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frekii
benkei-staff, 広報担当マネージャー at Arashiyama Benkei, responded to this review

Dear Frekii, Thank you for your recent stay at Arashiyama Benkei!! You have mentioned in your review for your stay at our ryokan as A Memorable Experience, we are truly grateful to see and it is very emotional thing for us. And we are also pleased that you have enjoyed your time in historical Arashiyama area. We hope that you...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

610 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (110)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (76)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (425)
Viewed
Amenities (92)
Viewed
Japanese Room with 12 Tatami Mats (Private Bath) (79)
Viewed
Japanese Room with 18 Tatami Mats (Hot Spring View) (93)
Viewed
Japanese Room with 7.5 Tatami Mats (Shared Bath) (45)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (75)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (67)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#5 of 352 in Kyoto
433 reviews
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#11 of 352 in Kyoto
2,079 reviews
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 352 in Kyoto
2,725 reviews
Western Kyoto
Suiran Luxury Collection Hotel Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Western Kyoto

Neighborhood Profile
Western Kyoto
Western Kyoto is home to some of the city's best eccentricities. Kyoto's Saga-Toriimoto Preserved Street takes visitors back in time to the Meiji Period, where old homes have been transformed into tea houses and eateries. Pleasure boats drift down the riverbank, under wooden bridges that beckon nature lovers to hiking trails and botanical walks. The area's famously tall bamboo groves, monkey park, and impressive vistas during the Hanami cherry blossom viewing season mean that it is busiest in warmer months, though also gorgeous in the fall, when the mountains and hills along the banks turn multi-colored. Historic and engaging, even the rail cars in Western Kyoto seek to exemplify its traditional nature and scenic beauty. Many people, including natives, come to visit the 1,200 rakan statues at the Otagi Nenbutsuji Temple, which is still in use as a religious site.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
Food & drink at the hotel
Arashiyama Benkei
Arashiyama Benkei
Cuisines: Japanese
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome Arashiyama Benkei was established in 1969 on the historical and scenic land known as Arashiyama. Thriving spring cherry blossoms, red autumn leaves blanketing the mountains, and cultural and historic landmarks give Arashiyama the distinction of being one of Japan’s leading sightseeing destinations. Just upstream from (west of) the Togetsu-kyo Bridge, which marks the center of the area, and situated alongside the murmurs of the Oi River, is Arashiyama Benkei. Our ryokan accommodations, built in the traditional sukiya-zukuri architecture style reminiscent of antique tea houses, is not simply a place to rest and eat, but also houses facilities in which guests can enjoy Arashiyama onsen (hot springs) and indulge in traditional Kyoto cuisine. Please visit us to experience the utmost in comfort and relaxation. -Rooms- Arashiyama Benkei is honored to provide 10 guest rooms, each with their own individual charm. Each room is thoughtfully designed and furnished in the Japanese style, featuring views of the Arashiyama mountains or our lush garden. Cherry blossoms in spring, cormorant fishing in summer, cascading colors of maple leaves in autumn, and a dusting of snow in winter. Our guests are certain to enjoy a peaceful stay among the beauty and stillness of this unique Kyoto scenery. -Onsen- Arashiyama onsen (hot spring) water has a pH of 8.3 and provides an exceptionally smooth touch that is said to beautify skin and wash away any travel fatigue. Benkei has indoor and open-air baths; both are available for men and women and are separated by gender. Guests who prefer to enjoy a bath in private may reserve a secluded open-air bathtub (same-day reservation, \2,160/group/45 minutes). -Cuisine- Guests at Benkei indulge in traditional multi-course kaiseki fare that uses seasonal ingredients found not only in Kyoto, but sourced from all over Japan. We take care in creating cuisine that appeals to all palates, yet maintains respect for the tenets of traditional Kyoto cooking. -Day Trips- Day trip guests at Benkei may also opt to enjoy a relaxing bath in addition to a gourmet meal. Reservations are required for combined onsen and dining day trips. The facilities open at 11:30 a.m. We offer full plans that include meals in private room (2 hours for bento meals or 3 hours for full-course kaiseki meals), baths, towels, and yukata robe, as well as more informal plans that include a restaurant meal in the open space and onsen bath. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Arashiyama Benkei

Address: 34 Sagatenryuji Susukinobabacho Ukyo-ku, Kyoto 616-8385, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Western Kyoto
Price Range: $433 - $860 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arashiyama Benkei 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ikyu Corporation, Travelocity, Rakuten, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Arashiyama Benkei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arashiyama Benkei Hotel Kyoto
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Arashiyama Benkei staff and other travelers.
33 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (33)

Questions? Get answers from Arashiyama Benkei staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“There are rooms with private onsen in room.”
 of 5 bubbles MadeleineKam, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“We had a smaller (10 tatami mat) room on the 2nd floor. It didn't have a private tub but the view of the river was beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles , 4 weeks ago | Read review
“The 12 mat rooms are plenty of space for a couple.”
 of 5 bubbles 881petem, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Reserve the private bath if you are a family, it doesn't cost extra. ”
 of 5 bubbles andymN6829DS, Oct 22, 2016 | Read review
“Some people said get river view rooms instead. However, you have such a terrific view at breakfast if your table is by the window.”
 of 5 bubbles julianh787, Sep 28, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay