We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Kyoto Traveler's Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kyoto Traveler\\
Kyoto Traveler's Inn
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 116: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Place: rooms are old and as in old. So dont expect a nice room with everything nice. I believe they have an onsen though. The shower is so small and very typical to a japanese house. Theres no elevator to prepare for a climb. Its near to a shrine though and close to a cheap parking lot. 600 yen for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joseph christia... p
京都トラベラーズイン, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear joseph christia... p Thank you very much for choosing Kyoto Traveler's Inn and took your time to writing this review. Your review is very important to us and we appreciate it. Hope you enjoyed autumn season in Kyoto and enjoyed our neighborhood sites such as Heian Shrine, Nanzenji or Gion..... Sincerely, Izumi Nakagawa

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed October 22, 2016

Good location in a nice area of Kyoto. Very close to the philosopher's path and Gion. Hotel staff were very friendly. It has bicycle rental and its own onsen though we didn't use it. We stayed in a traditional japanese room which was nice if small. The toilet was the tiniest we have ever seen and the shower was terrible,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia G
京都トラベラーズイン, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Cecilia G Thank you very much for taking your time writing this review and also staying at Kyoto Traveler's Inn. We are trying to renovate rooms little by little and bathrooms on each rooms are one of the top priorities. Unfortunately, there is no unit Shower/Toilet/ Sink in the Japanese market yet and finding a best solution at...

Reviewed September 26, 2016 via mobile

I enjoyed the stay in KTI. The staff was friendly and helpfull. Good breakfast and it is appriciated that the staff took my preferences into account! Minor downsides; pillow was not so comfortable and the room smelled a little bit "mushy". However not mentioned to the staff, there is maybe some improvement to be done. Wifi connection in both room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank schaduw82
京都トラベラーズイン, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear Schaduw82 Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review. Please let us know if you do not mind, which room it was and your suggestions so that we can serve you or other guests better in the future. If you could email us back at traveler@mbox. kyoto-inet.or.jp Hope you enjoyed Kyoto. Sincerely, Izumi Nakagawa

Reviewed September 20, 2016 via mobile

Really disapointed in this hotel. Dirty. And not friendly at reception. This is First hotel we not liked .location is out of the center. The breakfast better take 7-11 at the corner. There they have better options for breakfast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carpedi
京都トラベラーズイン, 支配人 at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mr /Mrs Carpedi FIrst of all thank you very much for your time to write this review. Your experience is also very important to us so if you do not mind, please write us at traveler@mbox.kyoto-inet.or.jp We would like to know how you were disappointed about our service and the room condition. We could have switched room or could...

Reviewed September 19, 2016

Worst hotel, we have stayed during our trip in Japan!! Very, very Smelly non-smoking room, hard as rock pillows. Not very nice staff. One good thing, it has washing machine and dryer in basement... :(

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sigita A
京都トラベラーズイン, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sigita A Thank you very much for taking your time to write this constructive review. We often learn guest's disatisfaction after departure because some guests are very cliet and discrete. It is our fault that we could not sense that you were not happy. If you spoke out, there were things we could have done like switching rooms, e.t.c....

Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

The room was smelling bad, probably due to the wall to wall carpet. The pillows were very uncomfortable. The WiFi reception in the room was very poor. Not many restaurants in the nearby area. Low value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas E
京都トラベラーズイン, 支配人 at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Thomas E Thank you very much for staying at Kyoto Traveler's Inn. We are very sorry for your dissatisfaction. Regarding the wall coverings you mention, we will research the room and fix it as soon as possible. Thank you very much for pointing that out. Pillows are working on it, however, it is not easy to satisfy all...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

We had a fairly small Japanese style room on the 3rd floor of the back block. There's no lift. (A bit of a struggle as we were stiff after climbing Mt Fuji!). The room's window looked into an internal light well so there was no view. The bathroom is the standard modular space-saving type found in Japanese hotels but we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tarostra
京都トラベラーズイン, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear tarostra Thank you very much for staying at Kyoto Traveler's Inn. No-lift situation is a bit challenging for us and we are always trying to offer lower floor if the guests are requested. We appreciate your well description about our location, breakfast menu, and 7 eleven. ( actually another Lawson store is opposite the signal as well so we...

Bornholm, Danmark
Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

we stayed in a 3-bed room and it was clean, nice and both Wifi and A/C worked without any problems... Staff was friendly, English speaking and ready to help at all time. Nice breakfast but maybe a bit pricey... Location is OK when you learn to take the bus, bike of if you like to walk - it's 6 min...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikaelschenk
京都トラベラーズイン, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mikaelschenk Thank you very much for staying at Kyoto Traveler's Inn ( a.k.a. KTI). We are very pleased to hear your nice review. Thank you very much! We hope that you enjoyed Kyoto and traveled around. Sincerely, Izumi Nakagawa

Sacramento, California
Reviewed May 6, 2016

It was the least impressive of our hotels so far. More like a typical Western hotel than the Japanese hotels we have had up til then, as it had small little soap bars, and little plastic packages of one time shampoos. They did have tea bags and electric pot for tea as well as a small fridge for the storing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spunkykvf
京都トラベラーズイン, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear spunkykvf Thank you very much for staying at Kyoto Traveler's Inn and taking your time to write comments. We will try to figure out which room you stayed in and will fix constructive areas you mentioned right away. If you had mentioned about Wi-Fi situation, we could have fixed right away. We apologize that KTI did not meet your...

Reviewed April 20, 2016

is very good place with a lot of temples around, one zoo and a lot of nice bar and smoll shop streets. The hostel is clean and comfortable, staff is friendly, rooms are big for japan, is relative cheap and they are very cute pajama-kimonos.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristina Z
京都トラベラーズイン, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Kristina Z Thank you very much for staying at Kyoto Traveler's Inn and writing up review for us. We hope you enjoyed Kyoto and hope to come back and visit again sooner than you think. Sincerely, Izumi Nakagawa

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

447 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (123)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (63)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (281)
Viewed
Amenities (53)
Viewed
Japanese Room with 12.5 Tatami Mats (Private Bathroom) (48)
Viewed
Japanese Western Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Superior Twin Room (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (38)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#35 of 352 in Kyoto
408 reviews
City Center
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
#54 of 352 in Kyoto
643 reviews
City Center
Ark Hotel Kyoto
Ark Hotel Kyoto
#112 of 352 in Kyoto
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel Heiannomori Kyoto
Hotel Heiannomori Kyoto
#205 of 352 in Kyoto
106 reviews
City Center
Hotel Gimmond Kyoto
Hotel Gimmond Kyoto
#65 of 352 in Kyoto
531 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
#74 of 352 in Kyoto
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in City Center

Neighborhood Profile
City Center
No district of Kyoto is quite as representative of its blended nature as the City Center. By day, the covered shopping arcades along Kawaramachi and Shijo Street bring deal hunters and fashionistas out in droves to peruse the clothing, accessories, gifts, and home goods offerings. When it grows dark, the City Center is a hip spot for nightlife, alive with bars and clubs. A trendy culinary scene and an abundance of local watering holes give the Center its youthful vibrancy. In contrast, the quieter areas of the City Center seem a world away, shielded from noise by the foliage of the public gardens and zen spaces surrounding the area's shrines, castles, and the Imperial Palace. These ancient and sacred spots are seamlessly folded into the scenery, providing a respite from the energy of the city, but close enough to put you directly back onto the pulse of the city when you're ready.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Kyoto Traveler's Inn

Address: 91 Okazaki Enshojicho, Sakyo-ku, Kyoto 606-8344, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Price Range: $72 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyoto Traveler's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kyoto Traveler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Traveler`s Hotel Kyoto
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Kyoto Traveler's Inn staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Kyoto Traveler's Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Request for a room that faces the road infront”
  • Bathroom
 of 5 bubbles 86ziggys, Dec 18, 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles miss_sarabi_a, Sep 4, 2015 | Read review
“First floor room near the lobby tend to be noisy, choose tatami room from 2nd floor up for a real Japanese experience”
 of 5 bubbles lefluxasia, Sep 1, 2015 | Read review
“Both Western and Japaneses style available, Western are twin beds, no doubles”
 of 5 bubbles T2474KWpaulh, Apr 16, 2015 | Read review
“Room 463 was the filthiest accommodation I've ever seen. For a little more money you can stay in much better accommodation only minutes away from Kyoto Travellers Inn”
 of 5 bubbles PeterY580, Nov 18, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay