We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Kyoto Traveler's Inn

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kyoto Traveler\\
Kyoto Traveler's Inn
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 111: English reviews
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The room was smelling bad, probably due to the wall to wall carpet. The pillows were very uncomfortable. The WiFi reception in the room was very poor. Not many restaurants in the nearby area. Low value for money.

Helpful?
Thank Thomas E
京都トラベラーズイン, 支配人 at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Thomas E Thank you very much for staying at Kyoto Traveler's Inn. We are very sorry for your dissatisfaction. Regarding the wall coverings you mention, we will research the room and fix it as soon as possible. Thank you very much for pointing that out. Pillows are working on it, however, it is not easy to satisfy all... More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
166 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

We had a fairly small Japanese style room on the 3rd floor of the back block. There's no lift. (A bit of a struggle as we were stiff after climbing Mt Fuji!). The room's window looked into an internal light well so there was no view. The bathroom is the standard modular space-saving type found in Japanese hotels but we... More 

Helpful?
Thank tarostra
京都トラベラーズイン, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear tarostra Thank you very much for staying at Kyoto Traveler's Inn. No-lift situation is a bit challenging for us and we are always trying to offer lower floor if the guests are requested. We appreciate your well description about our location, breakfast menu, and 7 eleven. ( actually another Lawson store is opposite the signal as well so we... More 

Bornholm, Danmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

we stayed in a 3-bed room and it was clean, nice and both Wifi and A/C worked without any problems... Staff was friendly, English speaking and ready to help at all time. Nice breakfast but maybe a bit pricey... Location is OK when you learn to take the bus, bike of if you like to walk - it's 6 min... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mikaelschenk
京都トラベラーズイン, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mikaelschenk Thank you very much for staying at Kyoto Traveler's Inn ( a.k.a. KTI). We are very pleased to hear your nice review. Thank you very much! We hope that you enjoyed Kyoto and traveled around. Sincerely, Izumi Nakagawa More 

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
471 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2016

It was the least impressive of our hotels so far. More like a typical Western hotel than the Japanese hotels we have had up til then, as it had small little soap bars, and little plastic packages of one time shampoos. They did have tea bags and electric pot for tea as well as a small fridge for the storing... More 

Helpful?
Thank spunkykvf
京都トラベラーズイン, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear spunkykvf Thank you very much for staying at Kyoto Traveler's Inn and taking your time to write comments. We will try to figure out which room you stayed in and will fix constructive areas you mentioned right away. If you had mentioned about Wi-Fi situation, we could have fixed right away. We apologize that KTI did not meet your... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016

is very good place with a lot of temples around, one zoo and a lot of nice bar and smoll shop streets. The hostel is clean and comfortable, staff is friendly, rooms are big for japan, is relative cheap and they are very cute pajama-kimonos.

Helpful?
Thank Kristina Z
京都トラベラーズイン, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Kristina Z Thank you very much for staying at Kyoto Traveler's Inn and writing up review for us. We hope you enjoyed Kyoto and hope to come back and visit again sooner than you think. Sincerely, Izumi Nakagawa More 

Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016

This is rated as a 2 star hotel and I would agree with that. I stayed in a room with three singles (which was ideal for my party). The room was small but is what we were expecting for the price we paid. The bathroom was manageable for three adult men, where I am 6'2" 200. The location is nice... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank stepusin
京都トラベラーズイン, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear stepusin Thank you very much for staying at Kyoto Traveler's Inn and we appreciate your constructive comments. The room and bedding is a next target we are focusing. Hopefully it will bring a satisfactory result in the near future. We hope to see you again. Sincerely, Izumi Nakagawa More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
144 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016

A rather cozy hotel. It is well located not far from sights worth to see and within easy walking distance to a number of good restaurants. We tried Japanese style beds (futon) and once we got used to them, we thought it was pretty cozy.

Helpful?
Thank StefanHaeger
京都トラベラーズイン, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear StefanHaeger Thank you very much for staying at Kyoto Traveler's Inn. We are located in the heart of Higashiyama district of Kyoto and lots of places to visit nearby area. I am glad you experienced sleeping on the Futon mattress. Just wondering if you tried Public Bath( Onsen style) as well? Hope your stay in Kyoto was enjoyable and... More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016 via mobile

The hotel is in a really convinient location, very near with bus stop and only minutes away from gion. The hotel is close with 7/11 and mcdonald. The view is amazing when sakura season. The staff is very nice helping me when its pouring rain outside. Thank you very much! The minus only it didnt hv any elevator.

Helpful?
Thank Canpyon
京都トラベラーズイン, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear Canpyon Thank you much for choosing Kyoto Traveler's Inn and staying with us. I hope you enjoyed all the spring views at around here in Okazaki, Japan. Like you mentioned, there are 7/11 right around the corner, and 2 Lawson convenience stores as well. We hope to see you again and enjoy different season, different seasonal cuisine. Sincerely, Izumi... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2016

Cheap, clean, and good service. A little far from downtown but close enough to walk to numerous sites. Stayed here a couple of times. The hotel is located on the north east part of the city. I start my sightseeing early in the morning and walk all the way down from site to site until Sanjusan Temple. From there you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank World1day
京都トラベラーズイン, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Markham Res Thank you very much for coming back and staying again with us. As you mentioned, there are many must-visit-places of eastern part of Kyoto, Higashiyama district at around us. And walking distance back from Gion or Sanjo after night life or day time shopping. There are 3 three Michelin star rest aurants within 5-10 minutes walking... More 

Gifu, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

My stay at Kyoto traveller Inn was great. The place is close to the heart of city by walking or subway. In my case, I am order room with Japanese style for two people. However, I got room that enough for six people. Too larger so we feel loosing intimate.

Helpful?
Thank Nendi2015
京都トラベラーズイン, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear ryan8846 Thank you very much for staying at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, and apprecite very much to take your time and write a long review. We will work on our best to make every guest want to come back and stay with us. I hope you enjoyed Kyoto. If so, please try every season. It is quite interesting to see... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

445 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (121)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (281)
Viewed
Amenities (53)
Viewed
Japanese Room with 12.5 Tatami Mats (Private Bathroom) (48)
Viewed
Japanese Western Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Superior Twin Room (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (38)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Hotel Gimmond Kyoto
Hotel Gimmond Kyoto
#62 of 347 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
City Center
Hotel Heiannomori Kyoto
Hotel Heiannomori Kyoto
#242 of 347 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
#69 of 347 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
#51 of 347 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
City Center
Ark Hotel Kyoto
Ark Hotel Kyoto
#115 of 347 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Eco and Tec Kyoto
#6 of 347 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in City Center

Neighborhood Profile
City Center
No district of Kyoto is quite as representative of its blended nature as the City Center. By day, the covered shopping arcades along Kawaramachi and Shijo Street bring deal hunters and fashionistas out in droves to peruse the clothing, accessories, gifts, and home goods offerings. When it grows dark, the City Center is a hip spot for nightlife, alive with bars and clubs. A trendy culinary scene and an abundance of local watering holes give the Center its youthful vibrancy. In contrast, the quieter areas of the City Center seem a world away, shielded from noise by the foliage of the public gardens and zen spaces surrounding the area's shrines, castles, and the Imperial Palace. These ancient and sacred spots are seamlessly folded into the scenery, providing a respite from the energy of the city, but close enough to put you directly back onto the pulse of the city when you're ready.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Kyoto Traveler's Inn

Address: 91 Okazaki Enshojicho, Sakyo-ku, Kyoto 606-8344, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Price Range: $72 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyoto Traveler's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kyoto Traveler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Traveler`s Hotel Kyoto
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay