We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HOSHINOYA Kyoto

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
HOSHINOYA Kyoto
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 99: English reviews
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at Hoshinoya Kyoto last November as the first hotel for our honeymoon but it was not as wonderful as we expected. We arrived at Osaka Airport early morning and had arranged private car transportation directly to the hotel which took us around 2-3 hours. When we finally arrived at Hoshinoya, we had to wait at the lounge for the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank EVILO
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at HOSHINOYA Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear EVILO, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We do sincerely apologize for the concerns you experienced during your stay. I shared your notes with the team and we have surely taken your feedback into account to further enhance our guest experiences. Regarding the inflexibility of staff services, I will discuss with the service staffs... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

We were divided in opinion on Hoshinoya. It is an amazing retreat to be sure and an excellent place to relax. If you want to sight-see across Kyoto, however, it is definitely not the most convenient place to stay. For the bamboo forest and Western temples it was walking distance, Eastern Kyoto is far however as the trains do not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MrMrsJim
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at HOSHINOYA Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear MrMrsJim, Thank you for taking the time to review HOSHINOYA Kyoto. We are pleased to hear that you liked our ryokan and we truly appreciate your kind comments. Every season, we have different atmosphere here in Arashiyama, Kyoto. We hope to have you again in a different season for another relaxing and fun vacation. Sincerely, Guest Relations Manager More 

Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

Luxurious, clean, well-equipped and comfortable rooms with great ambience and a super view (we looked out onto the river). The staff is warm and efficient -- really terrific. And the chef is top-notch ... we had an exquisite and memorable Kaiseki meal. The short boat trip to the hotel is a lovely experience too. And there is great hiking and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Limesbridge
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at HOSHINOYA Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear Limesbridge, What a great feedback we have received from you! I am absolutely happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable and memorable stay here at HOSHINOYA Kyoto. I will share your review with the executive chef and the rest of the team and we thrive on providing better services. Hoshino Resorts will open in Tokyo its fifth... More 

Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016 via mobile

On my list of things to experience, finding a slice of Japanese Zen featured highly and Hoshinoya enabled us to stop the frenzy of travelling for a few days and just ......be. Yes, there is nothing to do here; yes, it is isolated; yes it is eerily quiet (once the incredibly loud Chinese guests have left) and I just think... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CBontour
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at HOSHINOYA Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear CBontour, Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments. We are thrilled that you were able to experience Japanese Zen atmosphere here in HOSHINOYA Kyoto. Your high praise for us is greatly appreciated. It is my pleasure to share your review with the rest of the team. Thank you again for your kind comments and we... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

We were hoping to have a 5 star experience of traditional Japanese inns. However sadly the hotel had major shortcomings. Rooms were average but minimal. However they were dark and not all had a river view. There was no bar, just an alcove next to the front desk. No outdoor lounge near the river.. The staff spoke average English but... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank TJDeepdene
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at HOSHINOYA Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear TJDeepdene, I regret to hear that your recent visit did not meet your expectations thought we strive to provide the best services and products. I'll share your notes with the rest of the team including our dining team, and rest assured that our services will always be performed with quality as our top priority. We value your comments and... More 

Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2016 via mobile

First and foremost I can not possibly understand why anyone would give Hoshinoya Kyoto a bad review. When we first arrived it was hours before check in so we went to explore the shrines in the area and the staff at the dock held our luggage and gave us a map of the area and even food suggestions. Once we... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ink S
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at HOSHINOYA Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear Ink S, First of all, congratulations to you! Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review. We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We are also deeply touched by your note saying that “no words could ever describe how beautiful the grounds of the inn are.” Such... More 

East Hampton, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2016 via mobile

We had never been to a ryokan but have heard that it was a special experience though more more minimalist than a traditional high end hotel. We had been traveling in Asia for 10 days staying at great hotels (Rosewood Beijing, Peninsula Shanghai,Four Seasons Seoul) all of which were we enjoyed but were looking forward to the more low key... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Ray S
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at HOSHINOYA Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear Ray S, I regret to hear that your recent visit did not meet your expectations. However, thank you for sharing your honest feedback. I shared your notes with the management team to ensure the opportunities you encountered are taken into consideration and that necessary action is taken for future improvement, so that we may enhance the guest experience. At... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2016 via mobile

USD1,500 per night - what did I get - just a plain decorated room. period. No breakfast/no dinner included, no worth mentioned facility, zero service, and a whole lot of poor and lengthy communication! A complete waste of my money and my time! I will start with zero service! There was no welcome tea/hot towel/a piece of Japanese sweet, no... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Amy-chian
Hoshino_Resorts, 支配人 at HOSHINOYA Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear Amy-chian, We do sincerely apologize for the concerns you experienced during your stay. We consider it of the utmost importance to provide a high quality stay that meets our customers' needs. We wish to apologize to you for failing to provide that on this occasion. As indicated in the confirmation e-mail sent when you booked, we expected a party... More 

Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2016

Very expensive, but no service (we were bought to an self-serving lounge upon arrival?!) Not even a cup of green tea was served in this chill winter. All hotel staff speaks English, very young but not enthusiastic, I dont even see a senior GM around. Poor Room, low ceiling, very very dark, congested layout, absolutely no VIEW even we are... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank wymeii
Hoshino_Resorts, 支配人 at HOSHINOYA Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear wymeii, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, which means a great deal to us and first of all, we sincerely apologize for the concerns you experienced. For your stay, we prepared a simple, traditional Japanese space and variety of activities for your enjoyment. The prepared clothing is meant to allow our guests to have... More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2016 via mobile

My son arranged a holiday in Kyoto with me and my wife. He stayed in this hotel twice before and booked it last November. The day we arrived was very pleasant with blue sky and sunshine but it was rather cold. The room is newly renovated. It is spacious and the view through the window is like a picture. Unfortunately... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Wun Tong L
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at HOSHINOYA Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear Wun Tong L, Thank you for taking the time to review HOSHINOYA Kyoto. We truly appreciate your son’s loyalty and continued trust in us. We are thrilled that you had a wonderful stay and hope you have lasting memories of your time with your family here in Kyoto. I will make sure to share your comments with the rest... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

310 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (213)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Other (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Western Kyoto
Suiran Luxury Collection Hotel Kyoto
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#12 of 347 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#7 of 347 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Western Kyoto
Arashiyama Benkei
Arashiyama Benkei
#11 of 347 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
City Center
Hiiragiya
Hiiragiya
#5 of 347 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Western Kyoto

Neighborhood Profile
Western Kyoto
Western Kyoto is home to some of the city's best eccentricities. Kyoto's Saga-Toriimoto Preserved Street takes visitors back in time to the Meiji Period, where old homes have been transformed into tea houses and eateries. Pleasure boats drift down the riverbank, under wooden bridges that beckon nature lovers to hiking trails and botanical walks. The area's famously tall bamboo groves, monkey park, and impressive vistas during the Hanami cherry blossom viewing season mean that it is busiest in warmer months, though also gorgeous in the fall, when the mountains and hills along the banks turn multi-colored. Historic and engaging, even the rail cars in Western Kyoto seek to exemplify its traditional nature and scenic beauty. Many people, including natives, come to visit the 1,200 rakan statues at the Otagi Nenbutsuji Temple, which is still in use as a religious site.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kyoto's famed craftsmanship and celebrated history pervade every inch of this fully restored century-old property, from the woodblock-print designs in guestrooms to the refined Kaiseki meals, landscaped grounds, and timeless setting in Arashiyama, a former playground of cour nobles. ... more   less 

Additional Information about HOSHINOYA Kyoto

Address: 11-2 Genrokuzancho, Nishikyo-ku, Kyoto 616-0007, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Western Kyoto
Price Range: $708 - $1,425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HOSHINOYA Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your HOSHINOYA Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoshinoya Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
#23 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay