We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto

Save
Share
15 Higashikujo Higashiiwamotocho, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8005 Kyoto Prefecture
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$68
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/26/22
Expedia.com
$62
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/27/22
FindHotel
$56
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/27/22
Priceline$71
StayForLong
Orbitz.com$62
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (307)
Room & Suite (159)
Dining (43)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#31 of 598 hotels in Kyoto
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
"Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto", conveniently located within just 5 minutes walk from JR Kyoto station, fuses Japanese tradition and hospitality with modern cutting-edge technology & high-quality amenities and offers superior personalized service by warm and friendly bilingual staff. Executive rooms & lounge in exlusive and luxurious atmosphere will make it a stay to remember.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air purifier
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese
347Reviews23Q+A22Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 235
  • 78
  • 19
  • 6
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
aichii wrote a review Jan 2
Nagoya, Japan275 contributions168 helpful votes
Wanted a little bit of luxury for the New Year. This hotel advertises an Executive Lounge but unfortunately due to the Coronavirus situation the lounge is closed which was a great disappointment…so please be aware of this before you book. There are 2 Daiwa Roynet Hotels on this side of Kyoto station…the name is not Daiwa Royal as mentioned here on TripAdvisor…this hotel is the 2nd one along the street..not the one directly above 7 11. The hotel feels new.The lobby is luxurious. The Executive double room was well decorated with a great bathroom - a rainforest shower and bathtub (and L’Occitane toiletries) The space is pretty tight though…it would be difficult to open a suitcase in that room…and the button handle on the wardrobe space was not easy to grasp and open. Breakfast was included in the deal…last order was from 09.30.The restaurant was not busy from 09.00.There are good health and safety protocols in place (thermometer check on entry…hand sanitizers…and gloves to serve yourself) The Japanese food selection was excellent for Oshogatsu…but there were also half a dozen western foods on offer as well as an omelette station. The staff in this hotel are well-trained.After an initial miscommunication they went the extra mile to arrange a surprise birthday cake which was greatly appreciated! The hotel is an easy walk from the East Exit of the huge Kyoto station.There are a number of small and impressive places to eat in Asty Road and there are two 7 11 convenience stores on either side of the hotel. Would definitely like to stay again if/when the Executive Lounge is re-opened and I could get the same price as this again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Ethel the Aardvark wrote a review Nov 2020
Hong Kong, China85 contributions89 helpful votes
Last week, I stayed in the Daiwa Hotel in Aomori, and it was great! Who would have thought that Daiwa, a gigantic housebuilder known for cheap, ugly prefab houses, ran nice, modern hotels with great service? But alas, this foray into high class has clearly gone to their heads. Today, I tried to book a room for the family for next week-end but, strangely, there wasn’t any way to indicate that we are two adults and two kids. You know how every hotel on the planet asks you to state how many adults and children, and the age of these children? In my case, 8. Like, every hotel and every booking site on the face of the planet? Not this hotel. So I write an extremely polite and flattering email saying a) I loved staying in their Aomori hotel, b) would like to book 2 nights in the Kyoto hotel but c) am unable to do so due to what I describe above and could they kindly assist me to arrange a booking? Here is their reply, abbreviated and very very slightly enhanced: We don’t have a hotel in Aomori, you stupid fool! And what’s more, children age six (!!!!!!) are not children, they are adults, so your 8-year old has to sleep in a separate room. Take that, you disgusting foreigner! Ha ha ha ha ha!!!! OK, I am exaggerating slightly but not much! Can you imagine writing to, say, the Park Hyatt in Washington, saying ’I loved staying at the Hyatt in Boston, can I book a room in your hotel please?’ and getting a snarky reply saying ’We don’t have a hotel in Boston, you eejit!’? No, neither can I.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
elenamc2018 wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom7 contributions16 helpful votes
This was a real gem: spacious room, excellent and freindly service with staff speaking perfect English. Great value for money - new, comfortable, well positioned close to the station and only a short bus or taxi ride from the centre of Kyoto. Much recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: For a small price one could get an upgrade to a larger room, if there is availability, of course.
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GrandeKyoto, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto
Responded Mar 30, 2020
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking your time to share your feedback. We are glad to hear that your overall stay with us was satisfying. Our guest rooms are relatively spacious by Japanese standard, and we have multilingual staff to offer a unique and attentive service who cater to the needs of our guests, so we are glad to hear your positive comments. We are also pleased to know that you were satisfied with our guest room. We have Simmons bed in all our rooms, and amenity which we have selected carefully so that every guest has something to enjoy. Location wise, we are 5 minute walk from JR Hachijo East Exit of Kyoto station which is a hub of the major transports, and we hope you utilized it to get around the city. We greatly appreciate you recommending us. We hope to offer you another memorable stay with us, and we are looking forward to having another opportunity to welcome you again in the future. Sincerely, Quality and Service Department Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto
Read more
Geoff B wrote a review Mar 2020
Sydney, Australia203 contributions132 helpful votes
This was the start of our 14 day "craft n' food tour" of Japan. Chose hotel as very close to the Kyoto train station (and Shinkansen), had good reviews and photos showed a delightful "garden entry". Bit confusing to initially find, as has another Daiwa hotel in-front of it whilst walking east up to the location. Hotel staff everywhere were fantastic and totally engaging. Front desk was a United Nations (included Russian , Spanish, UK, German etc). The restaurant/bar staff equally as good (and wanting to chat .......was start of the COVID-19 lock-downs, so little/no holiday travelers anywhere). Hotel has 2 towers (up to 9 story) and hence a variety of room rates and quality. We had 2 double rooms (single users) and was large enough - with desk, fridge etc too. Bathroom the usual 'compact and educated toilet', free toiletries too.. Room rate (we stayed 4 nights) was great, but restaurant for brekkie a bit steep (about A$33 pp), we used once and dinner as well - food and service excellent). Would definitely return to this hotel and probably use their others elsewhere - seems Daiwa Roynet Hotels are AT EVERY train station (touring, so we found out).
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Two towers - pay what you can/want to afford, all excellent.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GrandeKyoto, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto
Responded Mar 30, 2020
We would like to thank you for taking your time to write us a kind and complimentary review while you stayed with us. We are pleased to hear that you have chosen our hotel as a place to stay in Kyoto. As you have mentioned, there is another hotel with its name starting from "Daiwa" on the way to our hotel but we are a different company from Daiwa Roynet group. Thank you for highlighting the service from our multilingual staff who can speak 9 languages allowing us to accommodate guests from about 120 countries. We are very happy to hear your kind words as we are committed to creating unique and memorable experiences for our guests. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience at our restaurant for breakfast and dinner. As for the price setting of the menu, please do understand that the quality of ingredients are reflected on the price setting of the menu. Nonetheless, we are glad to hear that your dining experience was satisfying. As for the bathroom, some guest rooms have a separate toilet and bathroom so please do not hesitate to contact us when you make a reservation with us next time. We hope you also enjoyed the time spent in Kyoto, and we do hope that if your travels bring you back to Kyoto, you will give us another opportunity to be of service of you. Sincerely, Quality and Service Department Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto
Read more
IxChel3300 wrote a review Mar 2020
Sacramento, California211 contributions106 helpful votes
We stayed six nights in an Executive Twin room. Room was decent size with a very nice bathroom. Great water pressure, but poor lighting. I think that is the law of hotel bathrooms - poor lighting! The Executive Lounge was nice and selection was ok. My one issue was breakfast. Why are so many of the “hot” dishes so cold? Many of the dishes that we’re supposed to be hot were barely room temperature. Small let down for what can be a remarkable hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GrandeKyoto, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto
Responded Mar 8, 2020
Thank you very much for staying with us and we appreciate your generous review. We appreciate you staying with us for an extended stay while in Kyoto. We are pleased to read your positive comments, and we also appreciate your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not find the dish at our Executive Lounge to be not hot enough. We constantly seek to improve our service, and your feedback has been shared to relative departments to further enhance our service. We will continue to fine tune our services in order to exceed the expectations of all of our guests, and we hope to offer you a more satisfying service on your next stay when you return to Kyoto. Again, thank you for staying with us, and we are looking forward to having another opportunity to welcome you again in the future. Sincerely, Quality and Service Department Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$90 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
JapanKinkiKyoto PrefectureKyotoSouthern Kyoto
NUMBER OF ROOMS
272
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto
Which popular attractions are close to Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto?
Nearby attractions include Kyoto Station Building (0.3 miles), Porta (0.3 miles), and Kyoto Tower (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto?
Conveniently located restaurants include Katsukura, Kyoto Station Bldg The Cube, Nakamura Tokichi Kyoto Station, and Kyoto Takabashi Honke Daiichi Asahi.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Japanese.
Are there any historical sites close to Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fushimi Inari-taisha Shrine (1.3 miles), Kiyomizu-dera Temple (1.5 miles), and Sanjusangendo Temple (0.6 miles).