We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo

Save
Share
707-1 Myodenjicho Shijo Sagaru Nishinotoin-Dori, Shimogyo-Ku, Kyoto 600-8472 Kyoto Prefecture
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
3 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Always 5% discount
Booking.com
$46
View deal
Hotels.com
$46
View deal
FindHotel
$46
$33
View deal
SAVE $13
Expedia.com$46
Orbitz.com$46
Travelocity$46
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (350)
Room & Suite (202)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 06/17/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Updated 06/17/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#104 of 583 hotels in Kyoto
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travelers visiting Nakagyo, Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its family-friendly environment and proximity to great restaurants and attractions, Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo makes it easy to enjoy the best of Nakagyo.

As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a refrigerator, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available.

Guests have access to a 24 hour front desk, baggage storage, and newspaper while staying at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo. In addition, Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo offers breakfast buffet, which will help make your Nakagyo trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is parking available to guests.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Koen-ji Temple (0.4 mi) and Motogion Nagi Shrine (0.6 mi), guests of Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo can easily experience some of Nakagyo's most well known attractions.

While you’re here, be sure to check out some of the Asian restaurants, including The Youshokuya Kichi Kichi, Ippudo Nishikikoji, and Izumi Curry, Shijo Karasuma, all of which are a short distance from Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo.

Should time allow, Nijo Castle and Pontocho are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

Whether you’re traveling for business, pleasure or both, Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo is sure to make your visit to Nakagyo one worth remembering.

Read more
Room & Suite (202)202
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast buffet
Bicycle rental
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Vending machine
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese
Hotel links
Special Offer:Always 5% discount
931Reviews23Q+A28Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 240
  • 509
  • 132
  • 34
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Livia S wrote a review Nov 2019
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Very friendly staff, clean hotel which is not too pricy. There's a bus stop and a supermarket nearby. Just be careful while booking if you're a non smoker, they also offer smoking rooms. Anyway, we had a pleasant stay :).
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MGH-kyotosijo, 支配人 at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Responded Nov 21, 2019
Thank you for staying at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo. We have pleased that you have taken your time to share such a positive feedback following your stay at our hotel.  It is our pleasure that we have been able to provide you the service you are satisfied. As for the price the rate is always changing. We do offer reasonable deals throughout the year. Please check the website regularly to find the best available. As you mentioned, we have 2 smoking room’s floor. If you want to change the room to the non-smoking room, we would help as much as possible. Please do not hesitate to come to reception as we open 24 hours. Our hotel is located in a quiet residential part of town but within walking distance from the downtown Kyoto. For the most place of interest you can reach by taking bus from the bus stops around the corner from us. There are 24 hour convenience store and supermarket at the corner of the street. We are proud of our breakfast and we have put in extra effort to improve what we offer at breakfast. We hope your stay has been something memorable and would like to welcome you back again in the near future.
Read more
Binit K wrote a review Oct 2019
London, United Kingdom8 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed there for 4 nights and had a fantastic stay .The hotel is very clean with spotless rooms .The breakfast served on the 2nd floor is very nice with great choices and different varieties every day . The public bath is very clean and nice and all areas are well maintained with a good relaxation room . The front staff are very friendly with any advice and really take the pain and effort to help you .They handle any issues calmly and go out of their way to help you .Unfortunately I had trouble with my tooth whilst I was there ,however the hotel staff (Hazels, Odube) were very helpful in getting me an appointment in the near by Hirana Dental clinic. The doctor was very nice and sorted out my issue ,had to go back to back and the hotel staff were very helpful and co-operative in sorting this out . On our last day they kept our luggage whilst we were sightseeing before preparing for our next journey and were very helpful and did it without any hesitation. The location is fantastic and very close to the city centre and taxis are available right outside . The staff provide a very professional service with high standards representing the great country of Japan in every way . Will definitely stay here on our return and recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Kyoto . Binit
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote1 Save
Helpful
Share
Response from MGH-kyotosijo, Front Office Manager at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Responded Oct 29, 2019
Thank you for staying at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo.We are highly pleased that you are satisfied with the services we provide.Our aim is to offer a memorable experience in Kyoto for all of our guests. Therefore it is an absolute pleasure to find out that our services have been highly evaluated.We feel that all the work we have been put in is all worth it when we read a kind comment like yours. We continue working hard to provide the comfortable environment for our guests. We hope your stay has been something memorable and would like to come back again in the near future.We are pleased to announce that we are planning to have extention and renovation work this winter. Due to this construction, the entire building will be closed for 103days from 2nd December 2019 to 13rd March 2020. We are confident that the new environment will be more comfortable and satisfying for everyone. We look forward to welcoming you after a major change.We truly appreciate you taking your time to share your experience at our hotel.We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Front Office Manager
Read more
Melissa wrote a review Aug 2019
27 contributions23 helpful votes
Location of this hotel is quite convenient for walking to the traditional market, bus station and tube station. Supermarket, convenient stores, restaurants, cafeteria and bars are available nearby. Though the room is bit small but it’s clean and convertible.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MGH-kyotosijo, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Responded Aug 28, 2019
Thank you for staying at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo.We truly appreciate that you have taken your time to share a review of your experience here.We are fortunate to be situated in central of Kyoto and the lively Shijo or Kawaramachi district is in walking distance. The Nishiki food market is 10minutes on foot from our hotel, also there are various kinds of restaurant and shops surrounding us. Kyoto city is covered by bus network. You can go to many places of interests with 1-day bus ticket. If you need help with directions please do not hesitate to talk to us at the reception.As for the size of the room, we are fortunately located in central of Kyoto and it is densely populated city so we designed most of our room a bit compact but for function and convenience.We have various types of rooms so please check out the website and find your ideal room.Thank you again for taking your time to leave a kind comment. It is always wonderful to find out our guests had a great time in Kyoto. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Read more
Woon T wrote a review Jun 2019
Singapore, Singapore111 contributions111 helpful votes
Stayed here for 4 nights while we toured Kyoto. The rooms are clean and the staff functional and correct. This is a very basic hotel. There is no fitness center or pool. However, it does have a small public bath which is open to all guest. I think this hotel is positioned as a business hotel but most of the guests that I encounter seems to be tourist. I picked this hotel as it is “near” Nikishi market. However it is quite a walk and it is better to take a bus there. It is also quite a walk from the nearest train station especially with luggage. If I travel to Kyoto again I will stay in a place closer to Kyoto station. There are more transport connections and shopping Malls around the station.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MGH-kyotosijo, Front Office Manager at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Responded Jun 13, 2019
Thank you for staying at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo.We truly appreciate that you have shared your comment with us.At our hotel, we have the garden view public bath where our guests can use for free. It is nice to extend your legs in the large hot bathtub after a long day of walking. Where we are located is convenient for our guests. We are situated just off the main Shijo street. From the Shijo underground station, it is approximately a 5 to 10 minute walk. To the famous Nishiki market it takes about 15 minutes on foot. The hotel is located in a residential part of town but we are surrounded by many small interesting restaurants. A convenience store is almost next to us, a couple of shops away. A 24 hour open super market is at the corner of the street. This is a great advantage for our guests to stay here with comfort.We are fortunate to be located in central Kyoto. For the most places of interest you can reach by taking a bus from the bus stops around the corner from us, or just a walk. At the reception, you can purchase a one day bus pass from the ticket vending machine. We have bus maps and tourist maps at the reception to give out. Please do not hesitate to ask us for directions.We hope you have enjoyed your experience in Kyoto.Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo Front Office Manager
Read more
tmawhinney wrote a review Apr 2019
Cheshire, United Kingdom41 contributions12 helpful votes
We stayed in this hotel with another couple while on a holiday to Japan. The hotel is in a good location close to the main shopping centre and the subway. Rooms by Japanese standards are quite large and are well equipped. Breakfast was a little disappointing with some items such as bread not being regularly replenished, a minor point. Major irritation was arriving at 1.45 to be told we could not check in for 15 minutes so sat in reception waiting for 2.00pm, come on show some flexibility!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from MGH-kyotosijo, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Responded May 6, 2019
Thank you for staying at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo. We truly appreciate that you have taken your time to share a valuable review of your stay. It is wonderful to know that you have been satisfied with our convenient location and room. We are fortunate to be located in central of Kyoto. We are surrounded by various kinds of restaurants and shops along with popular shopping streets in walking distance. We hope you could enjoy strolling around this area during your stay. It is regrettable to know that our breakfast is not what you expected. Our breakfast is served as a buffet with Japanese cuisine as well as western dishes. It is “Obanzai” style breakfast, which is a traditional style of Japanese cuisine in native to Kyoto. Regarding to the check in, it is unfortunate that we had to make you wait at the reception. If cleaning is completed early and room is ready before your arrival, you may be able to check in earlier than expected. We hope your stay in Kyoto has been something memorable. We would like to welcome you back again in the near future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$58 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mitsui garden hotel kyoto
LOCATION
JapanKinkiKyoto PrefectureKyotoShimogyo-ku / Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
NUMBER OF ROOMS
278
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Which popular attractions are close to Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo?
Nearby attractions include Ninja Dojo and Store (0.2 miles), Fuuka-Kimono (0.2 miles), and Pokémon Center Kyoto (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and dry cleaning.
Which room amenities are available at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Shunsai Tempura Arima, Tiger Gyoza Kaikan Shijo Karasuma, and Gyuurakutei.
Is Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Kyoto.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Japanese.
Are there any historical sites close to Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fushimi Inari-taisha Shrine (2.7 miles), Kiyomizu-dera Temple (1.8 miles), and Sanjusangendo Temple (1.4 miles).
Is Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.