We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU

Show Prices
Ryokan 
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 68: English reviews
Start your review of Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU
 Click to rate
Buffalo, New York
Reviewed September 23, 2016

We spent one night here in September and it was the best thing we did in Japan. So, yeah, it's pricier than a traditional hotel, but the experience it offers far surpasses those places, too. Our rate included dinner for two (along with the free breakfast). The dinner was as good as it gets. The owner prepares the food in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kevin S
ryokanizuyasu, マネージャー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your experience in our ryokan. Thank you for all the kind comments regarding our dinner. It was a nice time for us also to serve our dish right in front of your eyes. We are happy to hear that you also enjoyed the breakfast, too....

New York City, New York
Reviewed August 21, 2016

If I could, I would insist that every visitor to Kyoto spends at least one night in this Ryokan. Beautiful accommodations: mix of wood, bamboo, garden in the center, stone entrance to take off shoes, and spacious rooms. The detail really helped shape a very relaxing experience. I highly recommend booking dinner in advanced. The chef (7th generation) is wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle C
ryokanizuyasu, オーナー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. It is very nice to hear that you have had a relaxing experience in our ryokan. We would like to thank you for the complements regarding the rooms, and the details in our ryokan. Also, it is our pleasure also to hear that you have enjoyed our dinner. We hope you had a relaxing time...

New Zealand
Reviewed August 19, 2016

I stayed in two different ryokan while in Kyoto and while this was the more expensive of the two I do believe it was worth it. Definitely make sure you make a reservation for dinner, as this really justifies the price which would otherwise be quite prohibitive... and the meal truly is exquisite. I stayed here end of July, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shiloh G
ryokanizuyasu, オーナー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comment. It was our pleasure to serve you here. We are glad that you have enjoyed your meal - and were able to serve your favorite fish as part of the course. Thank you for all the complements regarding the food. Also we are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy and have...

Reviewed August 4, 2016

We stayed here during the heat of summer. It was close by to all the places we wanted to go and within easy walking distance of Kyoto train station which was very convenient. We could easily find good places to eat, and finish with dessert at Baskin and Robbins down from one of the shopping malls across from the train...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa I
ryokanizuyasu, オーナー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review

Thank you for your previous stay. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our ryokan. It was our pleasure to be part of your Kyoto experience. Thank you for the complements regarding the staffs and the rooms. We hope you are doing well since then, and please mind your health for the upcoming winter. From...

Chicago
Reviewed June 30, 2016

I stayed here with my mom and my husband in June 2016. The ryokan was clean and looked pretty close to the pictures. However, the value is just not there for the steep price you pay to stay here. We paid over $200 per person to sleep and for breakfast (no dinner was included) --- our money would have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kselund
ryokanizuyasu, オーナー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review

Thank you for your previous stay. We are very sorry to hear that you did not feel satisfied during our stay in the ryokan, and our traditional ryokan did not suit you. We will work harder to fulfill the needs our our guests. Thank you for your comment. From All Izuyasu Staffs

Menlo Park, California, United States
Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

This ryokan is just amazing. The room was comfortable with all the needed amenities. The staff was just amazingly helpful and friendly. I have nothing but positive things to say. All this before I mention the food! The food was remarkable. We ate dinner twice and had the traditional breakfast each day. Well worth the stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc D
ryokanizuyasu, オーナー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind complements. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our ryokan. Thank you for the nice comments regarding the room, staff, and the food. It is our pleasure to hear you enjoyed our food, especially the dinner. Your satisfaction is our joy, and we hope you are doing well since your stay. From...

Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed June 14, 2016 via mobile

I had booked a night at this ryokan well in advanced based on the reviews. Unfortunately, our flight was canceled, missed a connection, etc...couldn't make our reservation day. We were all incredibly disappointed we were going to miss the opportunity to stay here and also that $700 was about to disappear as our flight was within 24hours of our reservation....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank qilun
ryokanizuyasu, マネージャー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comment. We were very sorry to hear that your flight has been cancelled. We hope you did not have any other troubles regarding the cancellation of the flight. We are looking forward to serving you in your future trip to Kyoto. From All Izuyasu Staffs

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 21, 2016

We spent our first night in Kyoto here, quite straight forward to find from the station. The rooms are very basic but clean. There is a toilet and sink in each room and there are 3 shared bathrooms downstairs. Each with shower and Japenese bath. You're provided with slippers and robes to wear to the shower room. However, the most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jools952
ryokanizuyasu, マネージャー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review

Thank you for your previous stay. It was our pleasure to be part of your very first experience in a ryokan. Thank you for complementing our dinner, too. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the counter seats to see the chef cook, and also having chat with our other guests. Thank you also for remembering the story regarding...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 9, 2016

Minimalistic rooms Comfortable beds Use of ipad while in ryokan Traditional Yukata for men and women to wear while in ryokan... (also Pjs and socks) Japanese Breakfast was(ok) and just be conscious there is a mixed shower room

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank louiseg79
ryokanizuyasu, オーナー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you felt comfortable in your room. It was our honor to serve you at our ryokan. We hope you are doing well since your stay. From All Izuyasu Staffs

Reviewed March 12, 2016 via mobile

I booked this Ryokan after reading previous reviews about the dinner served and I was blown away. If you are a foodie then this is a must! The chef created an 8 course master piece from local seasonal ingredients purchased that morning - the pictures speak for themselves. The Ryokan itself is traditional and very well maintained. Rooms are small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank walkaworld
ryokanizuyasu, オーナー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review

Thank you for your previous stay. We appreciate all your comments and complements you have given us Thank you for complementing our dinner-- we feel very honored. Also it is very nice to hear that you enjoyed our traditional atmosphere in our ryokan and also your room. Thank you again for your review. From All Izuyasu Staffs

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

143 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (125)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Shimogyo-ku
Matsubaya Inn
Matsubaya Inn
#56 of 363 in Kyoto
488 reviews
Seikoro Inn
#105 of 363 in Kyoto
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gion Hatanaka
#36 of 363 in Kyoto
258 reviews
Motonago
#9 of 363 in Kyoto
335 reviews
Tamahan
#149 of 363 in Kyoto
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Shimogyo-ku

Neighborhood Profile
Shimogyo-ku
Shimogyo-ku is centered around the busy train hub, Kyoto Station. A nexus for commerce, shopping, dining, and hotels, the Shimogyo-ku area is infused with tourists and local business travelers, making it a competitive location for ever-new commercial structures. The shops and cafes here are chic and trendy, as a result, with many recognizable chains. Commuters flood the Shimogyo-ku area twice a day, and with Kyoto Station itself being a modern mega-complex and an architectural marvel, this neighborhood is one of the most contemporary and energetic areas that the city has to offer. Buildings here look futuristic, and huge department stores, shopping arcades, and public meeting spaces provide every possible convenience. It is also nearly the only place in Kyoto where rooftop dining and socializing is available, completing its modern tone.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Japan is a country which has a lot of characteristics. High technology, beautiful nature, sub-culture… Especially Kyoto, which is an ancient historical city which keeps the Japanese traditional culture. For example, seasonal sceneries, tea ceremony, noh play, Gion festival, antiques, and beautiful refined Kyoto cuisine. Kyoto is the place where you can feel the authentic Japan. We invite you to come and experience the true essence of Kyoto. At IZUYASU, traditional ryokan established in 1839, we welcome you with our Japanese style warm hospitality. We hope you’ll enjoy our chef’s Kyoto cuisine, traditional Kyoto house, and the Japanese garden. A track with Kyoto’s history In 1839 during the Edo period IZUYASU was originally established to receive the Buddhist priests and travelers who come to worship at Higashi honganji. For over 170 years we’ve offered the best service which suits the different generations with our warm Japanese hospitality. Today we accept important cultural guests of Japan and also from foreign countries. First renewal since 170 years ago We have reopened IZUYASU in November 2013. You’ll see the simple and cozy interior design and the natural furniture in the salon created by artisans. We’re looking forward to seeing the elegant changes of the woods with time like the old central pillar which has been supporting the house for a longtime ... more   less 

Additional Information about Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU

Address: 272 Sasayacho Higashinotoin Shimojuzuyamachi Agaru, Shimokyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8156, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Price Range: $279 - $510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Izuyasu Ryokan Kyoto
Hotel Style:
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU staff and other travelers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The basic room was lovely: spacious and charming. It even had a small garden.”
 of 5 bubbles 671daniellec, Aug 21, 2016 | Read review
“My room faced the car park, which I already knew when booking online, so this wasn't a problem for me but it might be for some.”
 of 5 bubbles shilohg2016, Aug 19, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room close by to the bathrooms, and quieter at the back of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles 600lisai, Aug 4, 2016 | Read review
“Maybe you could ask for a room not in front of the car station”
 of 5 bubbles Mari-woodman, Jan 7, 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms face onto the carpark, so check before you book.”
 of 5 bubbles VVILL84, Dec 31, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question