We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 491: English reviews
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For Japan, the rooms are rather large, a nice bonus. But even if they were small this hotel is a great find: nice location, perfect Japanese service, and the rooms are clean, all quiet. You can jump on the subway Shijo line or walk to Nishiki Market or the unparalleled Train Station as well as Gion, Kyomizudera, etc. Skip breakfast,... More 

Helpful?
Thank rickyfellis
ms-kyoto-shijo, Reception at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review

Dear rickyfellis, Thank you so much for staying with us at Hotel Mystays Kyoto Shijo and thank you for the owesome review. We are pretty happy to read that even though the room might be a little bit small for you, it would be able to have you feel well-designed and satisfy with the service we offer. Also, it looks... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dated and dirty rooms. It is very clear that there is no deep cleanjng schedule as the carpet was disgusting. I stayed here for 2 nights and could not wait to leave. The location is decent but thats really it.

Helpful?
Thank nsin4137
ms-kyoto-shijo, Reception at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review

Dear nsin4137 Thank you so much for staing with us at Hotel Mystays Kyoto Shijo and writing teh meaningful review. I's so sorry to hear your experience. We will surely strive to slove the problem you mentioned because cleaness can be one of the most important things for our guests. We are so sorry that we can keep on tyding... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel twice. During both stays, I had a very pleasant experience. The hotel is very affordable and yet, the rooms are impeccably kept and cleaned to excellent standards. There is free matcha latte and coffee at the lobby, and all rooms also come with an air purifier.

Helpful?
Thank pyrofeathers
ms-kyoto-shijo, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review

Dear sir or madam Thank you for staying with us during your Kyoto stay. We are so glad to see your review and you had a comfortable stay. Did you go many places during your stay? Which one the best for you? We hope you enjoyed Kyoto so much. And, we are so glad to you liked our free coffee... More 

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This Hotel is located near metro station and near the center of the city. There are good connection with buses, The room was clean and nice but small, but in Japan they are all small. The breakfast is only eastern so we didn't make it, but the hotel offers coffee and espresso free.

Helpful?
Thank alfredo a
ms-kyoto-shijo, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review

Dear sir or madam Thank you for staying with us during your Kyoto stay. We are so glad to see your review. There are many sightseeing places nearby hotel. So , you could go there easily we think. And, we apologize the room wasn’t match you. Rooms in Japan are smaller than eastern rooms. It depends on Japanese lifestyle. We... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

About 5 minutes walk from Shijo metro station and 15 minutes to the tourist streets this is a good location. We had a free upgrade to a comfortable large twin room. Clean with a good shower. Wifi was good in the room and the reception area. There was free coffee from a machine until 8pm. Staff were friendly, spoke reasonable... More 

Helpful?
Thank rod002
ms-kyoto-shijo, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review

Dear sir or madam Thank you for staying with us during your Kyoto stay. We are so glad to you had a good time in our hotel and to see your review. And we appreciate your compliment about our service. We owe it to our customer's support. It’s really difficult to find your friend’s passport. Because it's not your country.... More 

Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2016

stayed here in July wit 12 family members our room was of a decent size and very clean. Staff were friendly and helpfull. We stayed for 10 days then went to Lake Biwa for 3 days we returned for 1 night before going home.while we were gone we were allowed to leave our cases in the lobby until we returned.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gary A
ms-kyoto-shijo, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review

Dear sir or madam Thank you for staying with us during your Kyoto stay. We are so glad to you liked our service. Thank you for your compliment. We owe it to our customer's support. The free coffee and green tea milk are loved many guests. If you have a chance to visit again here, please try again! Lastly, thank... More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016

I came back for a stay in the city. Everything was fine. Service continued to be efficient. The room was clean. The hotel is on Shijo. It is close to the shopping areas and temples which I planned to visit. Compared to the JR station, I think it is a more interesting area.

Helpful?
Thank Coconuttreeandme
ms-kyoto-shijo, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review

Dear sir or madam Dear sir or madam Thank you for staying with us during your Kyoto stay. We are so glad to you returned your home safety and see your review. There are many places for sightseeing nearby our hotel. So, you could visit there easily we think. JR Kyoto station area is accessible. Compared to JR Kyoto station,... More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2016

Room category: Standard Queen Room. I didn't know a hotel room could even be built so small ! And no, this is not a "Japanese thing" as none of the other hotels we stayed at were anything like this, and we stayed at other business hotels. Our room was so tiny that we had to have the staff remove some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Arjay1970
ms-kyoto-shijo, Front staff Akiyuki Kaneko at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review

Dear sir or madam, Thank you for your stay at Hotel Mystays Kyoto Shijo. We apologize about the size of the room as it was not enough for you. We also deeply apologize for cleaning condition in your room. We usually clean carpet under the bed and dust in the room on a regular basis, but the frequency of cleaning... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

I was a bit sceptical about the room size after reading reviews, but when I reached the hotel I was surprise to find the room space is good! Not sure about other room but triple room is spacious and have plenty of space for luggage. The only down side is that, the wardrobe is a bit too small. Outside the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lexyx
ms-kyoto-shijo, Front staff Akiyuki Kaneko at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Hotel Mystays Kyoto Shijo. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the hotels location and facilities except for wardrobe. We will try the best to improve the situation so that our customer could stay comfortable at our hotel. Thank you for your comment and we look forward to see you if possible. More 

Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2016

The hotel was affordable and located well for our purposes. The laundry and vending machines were great. We didn't try the restaurant downstairs but it seemed very popular. The staff were extremely helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Angela01234
ms-kyoto-shijo, Front staff Akiyuki Kaneko at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review

Dear Sir or Madam Thank you for staying at Hotel Mystays Kyoto Shijo, during your stay in Kyoto. And thank you again for your admiration of the hotel. We can see that you have really enjoyed your stay at our hotel, from the grateful comments that you gave us. We look forward to see you again if there is another... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

578 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (314)
Viewed
Bathroom (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (95)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (110)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (248)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Deluxe Corner View Twin Room (41)
Viewed
Deluxe Twin Room (42)
Viewed
Grand Deluxe View Triple Room (37)
Viewed
Nagomi Japanese Style Room (40)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#37 of 349 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijokarasuma
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Grand Bach Kyoto
Hotel Grand Bach Kyoto
#19 of 349 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
City Center
HOTEL UNIZO Kyoto Shijo Karasuma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in City Center

Neighborhood Profile
City Center
No district of Kyoto is quite as representative of its blended nature as the City Center. By day, the covered shopping arcades along Kawaramachi and Shijo Street bring deal hunters and fashionistas out in droves to peruse the clothing, accessories, gifts, and home goods offerings. When it grows dark, the City Center is a hip spot for nightlife, alive with bars and clubs. A trendy culinary scene and an abundance of local watering holes give the Center its youthful vibrancy. In contrast, the quieter areas of the City Center seem a world away, shielded from noise by the foliage of the public gardens and zen spaces surrounding the area's shrines, castles, and the Imperial Palace. These ancient and sacred spots are seamlessly folded into the scenery, providing a respite from the energy of the city, but close enough to put you directly back onto the pulse of the city when you're ready.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo

Address: 52 Kasaboko-cho, Shijo-dori Aburanokoji Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8494, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Price Range: $90 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, MYSTAYS HOTEL MANAGEMENT Co., Ltd., Hotwire, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Travelocity, Rakuten and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#18 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#21 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay