We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 486: English reviews
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

stayed here in July wit 12 family members our room was of a decent size and very clean. Staff were friendly and helpfull. We stayed for 10 days then went to Lake Biwa for 3 days we returned for 1 night before going home.while we were gone we were allowed to leave our cases in the lobby until we returned.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gary A
ms-kyoto-shijo, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review

Dear sir or madam Thank you for staying with us during your Kyoto stay. We are so glad to you liked our service. Thank you for your compliment. We owe it to our customer's support. The free coffee and green tea milk are loved many guests. If you have a chance to visit again here, please try again! Lastly, thank... More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I came back for a stay in the city. Everything was fine. Service continued to be efficient. The room was clean. The hotel is on Shijo. It is close to the shopping areas and temples which I planned to visit. Compared to the JR station, I think it is a more interesting area.

Helpful?
Thank Coconuttreeandme
ms-kyoto-shijo, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review

Dear sir or madam Dear sir or madam Thank you for staying with us during your Kyoto stay. We are so glad to you returned your home safety and see your review. There are many places for sightseeing nearby our hotel. So, you could visit there easily we think. JR Kyoto station area is accessible. Compared to JR Kyoto station,... More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room category: Standard Queen Room. I didn't know a hotel room could even be built so small ! And no, this is not a "Japanese thing" as none of the other hotels we stayed at were anything like this, and we stayed at other business hotels. Our room was so tiny that we had to have the staff remove some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Arjay1970
ms-kyoto-shijo, Front staff Akiyuki Kaneko at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review

Dear sir or madam, Thank you for your stay at Hotel Mystays Kyoto Shijo. We apologize about the size of the room as it was not enough for you. We also deeply apologize for cleaning condition in your room. We usually clean carpet under the bed and dust in the room on a regular basis, but the frequency of cleaning... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was a bit sceptical about the room size after reading reviews, but when I reached the hotel I was surprise to find the room space is good! Not sure about other room but triple room is spacious and have plenty of space for luggage. The only down side is that, the wardrobe is a bit too small. Outside the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lexyx
ms-kyoto-shijo, Front staff Akiyuki Kaneko at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Hotel Mystays Kyoto Shijo. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the hotels location and facilities except for wardrobe. We will try the best to improve the situation so that our customer could stay comfortable at our hotel. Thank you for your comment and we look forward to see you if possible. More 

Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was affordable and located well for our purposes. The laundry and vending machines were great. We didn't try the restaurant downstairs but it seemed very popular. The staff were extremely helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Angela01234
ms-kyoto-shijo, Front staff Akiyuki Kaneko at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review

Dear Sir or Madam Thank you for staying at Hotel Mystays Kyoto Shijo, during your stay in Kyoto. And thank you again for your admiration of the hotel. We can see that you have really enjoyed your stay at our hotel, from the grateful comments that you gave us. We look forward to see you again if there is another... More 

Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016

My wife and I spent four night here and all round it was a pleasant stay. The staff were efficient, the room was a reasonable size, well appointed and comfortable. We were on the 14th floor and had a lovely view over the city to the mountains which was a bonus. A slight negative of being so high is that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graham067
ms-kyoto-shijo, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review

Dear sir or madam Thank you for the stay at Hotel Mystays Kyoto Shijo. We are delighted to hear about your satisfaction of the hotel and about our staff being helpful to you. As it is written, our hotel has a good location which makes easy to travel around Kyoto city for site seeing. We promise that our location of... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

This hotel was a great value and was located in a good part of town. We were short subway or bus ride from the main train station and right in the middle of the city for good access to the sites that are spread out throughout Kyoto. The staff was very helpful and spoke good English. The room was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Prudent_Travelers
ms-kyoto-shijo, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review

Dear sir or madam Thank you for staying with us during your Kyoto stay. We are so glad to you had a good time in Kyoto and our hotel. There are many places for sightseeing. So, you could go easily by bus or subway. If you have a chance to visit Kyoto, please try to go another season. We think... More 

St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016

Staff didn't speak English to well. Had trouble asking them where I could get tickets to the spring geisha show. But we eventually got it. We got there early so they took our luggage for us and they were waiting in our room when we got back. Which was nice. Location is within walking distance to Nishiki Market and Gion.... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlliCatBlues
ms-kyoto-shijo, Front staff Akiyuki Kaneko at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review

Dear AlliCatBlues, Thank you for writing your comments. We apologize for cleaning service in our hotel. We would tell our cleaing staff about this problem and try to improve our service. It would not happen again in the future. Also, we apologize for no coffee in the lobby during your stay. We usually have both macha milk and coffee service,... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

Me and my family stayed here for 5 nights during our stay in Kyoto. The staff were friendly, polite and very willing to help us make bookings for restaurants etc due to the language barrier. The standard of the rooms were relatively basic, but clean and comfortable meaning we fully enjoyed the stay and really good wifi which was extremely... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mia C
ms-kyoto-shijo, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review

Dear sir or madam Thank you for staying with us during your Kyoto stay. We are grateful you liked our staff and our services. Kyoto city is small, but there are many temples, shrines, shopping malls and restaurants! So we think you could go easily many sightseeing places from our hotel. If you have a chance to visit Kyoto again,... More 

australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016 via mobile

Traveled from mt fuji by bus to Mishima then train to kyoto. Mystays kyoto is a budget hotel that we found be clean and affordable for a family of 4. We booked 2 rooms one twin and one queen. We are finding in japan the twin rooms are bigger then the double or queen rooms. Hotel is situated not far... More 

Helpful?
Thank debbiekeppel
ms-kyoto-shijo, Reception at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review

Dear debbiekeppel Thank you very much for staying with us at our hotel, Hotel Mystays Kyoto Shjo. I appreciate that you giving us this wonderful review, and it's so excited to read your experience. The landmarks you mentionied are very interesting. In my opinion, Nishiki Market can be the place, where visitor feel like shopping in the local streets of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

562 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (298)
Viewed
Room/Suite (88)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (102)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (248)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Deluxe Corner View Twin Room (41)
Viewed
Deluxe Twin Room (42)
Viewed
Grand Deluxe View Triple Room (37)
Viewed
Nagomi Japanese Style Room (40)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijokarasuma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
#34 of 348 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 1,831 reviews
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#36 of 348 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Grand Bach Kyoto
Hotel Grand Bach Kyoto
#19 of 348 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in City Center

Neighborhood Profile
City Center
No district of Kyoto is quite as representative of its blended nature as the City Center. By day, the covered shopping arcades along Kawaramachi and Shijo Street bring deal hunters and fashionistas out in droves to peruse the clothing, accessories, gifts, and home goods offerings. When it grows dark, the City Center is a hip spot for nightlife, alive with bars and clubs. A trendy culinary scene and an abundance of local watering holes give the Center its youthful vibrancy. In contrast, the quieter areas of the City Center seem a world away, shielded from noise by the foliage of the public gardens and zen spaces surrounding the area's shrines, castles, and the Imperial Palace. These ancient and sacred spots are seamlessly folded into the scenery, providing a respite from the energy of the city, but close enough to put you directly back onto the pulse of the city when you're ready.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo

Address: 52 Kasaboko-cho, Shijo-dori Aburanokoji Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8494, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Price Range: $85 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MYSTAYS HOTEL MANAGEMENT Co., Ltd., Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Rakuten, Agoda, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#18 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#21 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay