We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou

Show Prices
#7 of 3,373 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou
Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,587 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 424: English reviews
Boulder, CO
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a review about customer service that I have come to expect from Shangri-la hotels everywhere. I had booked three days here for a stay in February. My plans changed so I canceled my reservation but then discovered that I had inadvertently booked a non-refundable rate. I never do this because my travel plans do change and I always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mutt99
SLPGPR, Hotel Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review

Dear Mutt99, Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou and for sharing your valuable comments on your booking experience with us. We understand that business trips are sometimes subject to change due to unforeseen reasons and therefore we strive to be flexible to accommodate our guests' schedule. We are pleased that you found that we were able to assist on...

Melbourne,
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having done the "rounds" of Guangzhou hotels over the years, I have held off on the Shang only because of price. Price can now gone down the list as the service, comfort (rooms do need an update and reno) and location now comes ahead. We are so pleased with the Shang we will return and if booked well enough in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brandto
SLPGPR, Hotel Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review

Dear Brandto, Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou and for sharing your valuable comments on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that you were satisfied with your stay and our location, and were comfortable with our overall service whilst here. We will also review your comments concerning our Club Lounge. We do look forward to...

Beijing, China
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Like most Shangri-La hotels, although the facilities are good, I find this one a bit outdated in terms of modernity of interior design and room fit out. HOWEVER, also like with mist Shangri-La, the service is great and for me the reason to go and come back. This is a busy conference hotel, meaning loads of guests coming in larger...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WBeijing
SLPGPR, Hotel Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review

Dear Wbeijing, Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou and for sharing your comments on your recent stay with us. Your satisfaction is a great motivator for all of us and we will share your feedback with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit here. Warm Regards, Keith Tomkies

Highland Lakes, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very welcoming atmosphere at the hotel. The rooms are very spacious and extremely well kept. The staff could not be more accommodating in helping you in any way possible. I will always return to this hotel when I am in the area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bkliem
SLPGPR, Hotel Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review

Dear bkliem, Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou and for sharing your valuable comments on your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay here and were pleased with our overall service. Your compliment is a great momentum for us to carry on our heart-felt hospitality. Much appreciated for your compliments again, and...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked a premier river view room and upgraded at check-in to the Horizon Club privileges. The room was every bit as spacious and comfortable as you'd expect from a 5-star hotel. The real stand out though were the staff who I cannot fault at all. Everybody I had contact with from the bellboy to the staff in the Horizon...

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian R
SLPGPR, Hotel Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review

Dear Adrian R, Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou and for sharing your valuable comments on your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to know that you enjoy your stay in our Horizon Club Room and were satisftied with our overall service. Your compliment is a great momentum for us to carry on our heart-felt hospitality and I'll...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We checked in with3 rooms on 26th Dec and were told rooms were not ready so we went for lunch at Summer Palace placing our orders at 2.15 pm. At 2.45 we were told some items we ordered were out but sorry kitchen closed at 2.30. A message sent to us on 26th was delivered on 29th. On 28th we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rentap71
SLPGPR, Hotel Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review

Dear Rentap71, Thank you for your feedback concerning your visit, although we are most concerned to read your comments. We would like to investigate this matter in detail and assist to resolve this properly I would be much obliged if you could contact us directly at communications.slpg@shangri-la.com, so that we can fully understand what occurred and ensure we take the...

GZ
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thank you once again for such a perfect stay. This is a hotel that is great for everyone, but also one that takes repeat customers very seriously. The service now offered to our family is truly amazing. We spent Christmas at the hotel. The winter wonderland is excellent and highly recommended to any family. (games for all ages, my 1...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Revis
SLPGPR, Hotel Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review

Dear Mark_Revis, Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou again and for sharing your comments on your recent stay with us. We are extremely pleased to know you had a pleasant stay on Christmas Day and were satisfied with our overall service. Your recognition is a great motivator for us to continue to provide our heart-felt hospitality, and it will...

Reviewed December 17, 2016 via mobile

Went to China on business in March and was staying here for 5 days Rooms were very large, spacious and clean - with a very modern washroom and decor Hotel staff could speak English and were very helpful in arranging taxis etc to get around the city Great restaurants within the hotel as well a the sushi spot was excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashik B
SLPGPR, Hotel Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review

Dear Ashik B, Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou and for sharing your valuable comments on your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay here and were pleased with our overall services. We will ensure to share your comments with our colleagues to encourage them and hope to welcome you back when...

Midway, Kentucky
Reviewed December 15, 2016

Arrived exhausted after trans-Pacific flight and was pleased to find myself in such a comfortable quiet place. The room had a view of the Pearl River which was nice, the bed was comfy and the whole place was very nicely appointed. The breakfast buffet was very good too. The swimming pool was quite busy early in the mornings, but not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sueontheroad12
SLPGPR, Hotel Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review

Dear sueontheroad12, Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou and for sharing your comments on your recent stay with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our overall facilities whilst here.Your satisfaction is a great motivator for us to continue to provide our heart-felt hospitality, and it will be gladly shared with all our colleagues.We look forward to...

Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Reviewed December 7, 2016 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located in the Guangzhou New arena, close to exhibition centres and close to subway (for city). Reception is smooth and all amenities are there as you may expect. Room is big and clean, as is the bathroom. Bed is of good quality. Breaksfast is totally complete in both Asian and Western choices.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AL273
SLPGPR, Hotel Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review

Dear AL273, Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou and for sharing your feedback after your recent stay with us. We are all pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and our overall facilities and services.Your recognition is much appreciated and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Keith Tomkies

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,153 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (485)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (72)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Other (258)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (608)
Viewed
Amenities (96)
Viewed
Executive Suite (95)
Viewed
Horizon Deluxe Room (River View) (59)
Viewed
Pool (45)
Viewed
Premier Room (69)
Viewed
Dining (182)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
3.2 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#2 of 3,373 in Guangzhou
543 reviews
0.7 mi away
Langham Place Guangzhou
Langham Place Guangzhou
#6 of 3,373 in Guangzhou
287 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#1 of 3,373 in Guangzhou
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
#3 of 3,373 in Guangzhou
580 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Pazhou
The Westin Pazhou
#5 of 3,373 in Guangzhou
317 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#9 of 3,373 in Guangzhou
2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou is located adjacent to the Canton Fair with less than 1 minute walking distance to Guangzhou International Convention and Exhibition Center. Surrounded by lush gardens on an island in the Pearl River, the hotel's 704 guestrooms offer amazing views through the floor-to-ceiling windows of the nearby Pearl River and the greenery on the other side. The hotel offers its guest complimentary Wi-Fi and broadband internet access in all guestrooms and public areas. During the Canton Fair period, the hotel offers complimentary shuttle bus services to the fair as well as major hot spots across the city, with Wi-Fi available in the shuttle bus; guests can choose to take a walk or the shuttle between the hotel and the Canton Fair Complex. The Shangri-La offers a variety of dining options from East to West put together by award-winning chefs. Traditional Thai and fusion dishes are cooked up with imported herbs and spices at coolThai. Nadaman offers up the renowned menu of its worldwide Japanese fine dining chain. Guests looking for something more local can check out the regional Chinese offerings at Summer Palace. A selection of Asian favorites and contemporary international cuisine is available from the food-theater-style WOK TOO Cafe which provides both a la carte and buffet. Diners at the WOK TOO Cafe can eat inside the main dining hall, out in the garden or in one of the private dining rooms. Guests looking to eat Western cuisine can also head to il Forno, the hotel's Italian restaurant. Guests relaxing in the lush gardens around the outdoor swimming pool can indulge in a tropical cocktail or a light snack at the Poolside Bar & Grill. Live jazz performances accompany snacks and cocktails, coffee or afternoon tea in the Lobby Lounge. When night falls, guests can roll up to the Lift Bar on the second floor and enjoy drinks and snacks while looking out over the gardens and river. The flowing shape of this Guangzhou hotel's outdoor pool is lined by a tropical garden, giving guests a relaxing getaway from the hustle of bustling "Canton," and an indoor pool is also available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou

Address: No.1 Huizhan East Road, Haizhu District, Guangzhou 510308, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Price Range: $122 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 704
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Guangzhou
Shangri La Guangzhou
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#5 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#6 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#7 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#7 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#70 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou staff and other travelers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore
over a year ago
Singapore, Singapore
1 month ago
3 months ago
North Ridgeville, Ohio

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“If you're alone and you don't want to be bothered to go out for meals, the exec floor is worth it. Free food, drinks, etc.”
 of 5 bubbles EvanDaviesDesign, Nov 22, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are very nice specially suites.”
 of 5 bubbles ILYASAHMEDKHANK, Nov 16, 2016 | Read review
“close to convention center. recommend the club floor”
 of 5 bubbles 335TimJ, Nov 15, 2016 | Read review
“The river view we had was fabulous!”
 of 5 bubbles RobinB716, Nov 15, 2016 | Read review
“Best view of the Canton Fair - outlook, beautiful light show each night.”
 of 5 bubbles SandyD757, Nov 9, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay