We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich

Save
Share
No.988 Guangzhou Avenue Middle, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510620 China
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Priceline
FindHotel
$1,471
$137
View deal
SAVE $1,334
Booking.com$153
Orbitz.com
Prestigia.com$1,471
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
traveler_photos_ffffe986 (2626)
phototagging_dining (392)
room_amp_suite (382)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#4 of 3,964 hotels in Guangzhou
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Strategically located in Tianhe, the most dynamic financial and commercial district of Guangzhou, the hotel is less than a kilometre away from city landmark CITIC Square and a five minutes drive from Guangzhou East Railway Station, the transportation hub connecting Guangzhou, Dongguan, Shenzhen and Hong Kong. Facilities include 493 spectacular Paris style decor rooms and suites, all overlooking TianHe trendy skyline, 5 innovative bars and restaurants,extensive recreational facilities from SoSpa, SoFit 24-hour fitness centre to an indoor pool enjoying a panoramic view.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
hotel_amenity_free_parking
amenity_free_internet_title_ad3
hotel_amenity_pool
amenity_fitness_center_title_ad3
hotel_amenity_bar_lounge
hotel_amenity_kids_stay_free
hotel_amenity_airport_transportation
amenity_business_title_ad3
hotel_amenity_valet_parking
hotel_amenity_wifi
hotel_amenity_hot_tub
hotel_amenity_adult_pool
hotel_amenity_indoor_pool
hotel_amenity_heated_pool
hotel_amenity_fitness_spa_locker_rooms
hotel_amenity_fitness_classes
hotel_amenity_restaurant
hotel_amenity_breakfast_available
hotel_amenity_breakfast_buffet
hotel_amenity_complimentary_instant_cofffee
hotel_amenity_car_hire
hotel_amenity_taxi_service
hotel_amenity_conference_facilities
hotel_amenity_banquet_room
hotel_amenity_meeting_rooms
hotel_amenity_spa
hotel_amenity_massage
hotel_amenity_salon
hotel_amenity_steam_room
hotel_amenity_24_hour_security
hotel_amenity_baggage_storage
hotel_amenity_concierge
hotel_amenity_currency_exchange
hotel_amenity_non_smoking_hotel
hotel_amenity_atm_on_site
hotel_amenity_butler_service
hotel_amenity_doorperson
hotel_amenity_24_hour_front_desk
hotel_amenity_private_check_in_check_out
hotel_amenity_dry_cleaning
hotel_amenity_laundry_service
hotel_amenity_ironing_service
hotel_amenity_shoeshine
Show more
Room features
hotel_amenity_air_conditioning
hotel_amenity_housekeeping
hotel_amenity_room_service
hotel_amenity_safe
hotel_amenity_vip_room_facilities
hotel_amenity_minibar
hotel_amenity_flatscreen_tv
hotel_amenity_on_demand_movies
Room types
tags_category_tag_non_smoking_rooms_1
hotel_amenity_suites
hotel_amenity_smoking_rooms_available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
hotel_style_tag_9669
hotel_style_tag_5951
Languages Spoken
hotel_amenity_english, hotel_amenity_french, hotel_amenity_chinese
5205Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4,548
  • 485
  • 117
  • 39
  • 32
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
outofthelight wrote a review Apr 2021
Beijing, China225 contributions96 helpful votes
+1
I very much enjoyed two nights in Guangzhou at the Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich. The arrival was not the smoothest, though - the DiDi taxi app did not recognize the hotel name or address in English when trying to book transport from the airport. Hotel staff Cavan was very helpful via WeChat and I very much appreciate that. Check-in (and also check-out) was however a lengthy affair, and I am still struggling to understand why the front desk agent needed 20-25 minutes to check me in - and how she on top of that apparently did not realize I am a member of the Accor loyality program (hence no welcome drink or other recognition) - and actually tried to enroll me again... The reservation was made in the Accor ALL app, so all the information I had to fill in by hand should be available to the hotel already. On the positive side, the Club Milléssime room I had booked, which was located on the 29th floor, was truly excellent, and so was the service in the lounge itself. Staff members there were very attentive, and fully compensated for the shortcomings in the reception downstairs. All in all, the Club Milléssime staff and their excellent service saved what would otherwise have been a quite ordinary hotel stay. The hotel gym was also nice, as is the location of the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Huyen Chi wrote a review Mar 2021
Guangzhou, China26 contributions1 helpful vote
Tonight we test the malaisien cake in the 2 floor buffet ! They are very nice and delicious, the taste are very correct from Malaysia! Thankfully to pastry chef! Mr. Law ! Make us remember when we were younger!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Sofitel Guangzhou, Revenue Management at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Huyenchi, Bonjour! Thank you for your great words to describe our 2F 2 on 988, which we have been shared with our entire team. We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our South East cuisine. We are thankful for your specific recognition to our pastries that are made by Executive Pastry Chef Law Chii Ngien and his team. We thank you once again for your recommendation, and we are looking forward to being at your service again soon. Sincerely, Mingka Li Director of Guest Exprience Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Read more
Worldtravel-Derek wrote a review Mar 2021
Shanghai, China48 contributions48 helpful votes
Very warm welcome hotel for me. Specially the executive lounge in 29fl. Very good service, thanks for Miss Jaden Lin and her team provide me an unforgotten memory. Thanks for Mr. William Chea. He managed this hotel in a very good condition.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
ur_question.prompt.11
Location
Cleanliness
Service
userrating.prompt.190
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Sofitel Guangzhou, Revenue Management at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Responded Mar 16, 2021
Dear Worldtravel-Derek, Bonjour! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor once again. General Manager Mr. Chea has celebrated your enjoyment with the entire team in the hotel. It is a great honour for our team to read such comments and your satisfaction is our reward. We are thankful for your specific recognition to Jayden Ma. Your kind words are definitely a great encouragement for him and also to the entire team for continually make our guests Feel Welcome and Valued. We thank you for your loyalty once again, and we await the pleasure to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Mingka Li Director of Guest Experience Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Read more
RoyStormer wrote a review Mar 2021
Guangzhou, China309 contributions120 helpful votes
Came at the behest of our friends because this is their favorite hotel. The rooms are spacious, rainfall shower, deep bathtub, English speaking staff, and overall this is a really good hotel. The pillow menu was disappointing, we asked for the two firmest pillows, but we got squishy ones. I don't think they messed up, I think that is what they offer. Pillows are very personal and what I need to sleep will be different from everyone else so take it with a grain of salt. I had a terrible Pina colada at the bar (for whatever thats worth). Check out was excellent, you just give the room keys to the concierge and they handle the rest. They offer 4pm check out!!! That was amazing. The location is not on a metro stop in case someone was wondering. We didn't eat here so my review is incomplete. Overall this is a really good hotel and I would stay here again in a heart beat.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Sofitel Guangzhou, Revenue Management at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Responded Mar 16, 2021
Dear RoyStormer, Bonjour! We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are sorry you were disappointed in our Pillow Menu service and Pina Colada at the bar, and for that we apologies. We very much appreciate you shared your concerns, as it helps us to maintain high standards of quality, service and comfort for our guests. We can assure you that the necessary steps have been taken to make sure our pillow service can get back on track, and also Pina Colada made in authentic recipe. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better on your next visit. Sincerely, Mingka Li Director of Guest Experience Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Read more
chenris wrote a review Feb 2021
Vancouver, Canada20 contributions11 helpful votes
As a long time Platinum member of Le Club, I wish I won't have to use the word "garbage" to describe a Sofitel hotel, but they did everyone to deserve that rating on my stay. Can you imagine you had to wait for room to get ready at 6pm, got rude and impatient response from an assistant front office manager, and finally suffer a good poisoning before you check out at a Sofitel? Not only did they not rectified anything throughout my stay, brazen and shameless management team gave me the call and made some empty promises that the next stay would be better. NO there will be no next stay and I would urge every to stay away from this rubbish property. Hope the whole garbage management team gets fired ASAP. Detailed description as below: (1) Terrible food hygiene: I had suffered terrible food poisoning from the morning when I checked-out. I’ve had almost all meals at their resultants, as well as hors d’œuvre from the lounge. The only one meal I had at a restaurant not belonging to the hotel was well before I felt unwell (not possible to cause anything chronologically) and all diners had the same food and were all well. I’ve suffered severe diarrhea the morning when I checked out, and the night immediately prior to that, I went to the lounge to have hors d'œuvre (incl. Cheese, cakes etc.) which are very likely cause. I’d also like to add that we were provided dirty cutleries on a dirty desk (with the spilled over syrup/drinks from the previous guests) during the breakfast which is another reflection of the poor awareness of food hygiene by its restaurant staff. I reported the incident to the hotel over the phone and asked them to thoroughly investigate. The hotel insisted that it's unlikely from those plates. (2) Extremely rude and snobbish manager at the front desk: While this is not the case for everyone, this is true to the assist front office manager who bothered me so much when I checked in. I cannot think of worse attitude from a management staff working at an Accor hotel throughout history. When she learnt I made a complaint against her, her attitude took a 180-degree turn. To start with, I have encountered a very rude lady - the AFOM when I checked in my room at around 6PM. While most of the upscale international chain hotels make good efforts to ensure a smooth arrival experience, this is definitely not the case at Sofitel Guangzhou. Not only did the front desk staff not prepare anything for a smooth arrival, they told me that my room was still 'dirty' and I will need to wait longer despite that it was already 6PM. As I communicate my dissatisfaction regarding the situation to the lady who assisted me, Fann has shown up from the side and she asked in a sharp and sarcastic tone, 'what's his problem?' After Fann talked to the front desk staff, she then turned to me and told me in a very unfriendly facial expression 'Your room was ready, OK?'. I have to wonder why Fann was acting as if I was the person who said the room was not ready. Furthermore, this is probably the most impolite way of initiating a conversation with a guest - I have barely spoken with her before; why would she start a conversation in such an impatient way when the guests were told to wait in the room although it was 6PM? I was obviously not pleased by the dramatic response from her and asked if she could act more politely. I asked for the email address of the Front Office Manager. To my surprise, she acted like she was wildly shouting, 'That's who I am'. By that moment, I've lost any interest in having a further conversation with her. In a few minutes, she gave the room key to me but obviously didn't bother to point where the elevator is. While Oscar Li, the hotel's Director of Rooms, apologized for this incident at a later time, it doesn't really undo the horrible experience. I didn't expect a nasty attitude of rudeness, impatience, and snobbishness from a management level staff at a Sofitel hotel. (3) A mindset of “I don’t want to help the guests”: The executive lounge staff doesn’t bother to even say hello to us when we entered the lounge (for more than once) even as I greeted them. It’s as if strangers were passing by and they were just by-standers. Furthermore, I called the hotel in advance when I learnt I had an incoming parcel mailed to the room, the operator insisted that I should keep checking the status and only call back again when it arrives. This is clearly terrible when compared with the standard practices of most hotels I’ve stayed, where they would call me and ask if I wish the parcel to be placed in my room.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
ur_question.prompt.11
Service
userrating.prompt.190
Room Tip: Don't stay. Avoid coming to this hotel
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Sofitel Guangzhou, Revenue Management at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Responded Feb 19, 2021
Dear Chenris, Bonjour! Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. We are sorry you were disappointed in some of our services. Please be assured that these comments are taken seriously. We definitely looked into these experiences that you have noted and that the hotel management team has personally followed up with the appropriate team members, and also made the appropriate corrections to smoothen the operations since we getting your kind advice during your stay with us last December. We would be glad to further listen you more offline. Please contact our Front Office Manager once again who personally looked after your feedback and your feedback is of great value to us. Again, we apologise that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We look forward to hearing from you. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Mingka Li Director of Guest Experience Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$99 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sofitel guangzhou sunrich hotel guangzhou
LOCATION
ChinaGuangdongGuangzhouEast Railway Station / Tianhe District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
493
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing