We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ambassador Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

724 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 262: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I had another wonderful stay at the Ambassador. I just love it - the location, the friendly and competent staff, the buffet breakfast and the cleanliness of the rooms. Laundry service was speedy and good to have! Despite the snow and general slipperiness outside, winter is a good time to visit. Less people and the Ambassador is very close to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
Nicosia, Cyprus
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was our second visit to this particular hotel. Early check in request was met, nice clean room, kettle provided if you wish to have a cup of tea or coffee early in the morning or in the afternoon.Water is in the cooler in the corridor if you run out of bottled one. room is very reasonable size, choice of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sirenabay2016
Olga K, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest! What a kind and complimentary comment you’ve left about our hotel! Thank you for your detailed description of all points of our service. For a new comer it is a good guide what to expect from our hotel. If you were happy with us we invite you again to be our best Guest! With best regards, Olga Kazantseva...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at the Ambassador hotel for 5 nights as part of my trip to Russia. The hotel is very comfortable and very clean. The 2 bars that are available are airy, clean and staffed by good, a tentative people. Rooms are large and modern and the daily cleaning is excellent. Breakfast was really a good experience ranging from standard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
Olga K, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you for your comments about our hotel. Judging by your description your stay with us was quite a positive one. Thank you that you particularly distinguished cleanliness in the hotel and stuff. People always need a support, for them to understand whether they are doing right or wrong. Your kind words are a good bonus for them...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed December 9, 2016

The room was truly basic with old-fashioned decor. The room was a lot smaller than I expected, but it was clean so I couldn't really complain. Where the hotel really stood out was location, in that it's close to most attractions, and food. The hotel bar which serves food even late at night had surprisingly really good food, even with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashton_p521
Olga K, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you for your extremely complimenting value of our hotel. You’ve written so many kind words about the restaurant service that it obliges us to keep our standards high. As for the furniture is concerned you are wright it really needs changing. We have already started this work but it goes not so quick as it was expected...

Renkum, the Netherlands
Reviewed November 20, 2016

This hotel is situated in a quiet street, not too far from all kind of attractions. The rooms are okay, the breakfast middle of the road and the service fine. The restaurant in the glass cupola on top of the building is a nice extra with beautiful views over the city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Klaas S
Olga K, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your kind comments about rooms, breakfast and location. I believe these three positive moments are enough to come to us again! You are the most welcome! With best regards, Olga Kazantseva GR manager

Athens, Attiki, Greece
Reviewed November 13, 2016

A classic, clean, no thrills hotel in Saint Petersburg. Nice spacious, warm rooms with all the appropriate amenities. Big clean bathroom. The breakfast was grand and rich, served on the top floor of the hotel offering a magnificent view of the City. The srvice was typical Russian (average). I stayed in room 336.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Akarepis G
Olga K, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you for staying with us and for kind words about hotel. I can only sorry that you’ve described our service like an average one. However it gives us a proper signal to improve our stuff training. Hotel was open 10 years ago and taking into consideration that it is actively exploited we need some renovation. We have...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed November 3, 2016

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. You really don't get what you pay for. The rooms are so old fashioned with scratches in the wooden furniture everywhere. I didn't have breakfast included so cannot comment on it. But the worst thing about this hotel are the 'leisure facilities'. I've never heard of a hotel that boasts about it's pool...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ALs888
Olga K, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you for staying in our hotel though it was disappointing for you. You are right saying that some of our rooms need renovation. We have already started to do it but did not manage to make renovation on each floor for a new tourist season. We are planning to continue this work. Sorry that you did not...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights on recent trip. Hotel has very nice ambience and staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel lobby bar is very nice for coffee, tea and drinks and some of our party enjoyed the food here too. Otherwise there are two restaurants on top floor and we did try the a la carte one one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
Olga K, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you for choosing our hotel. We appreciate your kind words about stuff and ambience because hotel does a lot to create the atmosphere of friendliness and comfort for our guests. Your words prove that we are on the right way. A few words about bright lighting in the restaurant When we exercised with the light making it...

Reviewed October 13, 2016 via mobile

Hotel room is spacious and suited our purposes, although it would be nice if the heating could be turned down. A notice states that in winter the temperature and air conditioning cannot be reduced below 21C - not an ideal situation if you don't like the heat. The main problem is on the catering side. We were booked into the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roe B
Olga K, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you for your comment on our hotel. I dare write a few words to clarify some of your remarks. Room temperature: in the hotel we have a system of fan coil. Our engineering service trying to keep room temperature not less than 23 degrees. If room temperature is discomfortable it is always easy to correct it. I...

Reviewed October 5, 2016 via mobile

We've had a wonderful day at the Ambassador. Our friends married on top of the Helipad. That gave such a wonderful view over Saint Petersburg. The service was good just like the food. If you want to have a beer, take your time because that will take a while.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olaf K
Olga K, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you for kind words about hotel! Unfortunately your stay with us was a very short one but there is a good pretext to come to us for a longer period. Promise to take personal care about you. You are the most welcome! With best regards, Olga Kazantseva GR manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

578 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (218)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (79)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (348)
Viewed
Amenities (64)
Viewed
Demi Suite (30)
Viewed
Economy Room (29)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Standard Room (30)
Viewed
Studio (33)
Viewed
Suite (45)
Viewed
Superior Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#29 of 322 in St. Petersburg
712 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
#43 of 322 in St. Petersburg
1,209 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#5 of 322 in St. Petersburg
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Peterhof Hotel
#1 of 8 in Peterhof
349 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevsky
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevsky
#30 of 322 in St. Petersburg
1,000 reviews
Grand Hotel Emerald
#117 of 322 in St. Petersburg
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ambassador Hotel is located in the historic center of St. Petersburg, a 7-minute walk away from Sadovaya (Sennaya Ploschad’) Underground Station. St. Isaac and St. Nicholas Cathedral, the Mariinsky Theatre, and the Yusupov Gardens are all in the immediate vicinity of the hotel and you can visit them while you take a walk.There are 251 comfortable rooms at the hotel, including the rooms of the following categories: Economy, Standard, Superior, Studio, Demi-Suite, Suite, as well as the Rimsky-Korsakov and Presidential Apartments. Each room is equipped with air-conditioning, Internet access, a direct international and inter-city telephone line, interactive and satellite TV, a mini-bar and a safe.All rooms are decorated in tranquil pastel shades with comfortable furniture upholstered in elegant fabrics and luxurious curtains. Bath rooms are equipped with big mirrors and somewhere are decorated with mosaic. All the rooms have a beautiful view on the historic city center, cozy courtyard or Rimsky-Korsakov avenue.According modern standards, the hotel has comfortable rooms equipped for physically handicapped guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: Rimskogo-Korsakova Ave., 5/7, St. Petersburg 190068, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Price Range: $46 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel St Petersburg
Ambassador St Petersburg
Ambassador Petersburg
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#34 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#36 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#46 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#65 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Istanbul, Turkey
Waterloo, Canada
Landrum, South Carolina
over a year ago
Indiana
3 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Quieter rooms overlook the central area, those on higher floors have better views.”
 of 5 bubbles AndrewG710, Oct 1, 2016 | Read review
“Upper floors at the rear”
 of 5 bubbles Monteleone10, Sep 23, 2016 | Read review
“Best views are from rooms facing north”
 of 5 bubbles DeanMurphy2020, Sep 5, 2016 | Read review
“Our air condition did not work,we open a window and got mosquitoes!!!”
 of 5 bubbles ViajeraBerkshire, Jul 13, 2016 | Read review
“I am sure they don't have bad rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Malco123, Jul 6, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay