We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Capital Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Capital Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 6: English reviews
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015 via mobile

I specified I wanted a window when I booked, but did not have any when I arrived and there was no way to change it. The staff was kind of OK, but the female owner was more than cold and worst was her extremely arrogant French husband who dared to make some rather disagreeable and provocative politic comments out of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sacha M
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Located quite conveniently near Tetrakovskaya Station, in walking distance of Red Square and many other sights. Fine facilities. HOWEVER, all the reception staff (we met three) were rude and off putting, with none of the understanding and chirpy attitude usually found in hostels. They were very inflexible when they found out we made a booking error online, making us pay... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank polarbowler
innabuge, Manager at Capital Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! I'm really sorry you had an unpleasant stay. The regulations you faced were due to the fact that we are a small hostel and can not afford to have too many clients on the spot when they are not supposed to have checked in yet (for the comfort of other clients, especially in summer). When it comes to the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Moscow hotels

Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The place is a little hard to find at once but once you found it, it is very easy to remember. The location is fantastic. not only is it very central but the area has many bars and restaurant and is pretty lively. 2 metro lines and amazingly close as well. The price is definitely great for Moscow. I stayed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LoumaB
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Do never stay at this hostel! You will have to share the bathroom with a big amount of strange people, everything is very dirty, people at the reception are quite arrogant and the room doesnt even have a single window! I would have change my room at the same moment I arrived there! I asked for a towel and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank ivantxu09
innabuge, Manager at Capital Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your comment! Our site, just like Booking.com or other channels perfectly indicates that we have all types of rooms, private as well as dormitories. As in any Hostel (and not Hotel), you share your space with other guests only if you choose to do so. However, it is always good to receive any comments in order... More 

Italy
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Starting from the positive aspect of this accommodation: it's in a very good location and well signposted. When I checked in, I specified to the female owner about the possibility of staying only one night. She showed me the hostel, she sounded ok, but she was not able to give me proper information about Moscow (easy questions about public transport... More 

Helpful?
Thank inabigcountry
innabuge, Manager at Capital Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you fro your comments. I'm sorry to hear that your stay ended up on this unpleasant incident. It was necessary last summer as we are a small business and can not afford to keep the luggage of everyone. However, we made some space and changed the regulation so you can of course drop your luggage before the time... More 

Riyadh
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

As they advertise in their website, it is more like a guesthouse than a hostel. The hostel is not crowded like typical hostel, so it is good for you who need a good rest after wandering Moscow. The location is excellent, only 2 minutes walk to metro station. You can take the metro to the red square, or just walk... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Seveight
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Zamoskvorechye
No photo provided
108 Minutes Hostel
#61 of 1,288 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Zamoskvorechye
3 Penguins Hostel on Pyatnitskaya
Zamoskvorechye
Art House Hostel on Polyanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fasol Hostel
#1 of 1,288 in Moscow
5.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Arbat
DA! Hostel
DA! Hostel
#20 of 1,288 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Presnensky
Crowne Plaza Moscow World Trade Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Zamoskvorechye

Neighborhood Profile
Zamoskvorechye
It wouldn’t be a mistake to call Pyatnitskaya street the main axis of this neighborhood – turn one direction and you’ll find the Tretyakov Gallery in Lavrushinsky Lane, turn another – a hip Scandinavian restaurant. Old churches now embrace contemporary life with style and grace. Going to Zamoskvorechye is like visiting during the times when it was a medieval Russian quarter, but with a modern twist of 20th century buildings pushing themselves into the 21st century with new businesses opening weekly. Stroll down Pyatnitskaya to taste dozens of global cuisines – from Ukrainian and Georgian to Thai and American.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Extremely well located, only 10 minutes on foot from Red Square, the Kremlin and all major points of interest (including the famous Tretyakov Gallery), our hostel offers a light, clean, homelike and peaceful atmosphere. Close to all public transportation, 30 seconds away from a convenient metro station, the hostel will also offer you the possibility to get a quick access to the best price cafeterias with traditional Russian food, fast food, sushi bars, and regular bars located in the neighborhood. ATM's, Exchange banks, Post office, Pharmacies are to be found easily in this part of the city which mixes nightlife and the traditional outlook of the old Moscow.Charm of the old Moscow and modernity of a international accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Capital Hostel

Address: Malaya Ordynka St., 5/6, bld. 2-3, Moscow 119017, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Zamoskvorechye
Price Range: $26 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Capital Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay