We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel Balvanyos (Balvanyos Resort)

Save
Share
Targu Secuiesc-Bixad, Km 23 DN 11C Dn 11C, Balvanyos 527160 Romania
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (271)
Dining (70)
Room & Suite (57)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Grand Hotel Balvanyos enjoys a tranquil location surrounded by forests, between Băile Tuşnad and Târgu Secuiesc, less than 6.2 mi from the Saint Ana Lake. Free spa access is offered. All rooms are furnished in an elegant, modern style and offer panoramic views of the Cioma Mountain. Each of the spacious rooms at Grand Hotel Balvanyos comes with a mini-bar, air conditioning, a flat-screen TV and free wired internet access. Free WiFi is available in the public areas. Nestled among natural springs and secular fir trees, the hotel's Grand Santerra Spa stretches on over 2,000 square yards and features 7 swimming pools, 3 saunas, a steam bath and a salt room. The modern fitness room is the starting and ending point of a 1.1 mi running track. Massages and therapies can be arranged at an extra fee and guests can enjoy healthy snacks at the Spa Café. Within the resort we have 3 restaurants, the main restaurant - classic, traditional Gastrolab and our new fine dining restaurant Fork.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Tennis court
Babysitting
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Billiards
Walking tours
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Open-air bath
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Hungarian
187Reviews4Q+A39Room tips

Reviews

Write a review and earn 100 points
Traveler rating
  • 65
  • 65
  • 26
  • 17
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Cristina H wrote a review Yesterday
London, United Kingdom14 contributions4 helpful votes
This is a beautiful hotel with nice, comfortable rooms, a beautiful view and gorgeous surroundings. Unlike many other Romanian hotels, they actually made an effort with the grounds around the hotel - there are flowers, benches, some nice wood pieces and it’s generally tidy and well looked after. Unfortunately, it’s let down by: 1 The average restaurant and poor service. Despite there being several restaurants advertised on the website, only one is open. It’s a nice looking restaurant, but the service is terrible. We waited two hours for lunch and two for dinner, so that was most of our day gone on waiting. The waiter was bored and rude. Food was ok, but very small portions that we weren’t informed about, so we ended up hungry. Breakfast was an even worse experience. There was no menu, we weren’t told what food was available, the waiter just brought some cold cuts and sausages when we said we were vegetarian and he should’ve asked, because we would have told him not to waste the meat, he was very rude and said that’s the breakfast and we have no say in the matter. The ‘juice’ was so diluted with water it tasted like they washed the bottle of juice and poured that in the glass. This was the case for ALL the juice, orange, cherry, etc. When we complained about it the waiter said this is what’s included in the ‘free’ breakfast (that we onviously paid for, because it’s included in the price of the room) and if we wanted proper juice we had to pay for it!!! Do yourself a favour and drive down to the restaurants 3km away, or just don’t come here. 2. The spa looks good, but like other reviewers have said, this isn’t a ‘spa’ in the traditional sense- a place where you come to relax. It’s full of screaming children, people doing business on their mobile phone or arguing with their mother-in-law. 3. They’re keeping huge St Bernard dogs locked up in cages in the parking lot. I should have put that first. They’re unbelievably dirty, with matted hair and tuffs and don’t seem looked after. When I asked at reception I was told it’s so they bark when the bears get near, but the bears only come out at night, and they’re caged all day too. She said they’re taken out ‘about’ three times a day, but she wasn’t sure, and didn’t try to reassure us at all about their welfare. 3. This is a small thing, but they have a big parking behind the hotel, which wasn’t even half full, yet allow people to park on the pavement in front, so you have to walk in the street.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Adrian M wrote a review Mar 2020
5 contributions1 helpful vote
I booked this retreat because Balvanyos Resort promised everything I was looking for: a large room with view, access to spa, good restaurants. My review will take in account the main aspects of our experience at this place as follows: Room: Large room, superb view over the surroundings (we took great pictures), balcony, large TV (but very limited number of channels). Very clean, comfortable beds, large shower cabin, really nice room. 5 stars for the room. Spa: As advertised, I expected 7 pools, and there were 7 indeed, if you count two ankle depth 50cm/120cm pools for paddling, and another one of 30 cm depth for toddlers. Otherwise, there are absolutely lovely pools, Jacuzzi, indoor and outdoor, hot or colder water, really nice to relax. There are also a number of saunas, different levels of humidity and temperature. One nicer than other. Except a couple of cobwebs by the corners on ceiling, the spa is really clean and the views are superb. I'd rate the spa at 4 stars. Restaurant and breakfast: I have to say that Balvanyos Resort offers you a heaven of breakfast. Great selection for all tastes and preferences. Lunch and dinner also really tasty and nicely presented. Really, the both restaurants are at the highest standards. 5 stars truly deserved. Staff: Staff is very friendly, helpful, they make the place even more desirable. 5 stars for your service, guys. Accessibility: Good access from the hotel to the spa, you have access to the pools, saunas, restaurants without getting out in the cold. The most beautiful time at the spa is after dark. Light in the water and around the pools... the steam coming out of the outdoor pool, and the green light in the water... really really beautiful. However... we were not allowed to use the spa after 7 pm simply because children under 14 can't be there after 7. And our son is 8. We had to take a look, admire it, but don't touch it. Truly frustrating, giving us the feeling that we don't receive what we paid for. Add this to the fact that if you're not there early enough, you might find no loungers available. 3 stars for accessibility. Price: Balvanyos Resort is competing with the western prices. About 130 Euro a night is very expensive for Romania, a bit cheaper than places in countries like France, Spain, Italy, even though access to spa is included (well... before 7 pm if you have a child under 14). There are other services available, such as massage, cosmetics, etc. Honestly, I doubt anyone access them, as the price is way higher than in western countries. We purchased a half-board room. The room was credited with a certain amount of money which we could use anywhere inside the resort. However... anything you want to buy, they will charge you 10% extra as "service charge". Basically you are forced to give tip 10% the bill. Guys, the tip must be optional, and I understand to offer tip in the restaurant, where we've been nicely and promptly served, but if I bought an ice-cream (which I had to pick it from the freezer myself), why should I be charged 10% only because someone handed me a receipt? Practically the credit allocated for food is in reality 10% less. Not fair at all. 1 star for the price. Overall rating (average of what I rated so far) then is under 4 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Tr1pper wrote a review Mar 2020
Ilfov County, Romania92 contributions33 helpful votes
It is a very beautiful location, in the middle of the wild nature. The hotel is (still) one of the best in Romania, but for the required price the quality has dropped a lot since the last visit, three years ago. The reception staff is unfriendly (you are non-existent when you are passing through the reception area or they didn't learn to smile at all), unlike the restuarant or cleaning staff, who are much more friendly and helpfull. It is also a pity that they accepts vouchers tourism. Due to the vouchers there are more and more non-civilized tourists who have access to this hotel. Although I really regret the place, given the high price and the last experience with the 'fauna' of SPA, we will probably wait for the vouchers to be eliminated in order to return here. Until then, at the same price or even less, we prefer to go to another place or country, maybe not as beautiful, but where tourists are more civilized and the staff much more friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Daniel S wrote a review Mar 2020
Alicante, Spain14 contributions3 helpful votes
On the 23rd I have decided to make a nice present to one of my friends for his birthday and I booked a night in this hotel so he can go with his wife, have a romantic dinner and go to the spa. He arrived at the hotel he checked-in with his wife and they were taken to a room with a Queen bed. The next day when they check out there were asked to pay an additional 244.13lei, for a so called upgrade. Imagine how surprised my friend was since this was a present from me . Since he didn’t know exactly the details of the reservation( I made the reservation for him, it was a present) and because he didn’t wanted to spoil everything he agreed to pay. He met me the next evening when I asked him how was everything and he said: “Thank you for your present, we had a good time, but why didn’t you tell me I have to pay for it” I was soo embarrassed. He was explained that in the reservation we have requested a Queen bed and the room category I have booked doesn’t have a queen bed.The room I booked and paid for is: STANDARD DOUBLE ROOM ,QUEEN BED, MOUNTAIN VIEW, MOUNTAIN SIDE. When I spoke on the phone with hotel it turned out that they didn’t have this type of room available even though this is what we have booked and paid for and my friend was taken to a different category of room. When you book on Expedia a room that is advertised as double room Queen Bed, Expedia automatically adds on under Requests: Queen bed. Under this pretext the hotel offered my friend a room with a Queen bed they had available, considered it a special request and they charged him extra .How was I supposed to book a room for my friend with a twin bed?! He was going with his wife! The hotel ruined my present. On top of everything I have called the hotel to understand what happened and they admitted their mistake. They asked me to send them an e-mail and to give them a bank account so they can return the money paid extra by my friend.I send the the e-mail with the info they requested , I also asked them to confirm if they received the e-mail. I sent the email on the 26th of February and I haven’t heard from them, since. I sent them another e-mail on the 5th of March. Still nothing. No confirmation of my email, no money sent to my friend. Instead of being a nice present to my friend it turned out to be a time consuming endeavor of writing emails to the hotel. Very bad idea to book a hotel room in this hotel as a present to my friend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
1506Andrei_T wrote a review Feb 2020
247 contributions41 helpful votes
My first encounter with Balvanyos resort was not so good: I arrived with my girlfriend at about 14:30 hours and, even if I made my reservation weeks ago and paid an advance, I was told to wait for about 45 minutes cause my room was "not ready"...😡 We waited... and after we got in the room, another "surprise": not even a bottle of water from the hotel, apart from the minibar, which evidently costs!!! Telephone didn't work, so I gat down to reception and asked how is this possible in a four star hotel?!? Answer: "we never gave anything outside the minibar"!!!🤬 In the evening we went to Forest restaurant to eat... at finish, we were surprised again: tip (10% of the bill) was already ON the bill!! How can you force me to pay a tip (and it's like this in all hotel and spa) as long as I don't want to? In Romania this is not a law! You give tip if you consider that the meal was great or the waiter deserve!! The Grand Santera Spa is the only place where we enjoyed staying, but here also you can be "surprised": if you come in the afternoon, you may have to stand or just walk from pool to sauna and back, because lack of sunbeds... So... I am definitely not going back there.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Bálint-Bálint L, Vezető at Grand Hotel Balvanyos (Balvanyos Resort)
Responded Feb 14, 2020
Dear Andrei, Thank you for your relevant review and for your appreciation of the facilities at the Grand Santerra Spa wellness center. At the same time, you scored points that require adjustments from us. On all booking platforms it is mentioned that check-in is done after 4 pm on the day of arrival, according to your review this was honored. We consider this to be a misunderstanding regarding the water bottle in the room, this is provided free of charge for the coffee maker or for consumption, as mentioned on the label, but the products in the minibar are for a fee, according to the price list. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence, because we want you to stay with beautiful memories and to return to us as a guest. Respectfully,
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$107 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
RomaniaTransylvaniaCentral RomaniaCovasna CountyBalvanyos
NUMBER OF ROOMS
102
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Hotel Balvanyos (Balvanyos Resort)
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Hotel Balvanyos (Balvanyos Resort)?
Nearby attractions include Saint Anna Lake (4.4 miles), Mohos Peat-Bog (4.4 miles), and MEZO (4.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Hotel Balvanyos (Balvanyos Resort)?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Hotel Balvanyos (Balvanyos Resort)?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Hotel Balvanyos (Balvanyos Resort)?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Hotel Balvanyos (Balvanyos Resort)?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Hotel Balvanyos (Balvanyos Resort)?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hanul Secuiesc, Fork, and Gastrolab.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Hotel Balvanyos (Balvanyos Resort)?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Grand Hotel Balvanyos (Balvanyos Resort) have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Grand Hotel Balvanyos (Balvanyos Resort) offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Grand Hotel Balvanyos (Balvanyos Resort) located near the city center?
Yes, it is 1.0 miles away from the center of Balvanyos.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Hotel Balvanyos (Balvanyos Resort)?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Grand Hotel Balvanyos (Balvanyos Resort) offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.