We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
rue de Boucan Canot, Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains 97434 Reunion Island
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
2 people are viewing this hotel
View deal
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/23/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
View deal
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (793)
Room & Suite (178)
Pool & Beach (95)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#3 of 22 hotels in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Travelers' Choice
The Boucan Canot combines the authenticity of a 'Creole' residence with a modern comfort, a beautiful charming hotel where intimacy and discrete luxury hold the first roles. Today, four major assets characterize the hotel: an ideal situation, a typically local decoration, a top-of-the-range service and a refined gastronomy. A luxury resort on the beach, offering a unique panoramic sight on the ocean. A preserved natural site combined with a typically local architecture. A greenery treasure, anchored on a basalt spur, beat by the softness of the trade winds.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French
787Reviews6Q+A19Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 406
  • 257
  • 71
  • 44
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
chitza wrote a review Nov 2021
Brussels, Belgium212 contributions94 helpful votes
We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. Earlier, we stayed in another 4 star hotel south of the island. It is by comparing with the other 4 star hotel that i'm writing this review. In other locations, we 've stayed several times in 4 star hotels, the level at Réunion seems to be lower overall. This particular hotel I'd rate it a 3 star as I experienced it now. Anyway, this hotel let us down especially with the breakfast We couldnt get a decent coffee for breakfast (this is a coffee that is not nescafé), we asked a couple of times but the staff didnt seem to understand our request. Odd, because only 5 meters away, at the bar, one can get a very good "normal" coffee or latte for purchase. Breakfast is basic although the omelets, made to order, are very good! The dinner selection for half board was not always up to our taste, but there was flexibility from the staff in choosing from the normal menu, whether or not with a extra to pay. We would personally not opt again for half board, because a few days we couldnt eat 3 courses and could instead have eaten a simpler meal nearby. But if you like to fine dine "french cuisine" every day, half board would be your thing. Drinks are relatively expensive here, again comparing to the other hotel. Other than that, a general touch-up or cleaning would be nice. Especially in these times, I would have preferred that for example outside tables would be cleaned more often and thorough. The hotel is very nicely located, and this is what I liked most: the guarded swimming area and the natural pool. The swimming pool is shallow, does not really allow for a sportive swim. We made the best of the location close to the beach, but as said, we had better here at Réunion.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Response from Hôtel Boucan Canot, Marketing at Hotel Boucan Canot
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello, we would thank you for your comment and will pass it on to the teams concerned in order to make the necessary corrections.
Read more
nad wrote a review Nov 2021
Saint-Denis, Reunion Island1 contribution
The hotel staff lost our car key in someone else’s car. We had to wait to get the key back for 7 hours in the common parts of the hotel because they didn’t allow us to keep the room after 11am. Their security system is really not worth 4 stars hotel standards. Very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from Hôtel Boucan Canot, Marketing at Hotel Boucan Canot
Responded Nov 13, 2021
We once again apologize for the problem with your car key. We fully recognize the failure of our services on this subject. We could not offer to keep the room because we were full, otherwise we would have gladly done so. However, we have offered you several solutions: - using the car of our Managing Director to get around (while waiting for the key to return) OR - the reservation of a taxi to be able to return home to Ste-Clotilde and we would then have brought the car back to you as soon as the key was collected OR - wait at the hotel until the key is returned, offering you lunch at the restaurant (starter + main course + dessert + wine + coffee for 2 people) + access to the swimming pool + use of the courtesy room at the end of the day - OPTION YOU CHOSEN. We therefore made a commercial gesture of more than 100 €uros. You have certainly spent a day "waiting" but enjoying the facilities of a 4-star hotel right on the water free of charge. We understand that you were disappointed, but it would have been more honest to tell us your opinion during our many face-to-face meetings rather than to do so behind your screen. Regards
Read more
enricodar wrote a review Mar 2020
Rome14 contributions10 helpful votes
I've bene there prior to join a cruise ship for work. The hotel is very nice, eccellent location. The room is spacious with a beautiful veranda. Breakfast and the other meals are good. Staff is kind, smiling and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Sleep Quality
Response from Hôtel Boucan Canot, Marketing at Hotel Boucan Canot
Responded Jul 9, 2020
Dear customer, Thank you very much for your kind review, It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us, Best regards
Read more
Roger C wrote a review Jan 2020
Cape Town Central, South Africa160 contributions82 helpful votes
We had a" suite with sea view". It was fantastic. In fact we were sad to leave so fantastic was our stay. Definitly worth the extra for the suite. The location is great, right next to the rock pool and netted area of the beach. If the hotel is full be prepared to park a few 100 meters away if you arrive late as the spaces are limited. We didnt try the restaurant as there are many restaurants at the beach. Great Hotel, Great staff.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Room Tip: get the sea view, the lagoon view is also ok.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from boucancanot, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Boucan Canot
Responded Feb 24, 2020
Dear Roger, Thank you very much for your comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We will share your compliments with our staff. We would be happy to welcome you again for a next stay. Kind regards
Read more
Rashmi wrote a review Jan 2020
7 contributions1 helpful vote
Beautiful spot right on the beach, amazing sunset views from the restaurant terrace and room balconies, professional staff, creative and high quality poolside bar and restaurant, and ample car parking so we could access other west coast beaches and activities.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from boucancanot, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Boucan Canot
Responded Jan 24, 2020
Dear customer, Thank you very much for your kind review, It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us, Best regards,
Read more
$150 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
boucan canot hotel
Reunion IslandArrondissement of Saint-PaulSaint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Boucan Canot
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Boucan Canot?
Nearby attractions include youpideal.re (0.2 miles), Réunion Bike Aventure (0.2 miles), and Descente VTT (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Boucan Canot?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Boucan Canot?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Boucan Canot?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Boucan Canot?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Boucan Canot?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le D.C.P., Restaurant Le P'tit Bleu, and Marie B. Glacier.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Boucan Canot?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hotel Boucan Canot have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Boucan Canot offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Boucan Canot located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.03 miles away from the center of Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Boucan Canot?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Boucan Canot offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, a banquet room, and conference facilities.