We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Relais de l\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

703 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 39: English reviews
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2016

This hotel/resort has the lot and if you want to see the rest of the beautiful Reunion give Freddy A votre service a ring, professional driver and knows all the sights all around the island. We have spent a very happy and enjoyable day with seeing this lovely island, volcano and all.

Helpful?
Thank hillyjohn
Sophie D, Directeur général at Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles, responded to this review

Thanks for your comment. We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay in Réunion Island. Looking forward to see you again, Regards More 

Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

So, we had a one week stay in July 2016, couple plus four kids 7-12. The downsides were that the bedrooms really do need sprucing up (though hardly as bad as a couple of the rather hysterical reviews I've read). Also the food is very good but expensive, particularly the drinks. On the upside, its location next to the lagoon... More 

Helpful?
Thank jimbodog69
Sophie D, Directeur général at Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles, responded to this review

Good afternoon, We thank you for taking time to send your comments about your stay in our hotel. We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay and our Island. Looking forward to accomodate you and your family for another holiday, Best Regards. More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2016 via mobile

No wifi in the rooms as advertised , the corridors are absolutely disgusting ! The room is not clean and the sheets are rough.I will not recommend this hotel to anyone .The shower head in my room was broken .It is not a 3 stars hotel , i would say a 1 star....barely!The breakfast is nothing to write home about....please... More 

Helpful?
Thank Masgergu
Sophie D, Directeur général at Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay and we apologize for that. regards More 

Travelers are raving about these Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains hotels

Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

We had a great time in this hotel, snorkeling in the crystal waters in front of its beach and straggling around looking for some good eatery in the night. The hotel staff was thoughtful and the room nice and clean.

Helpful?
Thank Pietro D
Sophie D, Directeur général at Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles, responded to this review

Thank you for having taken time to announce us your comments. We are delighted that your stay pleased you. Very cordially More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015

There are three striking features of Reunion: (1) The breathtaking mountains of the island with extraordinary hiking facilities offering the possibility to pass from a tropical beach, to alpine settings and deserts only within several hours. (2) Sadly, the coast shows the worst what French architecture and landscaping has to offer: The former stunning landscape was transformed into an enormous... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kristin D
Sophie D, Directeur général at Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles, responded to this review

We are saddened that the Reunion Island did not please you. It is rare that our customers do not keep a good memory of this intense island and his(her) inhabitants. Regards More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015

The hotel used to be a Novotel. Is a great peaceful, close to to lake and ocean. The location for myself and teenage daughter to spend a few days before heading on to Paris. Its good for sports. The hotel is a great beach side retreat. Walk out of the gates to lots of shops cafes and a market. Much... More 

Helpful?
Thank ClareLouiseSydney
Sophie D, Directeur général at Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to write about your experience in our hotel. We hope to see your soon, in Reunion Island, Regards More 

New York, NY
Level Contributor
175 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the former Novotel for 2 nights and had a nice experience. The hotel can be reached by express bus z éclair for €5 directly for the airport. The bus stop (Filaos-St-Gilles) is 300 m from the hotel. The checkin was very friendly (I speak French) but Jeremy, who offered us a welcome drink, was very eager to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TomSonntag
Sophie D, Directeur général at Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles, responded to this review

Hello, we thank you for having taken time to write some information about the hotel and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. The team of the Relay of Hermitage will be glad to host you for a next stay, Regards More 

Gauteng
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights as a 'side trip' from mauritius. Reunion is a very interesting place to visit and this hotel is quite convenient. Rooms are nice and clean. Pools are a bit too hot, but fine. Good free wifi and okay breakfast. Staff speak adequate English. Many restaurants and shops within short walking distance and no need... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank cecilia2
Sophie D, Directeur général at Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles, responded to this review

Thanks for your message. I'm glad to read your enjoyed your stay in Reunion Island and the hotel as well. Regards More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

Really nice sea view. The place is clean and comfortable. But the service is really low. We always needed to call their attention more than once to be served. Lots of room and people, that means noise, children = hard to be quiet. Anyway very pleasant holidays and the sea is amazing!

Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline C
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
486 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This hotel is what it says it is at the main entrance - a 3 star hotel. It may well be in need of a renovation like most of the other reviews say but if you are looking for a simple and informal or family trip hotel, this hotel is fine but it is not, on first impressions, a business... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank roryjdoyle
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

192 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (182)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains hotels
0.9 mi away
LUX* Saint Gilles
LUX* Saint Gilles
#1 of 20 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
4.5 of 5 stars 2,099 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Recif
Hotel Le Recif
#2 of 20 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
4.0 of 5 stars 1,072 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Creoles
Hotel Les Creoles
#3 of 20 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Kerveguen
Le Kerveguen
#9 of 20 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alamanda Hotel
Alamanda Hotel
#11 of 20 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
3.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
2.6 mi away
Residence l'Archipel
Residence l'Archipel
#7 of 20 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the west coast at one of the most beautiful swimming spots on Reunion Island, just 2 km from the centre of town, the Relais de l'Hermitage Saint Gilles La Reunion features 173 airconditioned rooms, two swimming pools, a childrens pool, a jacuzzi, 2 tennis courts, 2 restaurants, a bar and two private car parks. Enjoying direct access to Hermitage Beach, the hotel is ideal for a family holiday fully enjoying the magic of Reunion Island. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles

Address: 123 Boulevard Leconte Delisle, Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains 97434, Reunion Island (Formerly Novotel Saint-Gilles La Reunion)
Location: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Paul > Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Price Range: $122 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Saint-Gilles La Reunion Hotel Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Novotel Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains Novotel
Relais De L'Hermitage Saint-Gilles Reunion Island/Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay