We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Durban

Show Prices
#15 of 80 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Expert photos
Hotel Durban
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

317 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 290: English reviews
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Reviewing this hotel while the experience is still fresh in my mind. PROS: - Check-in was a breeze - Staff are very friendly and eager to help - Room is clean. - in-house resto/bar Farfalla looks inviting. Their mojito is really good. CONS: - You can hear every thing outside the door (ex. Footsteps, man sneezing) and even something crawling... More 

Helpful?
Thank superkikay
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

As I was told management will now require payment upon reservation. I had been going there for years finding it while walking around. Always made reservation over email. Paid upon arrival. No more.Disappointed

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rod n
hoteldurban, Hotel Manager at Hotel Durban, responded to this review

Dear Rod n, Thank you for taking time writing your valuable comment. It is unfortunate that our hotel's policy disappoints you. More than 40% of the daily bookings used to be no-show without having a chance to resell the room. Now with our new policy which exists in most of the hotels nowadays, we guarantee that only the guests who... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

On a quiet little side street, this sparkling clean little gem of a hotel has everything I need in the city. From the excellent cotton bedding to the delicious food in the restaurant, it is all there.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Room was very clean. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Only some construction going on (just during the day so we weren't there for the noise). Has most accommodations but no toothbrush. Centrally located but be careful at night as there are a lot of strip clubs nearby. However, great rooms, friendly staff, clean and safe :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sara815ca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good value for money, it's the third time that I have stayed here, the current construction that is going on is a little bit annoying, but obviously there is currently a slight discount as a result. Hopefully once the construction is completed the prices will remain competitive. The staff are always very polite and helpful, and the food in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Shane J
sigulda
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very helpfull staf.Good italian restaurant with best brekafas of my Phillipines stay.Special thanks for receptinost-she is very helpfull anda correct my mistake with booking.Taxi service for a reasonable price.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank valdemars
Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I enjoyed the friendly and prompt service, the cleanliness of the rooms and the price was reasonable. The staff watched over my bags while I went out to eat, even if I had already checked out, and then helped me secure a ride to my next appointment.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank janjan_perez
hoteldurban, Hotel Manager at Hotel Durban, responded to this review

Dear Janjan_Perez, Thank you for taking time reviewing our hotel. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with with us. It is our pleasure to give our guests the cleanest rooms, the friendliest service, and the safest environment, at the best value. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best regards, Walid El... More 

Iloilo Province, Philippines
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pros: excellent location in Makati Ave., spotless clean room, comfy linens, helpful staff, good authentic Italian restaurant Cons: Check-in took too long, small lobby, petite (~ 10 sqm) room, pricey (but good) food, basic toiletries

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Josette G
hoteldurban, Hotel Manager at Hotel Durban, responded to this review

Dear Josette G, Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities. Our small lobby is indeed a set back, considering that there is a space for 1 receptionist at a time. However, it is part of our long-term plan to expand the lobby and relocate the reception... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One of the best hotels in makati..best value for money.best location bang on middle of all the action .the front desk team is very helpful specially allan..( best reception guy in makati) Very good clean rooms .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank antanitoc
hoteldurban, Hotel Manager at Hotel Durban, responded to this review

Dear Antanitoc, Thank you for taking time reviewing our hotel. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and especially the service of Allan. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Makati. Best regards, Walid El Zyr Hotel Manager Hotel Durban More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Awesome! Affordable, Comfy and Spacious! easy-access to the main roads too. Recommended! I preferred a room with windows, but the room provided doesn't have one... But despite of... everything's perfect!

Helpful?
1 Thank Arjay B
hoteldurban, Hotel Manager at Hotel Durban, responded to this review

Dear Arajay B. Thank you for taking time reviewing our hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Most of our rooms have no window, due to the structure of the hotel. Never the less, the cleanliness, the friendliness of our team, and the safety of our hotel, combined with the value we offer, and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

288 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (81)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (172)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (31)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (40)
Viewed
Pullman Room (30)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.3 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#22 of 80 in Makati
285 reviews
1.1 mi away
Guijo Suites Makati
Guijo Suites Makati
#16 of 80 in Makati
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Planet Makati, Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
City Garden Grand Hotel
#10 of 80 in Makati
576 reviews
1.9 mi away
AurumOne Makati
AurumOne Makati
#21 of 80 in Makati
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
City Garden Hotel Makati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Founded in 1975 on the principle that comfort and elegance need not be expensive, Hotel Durban is a small oasis tucked into the heart of Makati. With a refined but relaxed ambiance found in elegant and modern Filipino homes, many of our rooms overlook a quiet, garden courtyard. The hotel is furnished with antiques from the owner's collection, as well as pieces of her own design. Our rooms adhere to exacting standards of cleanliness and have many of the amenities expected of a modern hotel, including air-conditioning; flat- screen, cable TV, and complimentary, wireless broadband. Our café serves a choice selection of hot and cold beverages, breakfast, lunch, and dinner. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Durban

Address: 4875 Durban Street, Makati, Luzon, Philippines (Formerly Durban Street Inn)
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Price Range: $27 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Durban 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durban Street Hotel
Hotel Durban Makati, Metro Manila
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Makati
#6 Business Hotel in Makati
#8 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#8 Family Hotel in Makati
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Durban staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Durban staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Renovations now. 1st floor. Lift being constructed but long walk up if no elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles rodn361, 2 days ago | Read review
“Lux double.”
 of 5 bubbles valdemars, 1 week ago | Read review
“Deluxe room”
 of 5 bubbles antanitoc, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Get a room on the lower floors, this hotel doesn't have an elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles lara_jalapeno, Oct 30, 2016 | Read review
“no elevator so get rooms on the lower floors if you dislike stairs”
 of 5 bubbles Golly93, Oct 21, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay