We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Sleepy Hollow Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sleepy Hollow Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 36: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and I travel a lot and have learned it's best to have low expectations but this place was beyond low. PaID for 3 nights, $168 a night & in room 10 minutes had to leave. Erie would not refund

Helpful?
Thank Marypat P
Ernest K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleepy Hollow Motel, responded to this review

Dear Mary Pat, Every once in a while an establishment gets these types of slanted reviews which are misguided in nature and based on a personal agenda, as in fact you were "given your refund" for all residual unused day's, and it was not due to any problem's with the room, as the many guests before, and since your departure... More 

Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I booked for a Sat night online for close to $160. The motel was by a road and in the middle of nowhere. The owner was nice and the room had really minimum amenities. I gave it a two stars as I don't think the price was reasonable for a motel like that.

Helpful?
Thank Pat2012NJ
Ernest K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleepy Hollow Motel, responded to this review

Dear Pat NJ, Thank you for your thoughtful review. Although we are 3 minute's to Auburn and 4 minute's to Skaneateles, neither place would be considered nowhere by most savvy traveler estimation's. Being situated in our peaceful bucolic location as we are, is of course a matter of personal preferences'. Our amenities are comparable if not better than most establishments,... More 

Pontiac, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a very well kept motel off of Route 20. The rooms and linens are exceptionsally clean. The owners have kept to the nostalgia of a 50's style "Mom & Pop" motel right down to keeping the light on for late arrivals and helping them round up a place to eat late on a Sunday night. It's the kind... More 

Helpful?
Thank Irene S
Ernest K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleepy Hollow Motel, responded to this review

Dear Irene and Oscar, thank you for your recent stay and kind appraisals. Your attention to bedding details highlights our individually unique and green approach using earth friendly in house proprietary methods, fresh air and sunshine. Our business long predates the many convenient technological advances that now assist the traveling public, but rest assured, if your GPS ever fails you... More 

Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Sleepy Hollow Motel has been around ever since I can remember: I grew up in Auburn. Staying there is not a contrived "retro" experience; it's the way things were. Our room was clean and comfortable; the flat-screen TV was a pleasant surprise. The proprietors were courteous and helpful. The location was ideally located near the venue of my high... More 

Helpful?
Thank 61hope65
Ernest K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleepy Hollow Motel, responded to this review

Dear Hope, Thank you for your recent stay with us and sharing your experience's now and then ! We have indeed come along way from Hi-Fi to Wi-Fi, but some things are still better enjoyed simply as they were. And so Boomer's now as then, still desire the traditional convenience of room front parking, personalized service, but also with the... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
322 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

This motel looks right out of the 1950's! Very cute, with pull up to the door parking spaces and old fashioned office in the centre. Rooms had comfortable mattresses and I slept very well. Slight mildew odor as might be expected from an old motel, but immaculately clean. Bathroom needs some updating and something besides a bar of soap should... More 

Helpful?
Thank JohnTheBear
Ernest K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleepy Hollow Motel, responded to this review

Greetings John and thank you for your recent stay with us. Thank you also for your appreciation of true Americana ! As one of our "green" approaches to business we have our rooms with convenient liquid pumps for shampoo and soap and conditioner, which offers much more product with a lot less plastic and paper waste going back into our... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
317 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

Sometimes we prefer to stay in a chain hotel, but often when doing road trips through smaller towns we prefer these type of roadside motels. Sleepy Hollow was a good choice for us - friendly and comfortable and good value. Kind of a rustic/cottage type of environment, no complaints about cleanliness. We were checked in by a gentlemen that I... More 

Helpful?
Thank clamc40
Ernest K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleepy Hollow Motel, responded to this review

Dear Canadian Friends, we appreciate your recent stay with us while traveling on the scenic byway's of New York's Fingerlake Region, and thank you for sharing your experience with other traveler's. As a non-franchised lodging business we do indeed try harder, because we care about your comfort, personally, from start to finish ! Best Wishes and Happy Trails ! More 

Carlisle, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

I stayed at the Sleepy Hollow Motelmfor one night. The room was nice, very clean. The owner was friendly and very courteous. The location is convenient to many of the finger lakes, and there are restaurants, gas stations, and shopping nearby. I am a fisherman and there was plenty of space for my boat. I highly recommend the motel.

Helpful?
Thank przybylr
Ernest K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleepy Hollow Motel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your recent stay with us. It has been our distinct pleasure to have met your acquaintance and to serve your lodging needs in such a satisfactory manner. We look forward to your return in the near future. Happy Trails ! More 

Green Valley
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015 via mobile

It's clean but really old style. The bathroom is very small, so small that the TP is attached to the back of the bathroom door. Also significantly overpriced for what you get. Good location for access to Aurora and Skit.....

Helpful?
Thank James M
Ernest K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleepy Hollow Motel, responded to this review

Howdy James, and thank you for your recent stay with us ! Checking your reservation I see you had a single queen economy room for $89.00; we do however have much larger and spacious deluxe rooms for only $10 more. I also see you had added a pet, so that would have added $20.00, bringing your total over our base... More 

The Villages, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

We spent 4 nights here recently. The motel is clean, clean, clean and the room was quite cute. The bedding was comfortable and linens were changed every day. TV was excellent, coffee maker in room. We called ahead for an iron and board, and it was in our room upon arrival, that was impressive. Conveniently located near all the lakes,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret G
Ernest K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleepy Hollow Motel, responded to this review

Dear Margaret and Dale, it was our sincere pleasure to serve your lodging needs. Our goal's are plain and simple; friendly and welcoming hospitality with efficient service, in a calm, clean, and cordial environment. While we may not always have everything that some people want, we usually can provide what most folks need. We truly appreciate your kind patronage, and... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here one night over September long wkd. Room was very nice and clean. Unlike some hotels, it actually had character. Bed was comfortable, tv good quality, and a nice pull out couch. AC kept room cool, and we kept our food and water in the fridge. Owner was helpful in tips of area and was kind. Was great we... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Lolotimbo
Ernest K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleepy Hollow Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kindly assessments in your review. World travelers' like you bring a special significance to us and the service we strive to provide. We especially enjoyed your sharing with us your travel experience's of all of the places you have journeyed to and lived at worldwide. We appreciate your patronage. Continued good travels and Happy Trails ! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
2.4 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Finger Lakes Lodging
Finger Lakes Lodging
#5 of 7 in Skaneateles
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
2.4 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
5.0 of 5 stars 653 reviews
2.8 mi away
Skaneateles Inn on 20
Skaneateles Inn on 20
#2 of 8 in Auburn
4.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned and operated since 1959 the Sleepy Hollow is located on US Route 20 only minutes to Skaneateles and downtown Auburn. A peaceful bucolic and pastoral setting, with room front parking making it easy and convenient for senior travelers. The open sitting veranda allows all to commune with other world travelers and the greater outdoors. Immaculately maintained rooms and personalized service guarantees you a pleasant and restful stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sleepy Hollow Motel

Address: US Route 20, 3401 E Genesee Street RD, Auburn, NY 13021
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Auburn
Price Range: $110 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sleepy Hollow Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepy Hollow Motel Auburn, Finger Lakes, NY
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay