We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sleepy Hollow Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sleepy Hollow Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 38: English reviews
Clayton, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were not looking for the Ritz Carlton. We wanted a clean room with functioning electronics and appliances, and a comfortable bed. The Sleepy Hollow was a perfect option where the other rooms were twice as expensive. We would stay here again without hesitation and probably will. The innkeepers, Ernest & Okie, were delightful and interested in our travels. You're... More 

Helpful?
Thank wccouch
Ernest K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleepy Hollow Motel, responded to this review

Dear WC & E Couch, thank you very much for your recent stay us and kind words. It's guests like you that make our business a true pleasure. We would also like say how much we appreciate your taking time to convey your experience to other traveler's seeking lodging information. Your TA travel credentials speak volumes ! We will happily... More 

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were in the area for a funeral and needed 2 rooms for one night. This was the only place that had vacancy (now I know why) so I was forced to pay $160 per room for this horrible motel! The place was built in the 1960's and has not been touched since! The mattresses were hard, towels scratchy, water... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
Ernest K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleepy Hollow Motel, responded to this review

Dear Julie from Orlando, it seems you may have some of your information contrived here, and you certainly were not "forced" to pay anything; [in fact your card was at first declined while reserving], and you could have paid much more elsewhere as other more expensive place's did in fact have vacancies. Also, You actually under booked your reservations and... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I travel a lot and have learned it's best to have low expectations but this place was beyond low. PaID for 3 nights, $168 a night & in room 10 minutes had to leave. Erie would not refund

Helpful?
Thank Marypat P
Ernest K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleepy Hollow Motel, responded to this review

Dear Mary Pat, Every once in a while an establishment gets these types of slanted reviews which are misguided in nature and based on a personal agenda, as in fact you were "given your refund" for all residual unused day's, and it was not due to any problem's with the room, as the many guests before, and since your departure... More 

Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I booked for a Sat night online for close to $160. The motel was by a road and in the middle of nowhere. The owner was nice and the room had really minimum amenities. I gave it a two stars as I don't think the price was reasonable for a motel like that.

Helpful?
Thank Pat2012NJ
Ernest K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleepy Hollow Motel, responded to this review

Dear Pat NJ, Thank you for your thoughtful review. Although we are 3 minute's to Auburn and 4 minute's to Skaneateles, neither place would be considered nowhere by most savvy traveler estimation's. Being situated in our peaceful bucolic location as we are, is of course a matter of personal preferences'. Our amenities are comparable if not better than most establishments,... More 

Pontiac, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016

This is a very well kept motel off of Route 20. The rooms and linens are exceptionsally clean. The owners have kept to the nostalgia of a 50's style "Mom & Pop" motel right down to keeping the light on for late arrivals and helping them round up a place to eat late on a Sunday night. It's the kind... More 

Helpful?
Thank Irene S
Ernest K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleepy Hollow Motel, responded to this review

Dear Irene and Oscar, thank you for your recent stay and kind appraisals. Your attention to bedding details highlights our individually unique and green approach using earth friendly in house proprietary methods, fresh air and sunshine. Our business long predates the many convenient technological advances that now assist the traveling public, but rest assured, if your GPS ever fails you... More 

Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2016

The Sleepy Hollow Motel has been around ever since I can remember: I grew up in Auburn. Staying there is not a contrived "retro" experience; it's the way things were. Our room was clean and comfortable; the flat-screen TV was a pleasant surprise. The proprietors were courteous and helpful. The location was ideally located near the venue of my high... More 

Helpful?
Thank 61hope65
Ernest K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleepy Hollow Motel, responded to this review

Dear Hope, Thank you for your recent stay with us and sharing your experience's now and then ! We have indeed come along way from Hi-Fi to Wi-Fi, but some things are still better enjoyed simply as they were. And so Boomer's now as then, still desire the traditional convenience of room front parking, personalized service, but also with the... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
322 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

This motel looks right out of the 1950's! Very cute, with pull up to the door parking spaces and old fashioned office in the centre. Rooms had comfortable mattresses and I slept very well. Slight mildew odor as might be expected from an old motel, but immaculately clean. Bathroom needs some updating and something besides a bar of soap should... More 

Helpful?
Thank JohnTheBear
Ernest K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleepy Hollow Motel, responded to this review

Greetings John and thank you for your recent stay with us. Thank you also for your appreciation of true Americana ! As one of our "green" approaches to business we have our rooms with convenient liquid pumps for shampoo and soap and conditioner, which offers much more product with a lot less plastic and paper waste going back into our... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
325 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

Sometimes we prefer to stay in a chain hotel, but often when doing road trips through smaller towns we prefer these type of roadside motels. Sleepy Hollow was a good choice for us - friendly and comfortable and good value. Kind of a rustic/cottage type of environment, no complaints about cleanliness. We were checked in by a gentlemen that I... More 

Helpful?
Thank clamc40
Ernest K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleepy Hollow Motel, responded to this review

Dear Canadian Friends, we appreciate your recent stay with us while traveling on the scenic byway's of New York's Fingerlake Region, and thank you for sharing your experience with other traveler's. As a non-franchised lodging business we do indeed try harder, because we care about your comfort, personally, from start to finish ! Best Wishes and Happy Trails ! More 

Carlisle, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

I stayed at the Sleepy Hollow Motelmfor one night. The room was nice, very clean. The owner was friendly and very courteous. The location is convenient to many of the finger lakes, and there are restaurants, gas stations, and shopping nearby. I am a fisherman and there was plenty of space for my boat. I highly recommend the motel.

Helpful?
Thank przybylr
Ernest K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleepy Hollow Motel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your recent stay with us. It has been our distinct pleasure to have met your acquaintance and to serve your lodging needs in such a satisfactory manner. We look forward to your return in the near future. Happy Trails ! More 

Green Valley
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015 via mobile

It's clean but really old style. The bathroom is very small, so small that the TP is attached to the back of the bathroom door. Also significantly overpriced for what you get. Good location for access to Aurora and Skit.....

Helpful?
Thank James M
Ernest K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleepy Hollow Motel, responded to this review

Howdy James, and thank you for your recent stay with us ! Checking your reservation I see you had a single queen economy room for $89.00; we do however have much larger and spacious deluxe rooms for only $10 more. I also see you had added a pet, so that would have added $20.00, bringing your total over our base... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
2.4 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
5.0 of 5 stars 665 reviews
3.6 mi away
Finger Lakes Lodging
Finger Lakes Lodging
#5 of 7 in Skaneateles
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
2.8 mi away
Skaneateles Inn on 20
Skaneateles Inn on 20
#2 of 8 in Auburn
4.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned and operated since 1959 the Sleepy Hollow is located on US Route 20 only minutes to Skaneateles and downtown Auburn. A peaceful bucolic and pastoral setting, with room front parking making it easy and convenient for senior travelers. The open sitting veranda allows all to commune with other world travelers and the greater outdoors. Immaculately maintained rooms and personalized service guarantees you a pleasant and restful stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sleepy Hollow Motel

Address: US Route 20, 3401 E Genesee Street RD, Auburn, NY 13021
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Auburn
Price Range: $99 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sleepy Hollow Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepy Hollow Motel Auburn, Finger Lakes, NY
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay