We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

323 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 242: English reviews
Sohar, Oman
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My heart initially sank when I saw the 1 star rating - this is the Middle East, it's a lottery! But we had booked one if the Eco tents, so maybes it would be OK??? And it was better than ok. It was clean and quite lovely. All the tents had a little seating area outside as well as one... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jackie_McM0rn
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this was the only disappointment of our trip to oman regarding accommodation. I liked the concept but it just didn't work. dinner and breakfast were ok but nothing special. it was also the only place I came across (in oman!) that offered instant coffee - yuk.

Helpful?
Thank BluestackBoy
Vijay H, General Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve! Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve! We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused, we have carefully read your feedback and will surely look into it. Due apologies as you were not happy with the food and accommodation... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

turtle watching was excellent, Ali is a knowledgeable guide. the beach a 15min walk from the reserve accommodation. the beach worth seeing even without turtles which made it special. accommodation adequate. breakfast buffet ok. hotel is not easy to contact - they didn't answer the telephone and did not respond to email finding hotel at night not bad except that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alunbrito
Vijay H, General Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review with regards to your recent stay at Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed being at Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve and we have been able to give you a memorable experience with the turtle guided tour. We do sincerely regret for the inconvenience caused because... More 

Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had the good fortune to stay in the Eco-Tents, which are worth sleeping in as an event of their own, with the wind blowing hard against the canvas walls. Rest assured, however that the tents come packed with all the amenities of a regular hotel room, including air conditioning and electricity. The turtle watching guided tours are well organised,... More 

Helpful?
Thank ikhan94
Vijay H, Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review and the encouraging comments on your visit to Ras Al Jinz Scientific & Visitor Center. We are very happy to have given you a wonderful experience, and to have been able to make it memorable and unique. We look forward to see you again! Best Regards, Vijay Handa Cluster General Manager More 

Trinidad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our family of 4 chose 2 double Carapace Rooms. The rooms were located upstairs and were well appointed and very comfortable. Sometimes the WiFi was spotty in the rooms and we had to come out to the corridor sitting area for service. The refrigerator and the tea and coffee in the rooms were a perfect addition! There is no view... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carlisle R
Vijay H, General Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve! Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve! I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were up to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the Reserve is deeply appreciated and has been communicated to all... More 

Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The turtles win this hotel its stars. We came to see the glorious sea turtles, and we were not disappointed. We saw turtles laying eggs, nesting, hatching, and traveling to the sea. We saw them in the dark, at dawn, and in the day. If you are as obsessed with sea turtles as I am then you MUST come here.... More 

Helpful?
Thank AmericanBadger
Vijay H, General Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to read that you did not enjoyed your stay with us & we apologize for the same. It sounds as if your expectations were not met. We have gone through your points in details & find that these are not our work standard. We will certainly take up these issues... More 

Singapore
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

What an amazing experience to watch these giant beauties laying eggs and building their nests. The centre itself is very well organized. The guides are very knowledgable. I am happy that the worry more about the comfort of the turtles than us, the tourists - as it should be! Must visit!

Helpful?
Thank roaminjuliet
Vijay H, General Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It has been a great pleasure to host you at Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve during your recent well-deserved vacation, we would like to thank you for your visit and for describing your fantastic experience at our Turtle Reserve through Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay as you highlighted key elements... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

Watching huge turtles laying eggs in itself is a lifetime experience... guides are good and friendly... Only buffet is available for food... would suggest to keep snacks or sandwiches also in the hotel (of course on chargeable basis), as the trip is in odd hours and specially kids tend to feel hungry

Helpful?
Thank Rangoli S
Vijay H, General Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve! Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve! I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were up to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the Reserve is deeply appreciated and has been communicated to all... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016

A once a lifetime experience. We took the night watch and again in the morning. Saw several baby turtles and big ones laying eggs and then covering their nests and returning back to the sea.If you would like pictures then take the early morning watch. The guide was very knowledgeable about the turtles. Explained everything well. Its not a long... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scm M
Vijay H, General Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review of Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve. It is indeed a pleasure to read that you had a simply brilliant stay at the Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve. I am glad our associates delighted you with amazing service & hospitality and great food. I have shared your feedback with the entire team at... More 

Muscat
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

I had a wonderful experience with my family at this place recently. Kudos to the Head guide Nasser Al Zadjali,who had taken us out on turtle watch,the depth of his knowledge was amazing.Though I have been here several times before this time it was really exceptional as we could see the nesting of the turtles and hatching at the same... More 

Helpful?
Thank inet18
Vijay H, General Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review of Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve. It is indeed a pleasure to read that you had a simply brilliant stay at the Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve. I am glad our associates delighted you with amazing service & hospitality and great food. I have shared your feedback with the entire team at... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

157 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (133)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sur
1.0 mi away
Sur Plaza Hotel
Sur Plaza Hotel
#1 of 6 in Sur
3.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
1.5 mi away
Resort Sur Beach Holiday
2.4 mi away
Al Ayjah Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Resort Ras Al Hadd Holiday
1.4 mi away
Sur Hotel
Sur Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sur
3.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Turtle Beach Resort (Ras al Hadd)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve

Address: PO Box 296, Sur 411, Oman
Location: Oman > Ash-Sharqiyah Governorate > Sur
Price Range: $148 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ras Al-Jinz Turtle Reserve Hotel Sur
Ras Al-Jinz Turtle Reserve Oman/Sur
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay