We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Swakopmund Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
2 Theo-Ben Gurirab Avenue, Swakopmund, Namibia
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Swakopmund Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 134: English reviews
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
179 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I loved the decor of this hotel starting with the lobby..it's just beautiful! The gift shop is great...great prices! It's train motif is throughout the grounds. My room was very spacious with 2 free bottles of water in the bathroom. THe dinner and breakfast buffets were both very good and plentiful...there's a stir fry station, omelet and egg station, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank luckylou56
Mandello del Lario, Italy
Level Contributor
809 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 489 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We where in room 246 and 248. The rooms where fine, fully equipped with all you can ask: tv, minibar, air dried, wifi, bathroom amenities. Lighting needs to be improved and the shower needs to be replaced. Maybe a bathrobe and slippers should be added. Breakfast buffet is good and varies from day to day. The reception staff is a... More 

Helpful?
Thank gilardoni
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Attended a conference at this breathtaking hotel last month. It is set in an old train station with some pristine grounds, lovely pool and beautiful room. The service is great with good WiFi and good restaurants on the premises. There is a large conference room that can sit 150 people comfortably and the staff were very helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Nii Amah D
JanetWilson-Moore, General Manager at Swakopmund Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nii Amah, Thank you for giving us an excellent review! Hopefully your next visit to our hotel will be for some leisure time so you can also have the time to explore what we have to offer in Swakopmund. I will certainly pass on your comments to my team and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great building magnificent furnishings but my goodness no atmosphere at all. The only noise you can hear in the bar is an old fridge whirring away. Really disappointing with all the potential thats there get some background music playing, invite people in. The restaurant in the evening is equally uninviting and cold.Is this a German thing? Breakfast was very good... More 

Helpful?
Thank dave c
JanetWilson-Moore, General Manager at Swakopmund Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dave, I would like to apologize for the disappointing experience you had during your recent stay with us. The hotel ambience should be welcoming at all times and we do have the system to provide background music in our foyer, bar area and restaurant so there should be no excuse for this at all. I assure you that your... More 

London
Level Contributor
309 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location good, just a short walk from the shops. Spacious room with comfortable bed and nice aspect over the swimming pool (not in use while we were there). I regret that I could not go to dinner on our first night due to illness as others told me that the food was very good. The breakfasts were certainly some of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TishLondon
JanetWilson-Moore, General Manager at Swakopmund Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tish, Thank you for your review, I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry to hear that you were unable to dine with us, hopefully on your next visit you will get a chance to experience dinner at our Platform One Restaurant. I hope you were able to recover in order to enjoy the... More 

Poole,UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

The focal part of the hotel is the old railway station, and the rest has been sympathetically added to present a colonial style building. It has a very impressive lobby opening out to a lovely pool and garden. The room was a good size, tastefully decorated with all modern conveniences. Breakfast, included in the price, was adequate. Staff very helpful... More 

Helpful?
Thank Corrib
JanetWilson-Moore, General Manager at Swakopmund Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Corrib, Thank you for your review and for aptly describing the hotel! I have new members on my team and they are currently going through a service training programme, really pleased to see that they have taken the training to heart. I will certainly pass on your comments to them. We look forward to being of service to you... More 

Frankfurt
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016 via mobile

Swakopmund breathes colonial charme and so does Swakopmund Hotel. Although not as posh as some of the beachfront properties, it offers a hint of colonial-era South-West Africa. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The beach promenade is a 5min footwalk away.

Helpful?
1 Thank Niko P
JanetWilson-Moore, General Manager at Swakopmund Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Niko, Thank you for your review and rating, I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. As the main building of the Swakopmund Hotel & Entertainment Centre is a National Monument (it was the old Swakopmund Train Station), we try and keep the look & feel in honor of this but at the same time... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016

To all travellers to Africa! One place that must not be missed is the beautiful Swakopmund in Namibia. It is definitely not like any other place on earth. It started as a German town in the colonial days and has retained its very quaint German character. My review is not to recommend a specific hotel (most are excellent) but a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Simon836
JanetWilson-Moore, General Manager at Swakopmund Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Simon, I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your time in Swakopmund, it is a destination I am passionate about and I'm glad to see you share your experience. It is something one has to experience for themselves and hopefully with your review we will get more visitors into our town. Thank you for your review and we... More 

alabama
Level Contributor
251 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

I thought my room was very nice. It was a good size and had a table outside. Not all the rooms were the same, because I was a part of a group, I saw in some of the others. I got a nicer/bigger room and yet they cost the same. So be aware of that. The location is fine, easy... More 

Helpful?
Thank cynful2no
JanetWilson-Moore, General Manager at Swakopmund Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cynful2no, Thank you for your review and your rating. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. All of our rooms offer the same standard (except for our 2 suites), majority of them do face the pool. The size of the rooms do differ slightly depending on the location. On your next visit be sure... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2016 via mobile

Renè behind the reception desk did everything possible to accomodate our stay there after we found out that the excursions and car rental places were either fully booked or closed. He managed to find us the only car available for rental on a Saturday afternoon. Great stay, great service, friendly staff and very clean hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Wylie C
JanetWilson-Moore, General Manager at Swakopmund Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wylie C, I am very happy to hear about your experience! Your comments have been passed on to Renè and the rest of my team. We work hard to make sure our staff fits our company mission and culture, and our facility as well, so we are grateful to hear about your experience. Thank you for the support and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (100)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.9 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#4 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#3 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Deutsches Haus
Hotel Deutsches Haus
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
2.8 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#7 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Swakopmund Hotel

Address: 2 Theo-Ben Gurirab Avenue, Swakopmund, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Price Range: $162 - $654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swakopmund Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Swakopmund Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Swakopmund
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay