We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Swakopmund Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Swakopmund Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 139: English reviews
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was my first time in Namibia and the staff were my "first port of call" re how amazing Namibians are. I loved this hotel! Staff were attentive and knowledgeable. They were very amenable to requests and queries. My room was quiet and very well appointed re towels and coffee etc. Being a vegetarian, I was very grateful for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank africanswan
JanetWilson-Moore, General Manager at Swakopmund Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your positive comments! I am glad to hear that you had a great first time experience in Namibia and enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff made your stay pleasant. When (not IF) you’re traveling to our area again, please do not hesitate to contact me, Cape Town after all is just around... More 

Barcelona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I spend two nights in Swakopmund Hotel. The most rellevant: they did our laundry in few hours without extra cost, the bufet for dinner (with hot dishes of fish and meat very tasty), there is a local cinema in their instalations. The rooms are comfortable but the bathroom is under the average.

Helpful?
Thank ADSSM
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great time at the Mermaid Casino in this hotel! They have several tables and the decoration is just and fun and tacky as you want a casino to be. There's a small entrance fee, and you only get one free drink when sitting at a table (you pay for subsequent drinks). Very fun way to spend an... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lindsay S
JanetWilson-Moore, General Manager at Swakopmund Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lindsay, Thank you for sharing your experience at our Mermaid Casino! I hope your next visit to Swakopmund is just around the corner, hopefully you also get to stay with us at the hotel. Call us if there is anything we can help you with! Kind regards Janet Wilson-Moore General Manager More 

Libreville, Gabon
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had the pleasure of staying in the Swakopmund Hotel for a conference. The service I experienced was excellent. The room was spacious and clean. The restaurant offers a copious breakfast. The conference itself took place in a very professional venue. Under the leadership of the general manager, Janet Wilson, the entire staff made sure that myself and my colleagues... More 

Helpful?
Thank David V
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A comfortable and well appointed hotel set just out of the town centre, lovely grounds, peaceful environment. The restaurant was excellent, both for breakfast and dinner. with a huge selection of different dishes and a good choice of wines. Very helpful and friendly staff throughout, especially in the restaurant, although the reception/booking staff did cancel my return stay for one... More 

Helpful?
Thank 851nevillec
JanetWilson-Moore, General Manager at Swakopmund Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Traveler. Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay and I’m looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel. Kind regards Janet Wilson-Moore General Manager More 

Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
189 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

I loved the decor of this hotel starting with the lobby..it's just beautiful! The gift shop is great...great prices! It's train motif is throughout the grounds. My room was very spacious with 2 free bottles of water in the bathroom. THe dinner and breakfast buffets were both very good and plentiful...there's a stir fry station, omelet and egg station, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank luckylou56
JanetWilson-Moore, General Manager at Swakopmund Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Happy Guest, Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I’m sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Take care! Kind regards Janet Wilson-Moore General Manager More 

Mandello del Lario, Italy
Level Contributor
816 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 497 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

We where in room 246 and 248. The rooms where fine, fully equipped with all you can ask: tv, minibar, air dried, wifi, bathroom amenities. Lighting needs to be improved and the shower needs to be replaced. Maybe a bathrobe and slippers should be added. Breakfast buffet is good and varies from day to day. The reception staff is a... More 

Helpful?
Thank gilardoni
JanetWilson-Moore, General Manager at Swakopmund Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate your feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. We are in the process of upgrading our bathrooms and have already completed our "mock up" rooms, if all goes according to plan we should be starting soon. If you’re traveling to our area gain soon,... More 

Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016

Attended a conference at this breathtaking hotel last month. It is set in an old train station with some pristine grounds, lovely pool and beautiful room. The service is great with good WiFi and good restaurants on the premises. There is a large conference room that can sit 150 people comfortably and the staff were very helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Nii Amah D
JanetWilson-Moore, General Manager at Swakopmund Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nii Amah, Thank you for giving us an excellent review! Hopefully your next visit to our hotel will be for some leisure time so you can also have the time to explore what we have to offer in Swakopmund. I will certainly pass on your comments to my team and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016

Great building magnificent furnishings but my goodness no atmosphere at all. The only noise you can hear in the bar is an old fridge whirring away. Really disappointing with all the potential thats there get some background music playing, invite people in. The restaurant in the evening is equally uninviting and cold.Is this a German thing? Breakfast was very good... More 

Helpful?
Thank dave c
JanetWilson-Moore, General Manager at Swakopmund Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dave, I would like to apologize for the disappointing experience you had during your recent stay with us. The hotel ambience should be welcoming at all times and we do have the system to provide background music in our foyer, bar area and restaurant so there should be no excuse for this at all. I assure you that your... More 

London
Level Contributor
340 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2016

Location good, just a short walk from the shops. Spacious room with comfortable bed and nice aspect over the swimming pool (not in use while we were there). I regret that I could not go to dinner on our first night due to illness as others told me that the food was very good. The breakfasts were certainly some of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TishLondon
JanetWilson-Moore, General Manager at Swakopmund Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tish, Thank you for your review, I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry to hear that you were unable to dine with us, hopefully on your next visit you will get a chance to experience dinner at our Platform One Restaurant. I hope you were able to recover in order to enjoy the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (102)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.9 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#4 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#3 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Deutsches Haus
Hotel Deutsches Haus
#7 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Swakopmund Hotel

Address: 2 Theo-Ben Gurirab Avenue, Swakopmund, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Price Range: $174 - $728 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swakopmund Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Swakopmund Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Swakopmund
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay