We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sugar Beach Mauritius

Save
Share
Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
$390
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (6095)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (723)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 11/14/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 11/14/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 22 hotels in Flic En Flac
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
At the heart of 12 acres of tropical gardens, the luxurious Sugar Beach Resort extends along a vast white sandy beach bordered by the sparkling turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean. An idyllic setting surrounded by lush greenery and open spaces, this cool Mauritian Resort displays a colonial style blended with contemporary architecture. The restaurants, beachfront and inventive gourmet kitchens complete this romantic setting which is ideal for a honeymoon or a dream wedding in tropical paradise. Sugar Beach also offers a unique concept with the Aura Spa & Hammam Fitness Centre, unique in Mauritius. The unrivalled comfort, well planned layout and diversity of land and water activities make this resort a perfect holiday destination for families and honeymooners alike. Sugar Beach also offers a preferred access to Tamarina Golf Club and Ile aux Cerfs Golf Club.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Canoeing
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Diving
Tennis court
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lagoon View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French, German

Location

Full view
57Somewhat walkable
Grade: 57 out of 100
15Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
1Attractionwithin 0.75 miles
5700Reviews570Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4,007
  • 1,154
  • 331
  • 118
  • 90
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sindy S wrote a review Nov 2021
Durban, South Africa84 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
This hotel is by far the best hotel in the Flic en Flac area. The Bea h is very well Mai trained. The hotel is superb and the rooms are top class. I received very good service from two people in part ular. Ritesh who looked after our room every day. He was very atte tive to our needs. Anand who works in all the restaurants was always very helpful. These two gentlemen went over and beyond to make us happy Thank you Sugar Beach for an amazing week.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicolas De Chalain, General Manager at Sugar Beach Mauritius
Responded 2 days ago
Dear SindyS405, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. We believe that Sugar Beach is an experience and a journey that one has to experience. Your description of the resort being the best on the west coast is really motivating. Thank you for appreciating our hotel and service. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future. Sincerely, Nicolas De Chalain General Manager
Read more
Robert M wrote a review Nov 2021
Pretoria, South Africa134 contributions9 helpful votes
This hotel has all the makings of a great resort. Great facilities, great location, great ocean positioning. The rooms are very nice with air conditioning that works. Views are spectacular, sunsets are fabulous. The negatives that will bring this resort down are two very crtical items that every traveler will notice: the food in the main restaurant is pathetic, most of the time it is over cooked or burnt. No taste! There is no variety and the menu is the same every day, cooked the same way with the same poor preparation. The second biggest negative is the service. There is none. You wait forever for one of many waiters to even acknowledge your presence. Then they get the order wrong. Once that has been resolved, you wait forever for the order to arrive. To then top it off, drinks arehalf a glass, like they are trying to save on the costs of an All Inclusive package. This was very noticeable. In short, this was my tenth visit to Mauritius and I can confirm that I will NOT be coming to this resort again. Very disappointing as the facilities are great, shocking service and food.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicolas De Chalain, General Manager at Sugar Beach Mauritius
Responded 2 days ago
Dear RobertmZ6599LZ, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am deeply saddened to read that we have not entirely lived up to your expectations as far as our service is concerned. We would like to express our deep apologies. We believe that there is always room for improvement and will definitely use your feedback to ensure proper reinforcement of our standards. It is always our goal to have satisfied guests and would sincerely like to have the opportunity to regain your trust in Sugar Beach and to show you the better side of the resort. Sincerely, Nicolas De Chalain General Manager
Read more
Shirley Bell wrote a review Nov 2021
Southampton, United Kingdom95 contributions82 helpful votes
This hotel is truly wonderful. We stayed on an all inclusive basis, in a beach view room. We felt both were excellent decisions for us. The hotel is immaculate and really pretty. The food was exceptional, the drinks top notch but what makes this hotel so amazing is the staff. They just cannot do enough for you. Our heartfelt thanks go to Vanee, who looked after our room to an exceptional standard, unfortunately we didn’t get the name of the lovely man that filled our mini bar, and always remembered what we wanted; Sanjeet who looked after us on the beach and knew exactly what we would want at what time; Kevin who made our trips to the Buddha Bar truly memorable but most of all Ajagen. Ajagen is in a class of his own. He, along with Mike looked after us in the restaurant. Ajagen would come over and have a chat. He would never forget anything we said and he moved heaven and earth to get us in to restaurants and the spa, when we could not get in; he quickly understood what we liked and how we were spending our days. He made brilliant suggestions. It was like having a person personally looking after us. Sugar Beach, hang on to this man! This is a beautiful resort. You do not feel crowded. Sun beds were not a problem. We had a hire car, parking was not a problem. We had to have two lateral flow tests whilst we were there, they were well managed and did not detract from our holiday . Excellent stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicolas De Chalain, General Manager at Sugar Beach Mauritius
Responded 6 days ago
Dear VictoriaCarole, Thank you very much for taking the time to send us your valuable feedback. It is pleasant to read that you have had a wonderful moment in our resort. We are really glad that you had a perfect break with us. We truly believe that Sugar Beach is a unique experience for our guests. And we thank you for having beautifully highlighted the attributes of our hotel. You pointed out several colleagues positively, please rest assured we will mention and recognize them for their efforts especially, Vanee, Kevin, Mike, and Ajagen. We look forward for another opportunity to host you again for another pleasurable holiday. Sincerely, Nicolas De CHalain General Manager
Read more
Reto S wrote a review Nov 2021
Brienz, Switzerland9 contributions1 helpful vote
we had a wonderful room with view on the garden and the beach. the facilities are very nice, especially the gym (very very friendly trainers). Everyone was very friendly and we enjoyed our time very much. the only negative point is, that even with half board or all inclusive, dinner is not free and pretty expensive. the food itself is very good and the staff is very friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicolas De Chalain, General Manager at Sugar Beach Mauritius
Responded 6 days ago
Dear 556retos, We would like to thank you for choosing Sugar Beach Resort as part of your interest. It was a pleasure welcoming you to our resort. Thank you for your kind acknowledgment of our warm hospitality and the service offered. Please note that we offer the possibility for our guests to dine in 6 restaurants (including our sister hotel), where four of the restaurants are included in the half board and all-inclusive package, and the other two offer either a set menu or a discounted price for the supplements due to the quality of food they offer. Together with my team, we look forward to welcoming you for a staycation soon. Sincerely, Nicolas De Chalain General Manager
Read more
Sam M wrote a review Nov 2021
Norwich, United Kingdom1 contribution
My wife and I had the most perfect honeymoon at Sugar Beach back in September which we will always look back on with the fondest of memories. Fantastic resort in a beautiful setting with amazing food, accommodation and staff who couldn’t do enough for you. Special shout out to Farzle and Sorab for keeping the pina coladas coming on the beach and to Kunal for some incredible cocktails at Buddha bar. I never did manage to beat Gerry at table tennis though!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicolas De Chalain, General Manager at Sugar Beach Mauritius
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Daydream33074653900, Thank you for your review which is extremely valuable to us. First of all, we would like to congratulate you on your wedding. I shall certainly forward your feedback to all employees, especially those you mentioned; Fazle, Sorab, Kunal and Jerry for going the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable. Do rest assured of our hospitality at all times. Sincerely, Nicolas de Chalain General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$341 - $966 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sugar beach hotel flic en flac, sugar beach mauritius, hotel sugar beach, sugar beach resort mauritius
LOCATION
MauritiusRiviere Noire DistrictFlic En Flac
NUMBER OF ROOMS
238
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sugar Beach Mauritius
Which popular attractions are close to Sugar Beach Mauritius?
Nearby attractions include Flic en Flac Beach (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sugar Beach Mauritius?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Sugar Beach Mauritius?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sugar Beach Mauritius?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Sugar Beach Mauritius?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sugar Beach Mauritius?
Conveniently located restaurants include Coconut Cafe, Tides Restaurant, and Citronella's Beach Lounge Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sugar Beach Mauritius?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Sugar Beach Mauritius have airport transportation?
Yes, Sugar Beach Mauritius offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sugar Beach Mauritius?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sugar Beach Mauritius offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sugar Beach Mauritius?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.