We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Residence Mauritius

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,374 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 801: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Best position on Belle Mare beach. Nice small hotel, that whilst reduces choice, the food was good with AI menu ordering lunch and ala carte dinner available every day with enough of a credit for two courses. The main restaurant buffet was good though with lots of chefs theatres. Singer every night with short shows every other day. Service was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lynsey T
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our welcome was very pleasant after a long but very scenic ride from the airport. Room very pleasant and cool with sea view and romantic shutters. We had several lovely buffet dinners and a really good lunch at the Plantation. Beach is long and varied, lovely for walking on any time of day. We sailed and swam and slept and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne E
PierrotBarbe, Business Development Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We wish to address our sincere thanks for sparing some of your precious time to narrate your holiday experience on Trip Advisor We are pleased to read that you had a great time and noted your appreciation on the room, quality of our cuisine and our beach. We reiterate our thanks for your visit and look forward to...

Antananarivo Province, Madagascar
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great hotel. Better staff. Excellent food. Only fault is that extras are way too expensive. Drinks are over priced as are lunches. Expect $50 for a typical lunch dish - small salad or burger and about $10 for a small soda

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ilanmiller
PierrotBarbe, Business Development Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor and we are glad to read that you have appreciated The Residence Hospitality. With regards to our pricing, we wish to bring to your attention that heavy taxes are levied on F&B products however we are in line with other 5 stars’ properties on the island. We reiterate...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel is excellent for a laid back and luxurious experience of Mauritius. The staff is so attentive and the hotel has everything to offer. I would definately go back to this hotel if I get the opportunity.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Camilla M
PierrotBarbe, Business Development Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor following your stay at our resort. We glad to note that you have had an excellent moment at our resort and your appreciation on the quality of our service, staff attitude and the overall facilities. We reiterate our thanks for visiting our property and hope to have the...

Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I spent a perfect time at The Residence. The beach,the room, the staff, the food were excellent. Every day they offered a diffent show of music and dance and also different menu at the restaurant. The hotel was clean and quiet. The location is also very good. You have to know that half board means no beverages included and it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank maria m
PierrotBarbe, Business Development Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for sum up your holiday experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad to read that you have had great moments at our resort and reiterate our thanks for your recommendation. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in a not too distant future. Thank you and kind regards, The Management

Florence, Italy
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've spent my Christmas holiday and everything was good: hotel, big room, lot of free service. Wonderful sea but not incredible beach..... staff is very courtesy but special mention for Yuvraaj that was special!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alessandroguerrini
PierrotBarbe, Business Development Manager (BDM) at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for posting your review full of praises on Trip advisor following your recent stay at The Residence Mauritius. We are glad to note that you have been impressed by our service quality especially Yuvraaj who stood out in providing you the best service. Your words of appreciation on the latter will for sure be a real...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

The beach is good for swimming and other activities. Lovely hotel, rooms are ok. Good restaurants and good food. The staff are the best asset that the hotel has. They are courteous, friendly and always willing to help.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AnitaMunetsi
PierrotBarbe, Business Development Manager ( BDM) at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We thank you for writing your holiday experience on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that The Residence Mauritius has met your expectations and that you were overwhelmed with the accommodation and service. No doubt your praiseworthy words will be a major boost for our team members who will keep on doing their best to assist each...

Notting Hill, London, UK
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for a week in January. The welcome was friendly, swift and professional and we were upgraded to a suite in a quiet wing of the hotel (room 167 near the plantation). The room was absolutely HUGE with classic furniture. Don't expect the latest design. But it was very comfortable. Housekeeping was friendly and the room always spotlessly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank London_Gourmet
PierrotBarbe, Business Development Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for sharing your holiday escapade on Trip Advisor. Your suggestion and feedback are so essential for our continued improvement for quality service and by attending to areas that require our attention. We are delighted to note that you very much enjoyed your stay at The Residence Mauritius and are very appreciative for your wonderful comments on...

UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here over new year 2016/17 and really enjoyed it. We had a few teething troubles on our first day (smell in room, coffee machine not working, bed sheets not dried properly (another smell)). Of course in an hotel of this standard/cost these issues should not have arisen - but, let's face it, they do. And if you let that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Arinley
PierrotBarbe, Business Development Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for scribing your holiday experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad to read your appreciation on our resort and are pleased to read that you have been really impressed by our service oriented team members. We have noted all the points you referred to and shared to our team members for their perusal. You can rest...

Limassol, Cyprus
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay at this resort was not what we expected .This was our first visit to Mauritius after 11 years and we chose to stay here because it has one of the best beaches and lagoons for swimming on the island . And it does , the beach and swimming is excellent !! What was disappointing was the service ,food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikolas N
PierrotBarbe, Business Development Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We thank you for your comments which will certainly assist us to pave our way for excellence. We understand that our resort has not met your expectations and it`s regrettable that your concerns were not communicated personally to our team members whilst you were on property as immediate measures could have been taken to ensure that you have...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2,006 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1445)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (300)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (279)
Viewed
Dining (141)
Viewed
Room/Suite (110)
Viewed
View from Room (47)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
2:36
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (514)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (537)
Viewed
Amenities (149)
Viewed
Beach (29)
Viewed
Colonial Ocean Front Room (60)
Viewed
Colonial Ocean Front Suite (80)
Viewed
Colonial Ocean View Suite (90)
Viewed
Kid's Pool (3)
Viewed
Outdoor Jacuzzi (2)
Viewed
Pool (29)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
The Hotel (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
3.9 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,129 reviews
15.3 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4,055 reviews
35.3 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
4,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,335 reviews
27.9 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
2,120 reviews
19.1 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Residence Mauritius is situated on the east coast of Mauritius along a mile-long beach of immaculate white sand, fringed by the azure Indian Ocean and tropical gardens - an idyllic retreat for your unreserved relaxation. Inspired by the island's stately turn-of-the-century plantation houses, this luxury Mauritius resort blends modern elegance with classic, colonial style that envelops you in an endearing sense of nostalgia. Live like royalty in rooms that radiate luxurious comfort and charm, with attentive service worthy of the grand colonial houses of yesteryear. Dine on exotic cuisine that captures the incredible potpourri of island flavours. Discover new secrets to soulful relaxation within our serene spa sanctuary, and an endless playground of attractions and activities to be found in the island's unique mix of cultures and stunning landscapes. Whether you seek a romantic escape with your loved one or a spectacular beach getaway with your family, The Residence Mauritius will enthrall you under the warm glow of the Mauritian sun. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Residence Mauritius

Address: Coastal Rd, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Price Range: $219 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Residence Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Belle Mare
Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius Belle Mare
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Residence Mauritius staff and other travelers.
60 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (60)

Questions? Get answers from The Residence Mauritius staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We considered a more expensive room with bigger terrace but decided against it as considerably more..our room was fine.”
 of 5 bubbles LynseyT_13, 3 days ago | Read review
“Ground floor with sea views was very convenient.”
 of 5 bubbles 864annee, 3 days ago | Read review
“Choose an ocean front room or a room on the top floor -to avoid moving furniture noises from above”
 of 5 bubbles nikolasn416, 1 week ago | Read review
“We found the left (south wing) the more elegant. Chosse a beachfront room on one of the higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles kringspfeiffer, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“all the rooms are big”
 of 5 bubbles 622davia, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay