We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sunway Pyramid Hotel East - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Expert photos
Sunway Pyramid Hotel East - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Sunway Pyramid Hotel East - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

985 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 928: English reviews
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Well. I guess considering there were renovations it's not really fair to knock this place too much....but read on I will have a whinge!! so all I'll say is rooms are just Ok. The three of us had itches most nights when We hopped into bed? Maybe allergy? Maybe not??? At least we had a balcony, kitchen etc. air conditioning... More 

Helpful?
Thank majic5
johor bahru
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

New west tower is better compared with previous east and resort . More customer focus at front desk. Service at breakfast buffet better now. However, variety of food and beverages served shall improve more.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank edwinsclim
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

whilst we were advised that there was some renovations going on the room (which was a timeshare that we were not notified of) was dated & ill equipped, check in awkward, no information in room regarding complex or activities in the area. Gym was pathetic and in need of an overhaul - main gym in Sunway resort was awesome but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracey J

Travelers are raving about these Petaling Jaya hotels

Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We chose this hotel because of its location and proximity to office. Although the hotel are undergoing some renovations, they could have made our stay abit more comfortable. The rooms are dated, and the air conditioning units although works well but on the noisy side. The only positive is the restaurants and cafe opposite where you can enjoy a great... More 

Helpful?
Thank JPT2808
SRHS_FO, General Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel East - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Dear JPT2808, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are disappointed to hear that the room you stayed in was not up to par, and are looking into this to ensure that this is not an issue on future stays. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Best Regards, Jerry Gan General Manager More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First we were surprised that our booking wasn't in the pyramid hotel. Actually it was in another section( the west). The west hotel is new hotel and clean. The service is good but when it comes to transportation the staff are not honest!! They try all the time to scared us from using the normal taxi and inseasts that their... More 

Review collected in partnership with statravel.com

Helpful?
Thank Amramin
SRHS_FO, General Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel East - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Dear Amramin, On behalf of the Management Team, we would like to thank you for reviewing your recent stay. We are deeply sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations during your recent visit to our hotel. We have addressed these issues with the respective departments to ensure that the issues you have mentioned do not happen again... More 

Sibu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

Despite the same management, I really don't get it why they call the hotel Sunway Pyramid Hotel East and Sunway Pyramid Hotel West. Why not something simple to stop all the confusion? I stayed in both East & West before. But now, this review is for WEST only. If you must, why not call it Sunway Pyramid Hotel Middle East?... More 

Helpful?
Thank bobjrjr
SRHS_FO, General Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel East - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Dear bobjrjr, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your valuable feedback and take note on the areas for improvement. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you again to ensure you have a wonderful stay with us in the near future. Thanks again. Best regards, Jerry Gan General Manager More 

Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016

The hotel was directly connected to the Pyramid mall and water park which makes travelling with kids convenient. The morning breakfast buffets were great with lots of selection and the rooms were comfortable but nothing spectacular. It is a good overall hotel. I didn't know that it closed down for complete renovation.

Helpful?
Thank GABA1
SRHS_FO, General Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel East - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Dear GABA1, Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased to learn about your wonderful staying experience with us. Sunway Pyramid Hotel East will re-open in 2017 Quarter 1. Please feel free to come back and stay with us again to experience the new Sunway Pyramid Hotel East. Have a great day! Best Regards, Jerry Gan General Manager More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

The people are fabilious the weather great the whole pyramid complex amazing .The bacu caves were beautiful but you need to be in the whole of your health to concour the 272 steps to get to the top not counting the next 60 then you have to make your way back down but worth it 😚😚😚

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank barbaraminchin
SRHS_FO, General Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel East - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Dear barbaraminchin, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are delighted to learn about your wonderful staying experience with us and we hope to welcome you again soon. Thank you once again and have a pleasant day ahead. Best regards, Jerry Gan General Manager More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016 via mobile

The construction work in the same hotel is too noisy no way to open it for guest. It is pain and cheating. Not respecting us. We took 5 rooms all of us top angry from this hotel. They should close the hotel immediately. There is no even telephone in my room 15112.

Helpful?
Thank Mohannad A
SRHS_FO, General Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel East - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Dear Mohannad A, Firstly, thank you for choosing to stay with us. We thank you for your valuable feedback and take note on the areas for improvement. Please accept our sincere apologise for the unpleasant experience you had with us. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you again to ensure you have a wonderful stay with... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016 via mobile

I had the opportunity to try this new hotel out when my office decided to send us for a short family day break at sunway lagoon and a 2d1n stay at sunway pyramid west. Unfortunately for us, parking at the hotel means a loooong walk to the sunway lagoon. So we had to park our cars at the sunway tower... More 

Helpful?
Thank MarinaMY
SRHS_FO, General Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel East - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Dear MarinaMy, Firstly, thank you for choosing to stay with us. We thank you for your valuable feedback and we take note on the areas for improvement. Please accept our sincere apologise for the unpleasant experience you had with us especially with the carpark. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you again to ensure you have... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

869 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (459)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (88)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (90)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Other (169)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (398)
Viewed
Amenities (102)
Viewed
Dining (124)
Viewed
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa Pool (53)
Viewed
Superior Executive Room (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaling Jaya
0.1 mi away
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
#3 of 41 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 stars 1,470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunway Pyramid Hotel West
Sunway Pyramid Hotel West
#4 of 41 in Petaling Jaya
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Sunway
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Su...
#16 of 41 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#1 of 41 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 stars 1,041 reviews
5.3 mi away
One World Hotel
One World Hotel
#2 of 41 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 stars 915 reviews
4.5 mi away
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 41 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sunway Pyramid Hotel East is currently closed for renovations. The hotel is scheduled to re-open progressively in late 2016 following the extensive refurbishment work which will elevate Sunway Pyramid Hotel East from a Superior to a Deluxe category 4-star international-class hotel, bringing a breath of freshness with more choices and new experiences. The hotel’s room inventory will also increase to 564 rooms; incorporating 22 new family rooms and suites, purpose-built to accommodate a growing increase in family and leisure travellers to Sunway Resort City. The new family rooms will be amongst the hotel’s largest, offering comfortable spaces, useful amenities, added extras like two bathrooms and options of bedding types which can accommodate up to six persons. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunway Pyramid Hotel East - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Address: Persiaran Lagoon, Petaling Jaya 46150, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Price Range: $97 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Pyramid Hotel East - TEMPORARILY CLOSED 4*
Number of rooms: 950
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Travelocity so you can book your Sunway Pyramid Hotel East - TEMPORARILY CLOSED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pyramid Tower Hotel At Sunway Lagoon Petaling Jaya
Pyramid Hotel At Sunway Lagoon
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#7 Luxury Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay