We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Jalan Tun Razak, Kuching 93450 Malaysia
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Agoda.com
$23
View deal
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Trip.com$28
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (18)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (14)

About

#36 of 89 in Kuching
Location
2.6
Cleanliness
3.4
Service
3.4
Value
3.5
"PENVIEW HOTEL is a 3 star hotel located at the hub of 3 major zones in the greater Kuching city area. It is in close proximity to these 3 main zones namely the Kuching Central Business Disctrict, Pending Light Industrial Estate & Petra Jaya suburb. The hotel is approximately 10 minutes from the Kuching International Airport. It is flanked by supermarkets, specialty shops and multi cultured food centers/restaurants making it a lively area from dusk until dawn.The Hotel has 166 rooms. All rooms are tastefully decorated with comfortable beds and also come with facilities such as Air Conditioning with Room Personal Controller, television, Water Auto Boiler with coffee facilities, Hot Shower running 24 hours, Rooms with Duvet, Free WIFI service, Working Desk, Mini Fridge, Soap, Shower Cap, Shampoo, Bath Towel and Bath Mat.Penview Hotel has ample facilities to provide for Meeting, Conference and Banquet functions with its ample and spacious ballrooms. The Hotel also provides for wireless internet access for the tech savvy.Kuching Central Business District is less than 10 minutes by car from Penview Hotel.Pending Light Industrial Estate  is 5 minutes by car from Penview Hotel. Pending Light Industrial Estate adjoins to Demak Laut which houses light to medium industrial businesses. Situated within this area is the Borneo Convention Center which is about 5-10 minutes from Penview Hotel.Petra Jaya suburb is 5-8 minutes by car from Penview Hotel via the Tun Salahuddin Toll Bridge. Petra Jaya is the Administrative Centre for the Sarawak Government. For the medical tourist Normah Medical Specialist Centre is also located in Petra Jaya and is approx. 8 minutes by car from Penview Hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Taxi service
Convenience store
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Malay
28Reviews4Q+A4Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4
  • 7
  • 11
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Rajan Balakrishnan wrote a review Jan 2020
Johor Bahru, Malaysia525 contributions90 helpful votes
+1
Had a two night stay here and I must emphasis that the staffs there makes this hotel stand out from. The rest, right from my check-in all the way thru check out I really felt the warmness of it staff and to top it off the room are more that it's expectations, air conditioning was good the toilets were good and I recommend this hotel to those travelers planning to go there as thier top list before considering orhers
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
harry boy wrote a review Jan 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom84 contributions40 helpful votes
I was check in a bit late ,the receptionist handle me very well on that time , forgotten her name that lady..she was Courtesy upgraded my room to the next category really like it..the room a big due to im only with my partner 😉..about the breakfast has many choices me and my partner enjoyed it..keep it up! Might be coming back again when im visiting Kuching, Sarawak ..good job your front office and house keeping department . cheers
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
BaldTourist wrote a review Aug 2019
Ranau, Malaysia25 contributions13 helpful votes
A great place 1. If you're not picky 2. Staff ARE AWESOME and FRIENDLY 3. Amenities are minimal but useful 4. Place is surrounded with eateries 5. Rooms are clean and comfortable. 6. A hotel with character and history. By all means if you're spending some time in Kuching and need a place to stay. It's worth it. Whether you're on holiday or business. I'm physically disabled and require extra and Penview Hotel ticks all the right boxes. Sure it isn't a 5 star establishment but they got 5 Star people. Which can't be said about most places.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
UnhappyMon wrote a review Dec 2018
Kuching, Malaysia18 contributions
The rooms have been revamped, which gives it a more modern look. Comfortable rooms with good facilities. The breakfast spread is also modestly good. Unfortunately, the limited number of elevators (only 2 small ones) is a bit of a turnoff especially when a huge group of residents wants to use them simultaneously. Parking is also limited. Other than that everything is good including the services. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
Helpful
Share
LisaShukri wrote a review Dec 2018
Brunei-Muara District, Brunei Darussalam14 contributions
Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and attending my cousin at the rooftop hall. The foods was so good. The walkway to our room was so smelly and when we called for makeup our room in the morning (when we are out) the houskeeping came only at late afternoon 😅 (when we are back to the hotel).
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Salini V wrote a review May 2018
1 contribution
I don't usually give comments or review about hotels I stayed but this time I got to do. Management really need to look in to cleanliness. Toilet is terribly smelly and dirty. I requested for change of room.They showed me 2 rooms,both were in the same condition(smelly n toilet bowls were dirty).Breakfast was good. Receptionist Angel was friendly but others got to be abit cheerful instead of being dull( Sorry to say this but that's the truth). I paid cash for 5 days stay there. I only stayed for a day and request them to refund back my money and I am now in different hotel which is way cheaper and clean.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Mrjamali84 wrote a review May 2018
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia1 contribution
Nice location,good staff,food is good enough,the price also affordable,all with good comment,the receptionist guys is also help me to guide me where to go to the best place in kuching.That all from me,hope they can maintain their service in the future,tq.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: room with window much better
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
ament82 wrote a review Oct 2017
62 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
This hotel can be better. The only downside is the distance to city centre, if you are without transport it can be a bitter but Grab available in Kuching city. Overall the breakfast was decent and yummy too. The surrounding can be dangerous at night (especially after 10pm-there is no people on the vicinity of the hotel). Be reminded that this hotel don't provide cable tv(only local channel available) and free wifi is available to hotel guest but not that great. Overall my staying here is satisfactory and will choose this hotel again when visiting Kuching city next time.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Choose a higher floor to avoid nosiy traffic outside
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
EstherW15 wrote a review Aug 2017
55 contributions16 helpful votes
The facility looks fairly new. Internet is so-so. Food (buffet) was good. Good variety (Lamb offered, you rarely get that in most buffet). Room service is good, room is clean. Staff are fairly friendly/polite. Only complaint is the soundproofing. Can hear next door, esp. if the neighbour raises his or her voice. Some background machine humming sound can be heard as well.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
aiman m wrote a review Nov 2016
1 contribution3 helpful votes
When I arrived at the hotel.. the staff didn't help me open the hotel door.. hmmm.. About my room, the first thing I smell was the smelly toilet.. really hate that.. Lastly, there's no astro channels.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MsLisaPenview, Front Office Manager at Penview Hotel
Responded Dec 12, 2016
Dear Sir, First of all, thanks for the comment and a thousand apology from us. We in the mid of look into that matters. Regards to the Astro Channel, at the moment we only have Astro channel for fifth floor and above. By the way, we appreciate your comment and will take that as a good suggestion to look into the rest of the level to improve the tv channel. We wish to see you again in the future and guarantee you may encounter the new experience staying with us.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$20 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MalaysiaSarawakKuching
NUMBER OF ROOMS
164
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Penview Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at Penview Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Penview Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a desk, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Penview Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Penview Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Penview Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Homiez Recipe, The Mandarin Restaurant, and Pending Seafood Centre.
Does Penview Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Penview Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Penview Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Malay.
Are there any historical sites close to Penview Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Hong San Si Temple (2.8 miles).
Is Penview Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.