We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Jesselton Hotel

Visit hotel website
Traveler (210)
360
Panoramas (6)
Dining (46)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Room service
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast Available
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Book Direct for More
601Reviews
462Photos
6Q+A
84Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 178
  • 310
  • 86
  • 15
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed at the Jesselton Hotel for 9 days and we're so glad we picked this as our base. Not only was the room great and had everything we needed, such as fridge, safe, 4 bottles of water daily etc - but the staff were also lovely and were so welcoming every day. Their laundry
Read more
Hotel's Favorite
The Jesselton has exceeded my expectations! The room is big n very clean! Reception was helpful n polite! Housekeeping young man was very good! At par or better than most of the 4 star hotels! Stayed in 2nd floor hardly hear any street noises! All the popular food places are
Read more
We only had one night here but wished we could have stayed longer. It was a gracious old hotel built in 1954 in an old style. Our room was big and clean. The bathroom was big with a large counter for toiletries. The only complaint was that the shower curtain was long enough
Read more
The air-con was not working. It was warm and I was not able to sleep. Worst experience ever. I complained to the reception desk and they sent housekeeping to look at it. No difference and problem not resolved.
Read more
Response from Jesselton_Hotel, General Manager at The Jesselton Hotel
Responded Jan 10, 2019
Dear rob_faris, I am sorry to hear of your disappointing experience with us on your 1st night stay. Thank you for reviewing us while you are still staying with us. Our housekeeper checked the air-con and noticed that the temperature shown on the remote controller has been adjusted to a warmer level, hence he adjusted the temperature to a lower level and thought that was the problem. It was an oversight from our team to not have followed up with you on this issue when you returned to your room, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused. We shall increase our training efforts in order to improve our quality of service and experience of our valued guests. I understand from our front office manager that we have immediately offered you another room for your 2nd night stay after you spoke to our receptionist on the next morning. We hope you have had an enjoyable stay with us on your 2nd night and we are truly sorry for the inconvenience caused. My team and I look forward to the opportunity of being at your service and welcoming you back in the near future! Warmest Regards, Michelle
Read more
1. toilet flush is not working very well. 2. shower curtain is dirty. 3. lights are not enough in the room. no lights on top of mirror 4. since lights are not sufficient, hard to see how dirty the carpet is. There are unlimited lice on the carpet and bit me seriously while
Read more
Response from Jesselton_Hotel, General Manager at The Jesselton Hotel
Responded Jan 9, 2019
Dear Claumann2000, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear about your experience. As we strive to provide the highest quality environment and service for our visitors, it is with sincere regret that we did not have the chance to address some of your issues whilst you were with us. I was most concerned to learn of your feedback regarding the carpet, hence we have immediately called in the specialist to conduct a full inspection on both the mattress and carpet. We are unsure what is the cause of your rashes as no lice nor bugs were found in the room. Again, my apologies for letting you down. I have shared your comments with our team to ensure this remains an isolated occurrence. Thank you for your review and thank you for highlighting some areas that we are able to review and reconfirm as consistent. Should you wish to discuss your stay with me personally, I would be grateful for this opportunity, and can be reached any time directly at the Hotel. We hope that you will stay with us again should your travels bring you back to Kota Kinabalu. Warmest Regards, Michelle
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Center & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Jesselton Hotel
The Superior Double Room at The Jesselton Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Jesselton Hotel
The Suite at The Jesselton Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Jesselton Hotel
The Deluxe Twin Room at The Jesselton Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Jesselton Hotel
The Superior Double Room at The Jesselton Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Jesselton Hotel
The Deluxe Twin Room at The Jesselton Hotel
PreviousNext
12345639
I am confident you can check in late. There have always been staff on duty. Anyway you can inform them you will be late, I have always found them very helpful and pleasant. Their contact details are on the Jesselton Hotel website
0 votes
hi. is their any car park for customer? and do this room have bathtub.
Yes the room has bath tub but I think there’s no car park especially during Sunday due to Sunday market
1 vote
Show all answers
Do you provide free airport transfer services?
Not free, but it's an inexpensive trip, and they can arrange.
1 vote
Show all answers
Because u arrive at that time u need to make sure you get the taxi coupon ride. Its 50% more than usual rate (about 45) and safe but hang on to your receipt. You don't need to tip the driver or anyone... Don't spoil the market ;) and enjoy your trip to KK! Go to the Phillipines market and get some pearls as souvenirs but bargain for about 60% from the displayed price. If they wont sell then walk away. Because its not worth the price on display.
0 votes
Show all answers
We are government pensioners, do we get special offer for the hotel rate?
Very sorry, but as a British National, living in the Philippines, I do not have that information. Suggest you contact hotel direct.
0 votes
PreviousNext
12
"Ask for a street view room"
"Rooms at the back of the hotel less street noise."
"May want to book way ahead if you would like a single queen size bed"
"Corner units are better."
"Booked double and twin and twin was much larger than double, more like a suite!"
PreviousNext
12345617
PRICE RANGE
$51 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
jesselton hotel kota kinabalu
LOCATION
MalaysiaSabahWest Coast DivisionKota Kinabalu DistrictKota Kinabalu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing