We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 848: English reviews
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

this resort is beautiful for nature, with traditional style of rooms. consist such accommodations like spa which been awarded the worlds best luxury spa, swimming pool for adults and kids, water sports at beach, and many more.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reesemasihhidup
Skelleftea, Sweden
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here for two periods. First three days before we traveled to Sandakan and the rainforest, and then another 17 days. Want to summarize our experience in two parts - first the resort and then the response we got. Nexus Resort is a large resort located about 30-45 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu. Here you havde everything you could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carl-Erik L
NRSK2016, Manager at Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai, responded to this review

Dear Carl-Erik L, Thank you for taking time to write a wonderful review of your recent stay at Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai. We were beaming with pride as we shared your feedback with the team and we hope that you will return to our resort every year to relax by the beach and enjoy our hospitality. Hotel Management

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is my first time staying here. My first impression was so warm and welcoming my favourite part is when they gave me the cold towel making me feel fresh!. The receptionist all are very kind and helpfull same goes to the waiter & waitress when i was having my breakfeast. The beach was quite dirty but then i saw...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YZMEEN SANIAH B... S
NRSK2016, Manager at Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai, responded to this review

Dear YZMEEN SANIAH B... S, Thank you very much for your lovely review and for recommending Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai, we are pleased to learn that you have experienced the warm Nexus hospitality and our Chefs are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your meals at our restaurant. With regards to the condition of the beach, it...

Shah Alam, Malaysia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was here for a short vacation with my family.All staff and management are so helpful and friendly.First impression on the Resort was amazingly breathtaking but I notice theres a small renovation going on at the moment but it does not effect us at all.No noise or whatsoever.We had breakfast at Penyu Restaurant and there were so many variety of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank baitymz
NRSK2016, Manager at Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai, responded to this review

Dear baitymz, Thank you for your recommendations, we are very pleased to learn that you and your children have thoroughly enjoyed your stay here at Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai. To ensure excellent guest facilities, the resort carry out general maintenance for the upkeep of the resort. We hope that you and your family will return and stay with us...

Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I don't expect your team to response to my review, because as i noticed, the management did not reply to my previous review. Maybe they think local guests review are not worth to look into. We always stay at Nexus for a quick getaway & we normal stay for few days.. The recent stayed, was on 26 & 27 November...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simonsamc
NRSK2016, Manager at Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai, responded to this review

Dear simonsamc, Thank you for your constructive review of your recent stay and we have taken your feedback very seriously. We have addressed each of the issues mentioned with the relevant departments for further improvement. Regarding the condition of the beach, we have beach cleaning team which starts early in the morning and again during the day, due the the...

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff is very kindy, helpful and nice. Even the waitress Florina offered to write me sentences in Malasian so I could speak a little in the local language. Equally Shaffie personally attended to explain everything about my room or any doubt and always with a smile when dealing with me. The service was very good, as were the restaurants,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank antares62
NRSK2016, Manager at Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai, responded to this review

Dear antares62, The team at Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai would like to thank you very much for your review of your recent stay with us, we are very pleased that you enjoyed the facilities around the resort and Florina hopes that you will remember some Bahasa Malaysia that you have learnt on your next visit to Sabah! We look...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I used to work here! When I read some reviews I thought the hotel was not as good. But my recent visit back proved that this was not the case. The resort still looks beautiful. I noticed the very shinny marble in the lobby and the wooden panels looking polished. and then there is the view! OMG! What can I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brendan W
NRSK2016, Manager at Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai, responded to this review

Dear Brendan W, Thank you for your review, sounds like Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai has a special place in your heart! Do recommend us to your friends and family, we look forward to sharing this piece of tropical beach paradise with everyone. Warm regards Hotel Management

Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic beach side location and excellent rooms. The hotel has been designed sympathetic to the environment. The staff are very pleasant and want to help. Downsides checkin took 55 minutes even though it was not busy. No wifi in rooms which in today's world is a must. Restaurants which there are several off served food which I would class as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank riverlife
Patong, Thailand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent 3 magnificent days here. Purpose was for relaxation after 5 days in KK and was more than satisfied. Room was good with amazing view of ocean. Complex is so large with several restaurants. Beach is large with soft white sand and water was very warm in November. Pool area is also nice. Enjoyed the food here, bike riding, walking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Traveller9610
Anglesea, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 4 nights. About 45 minutes from the airport. It's a really nice hotel in beautiful grounds. Very comfortable beds. The breakfast buffet is very good, but unfortunately the coffee was never hot. There are several restaurants within the resort, we ate at the Noble House chinese restaurant, The Kingfisher and the Penyu restaurant (that's where they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mandy T
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,484 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1477)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (252)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (201)
Viewed
View from Room (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (186)
Viewed
Dining (66)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Other (665)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
10.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
9.5 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
1,908 reviews
4.0 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
1,202 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
1,101 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nexus Resort Karambunai is set within 3,335 acres of unique & unspoiled beauty. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai

Address: Nexus Resort Karambunai 100 Jalan Sepangar Bay, Kota Kinabalu 88993, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $81 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Fastbooking so you can book your Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nexus Resort And Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Karambunai
Nexus Resort Sabah
Nexus Resort Karambunai
Nexus Sabah Hotel
Nexus Karambunai Hotel
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai staff and other travelers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“pick ocean wing for best view or garden wing for natural view”
 of 5 bubbles reesemasihhidup, yesterday | Read review
“The resort is large from the reception to some rooms. It may be more comfortable nearby to avoid rides, but the remote rooms are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles antares62, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for an ocean view room. You won't regret it!”
 of 5 bubbles BrendanW218, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“I didn't need but i noticed at night other guests using mosquito repellent.”
 of 5 bubbles Traveller9610, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“We had a view of the ocean.”
  • Beautiful ocean
  • Sunset from room
 of 5 bubbles MandyT086, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay