We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dreamcatcher Travelers Refuge

Traveler (35)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (1)

About

#9 of 157 Specialty lodging in Penang Island
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Bed and breakfast in a heritage building in the middle of Georgetown with a mix of fusion and Kampung style.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Shuttle Bus Service
Room features
Air conditioning
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Budget
90Reviews
0Q+A
3Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 71
  • 14
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stayed here for 4 nights recently. Private room, had a mosquito net, fan, no AC. Room was quite small, had a small chair in it. Bathroom kept clean, communal. Chill area on main floor comfortable and cooler than room upstairs. Offered laundry service for 5 RM. breakfast was toast peanut butter small bananas, coffee and tea. Location is great, close to love lane and other restaurants. Staff were friendly and accommodating. We stayed over Chinese New Years so likely raised the price, but was expensive for what we got
Read more
BED BUGS!! And even worse, yes it's worse, a really rude and super aggressive manager/owner guy. I woke up with bites and also a Belgian girl had bed bugs on the outside of her suitcase and when we told the guy he literally yelled at us. He said they hadn't had them in a while and someone brought them in and everyone stayed out too late (although that had nothing to do with the topic at hand). Honestly, I should have called the POLICE. My Belgian, French and Malaysian roommates and I all left. One girl was shaking and crying because of the way he yelled, for over 10 minutes while she was getting her stuff together, in our faces!! Horrible experience. Minus that, the bottom floor area is cool, it's close to the main bits, the cleanliness was mediocre at best, beds are squeeky .. and the horrible mans fiance, who apologized for him, was sweet. I wouldn't stay here again if you paid me.
Read more
Response from RaneeHamzani, Manager at Dreamcatcher Travelers Refuge
Responded Oct 13, 2017
Hi! You did say it yourself that you checked your mattress for bedbugs when you checked in, and your mattress was clean. As for the Belgian girl, I checked it together with her on the day she checked in, because she mentioned that she's really scared of bedbugs and we asked her to hold on to a bedbug spray,just to make her feel comfortable. She found a bedbug outside of her suitcase,after 6 days of staying with us. Also you mentioned that it could be the other guest/s who stays in the same room with you, that brought in bedbug, after she got bitten and moved from the previous hostel to our hostel. The girl you mentioned, was crying because she was unhappy/frustrated finding the bedbug outside of her suitcase. I am sorry of the misunderstanding that happened on the day. Everybody got worked out because of this creature :) As I told you, we hardly have any issue with bedbugs, and saw this things happening to you nice people, my guests, frustrate me and I do hope the money we gave you for washing your bags and clothes is enough. Thank you for pointing it out to us, this bugs issue and gave us suggestions on how to kill them, through your experience working in a hostel.
Read more
This hostel has a very mellow vibe! There is a big common room in the ground floor with enough space to hang out with others! The bathrooms are very clean and get cleaned regularly and the beds are comfy! Don't expect a big party hostel, it is very small and calm but that makes it even more enjoyable! Recommended!
Read more
The Dreamcatcher Hostel is a very nice and friendly place: *great location *friendly staff *nice community area (with one computer) *clean rooms *wifi everywhere *very chilled atmosphere *only 2 showers
Read more
It's the lovely, comfortable downstairs lounge area that makes Dreamcatcher such a nice place to stay. There's books, computer, plants and a cat...and comfortable chairs and cushions. Dorms are small and clean but get very stuffy if your room mate decides to turn off the a/c in the night. The private rooms are at the front of the building and get some street noise. The beautiful wooden floors can be noisy if people thump like elephants. Bathrooms are clean and well maintained. There are hot showers. There is a laundry service, simple breakfast and very good WiFi. Staff are warm, welcoming and helpful. This is a quiet, relaxed place which will not suit those who like to drink and party in their guesthouse.
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
MalaysiaPenangPenang IslandGeorge Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing