We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
211 Macalister Road, George Town, Penang Island 10400 Malaysia
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
$41
View deal
Booking.com
$45
View deal
Agoda.com
$35
View deal
Trip.com$37
eDreams$45
StayForLong
View all 10 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (45)
Room & Suite (33)
Business Center & Event Rooms (8)

About

#52 of 211 in George Town
Location
2.8
Cleanliness
3.8
Service
3.3
Value
3.9
YMCA of Penang has just completed refurbishing their guest rooms on the East Wing & ready for the year end Christmas season. Room guest can now look forward to the well appointed room with brand- new appearance; bedding & mattresses, lighting, en-suite bathroom; now appear chic and modern looking. In-room amenities also feature flat screen TV with USB charging port for your devices apart from kettle for coffee making use & guest's convenience.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Badminton
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Clothes rack
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Malay
84Reviews2Q+A13Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 7
  • 38
  • 27
  • 5
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
YL S wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
Clean and good respons from the worker. They ready to help us. The restaurant they have in 1st floor is quite delicious too. Maybe the breakfast menu need more variant so the visitor who stays for 3 or more days still can enjoy it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
yss97 wrote a review Dec 2019
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia1444 contributions497 helpful votes
The rooms are spread out in the building and not that well sign-posted. When you get in, the beds are comfortable and pillows adequate. The other furnishings are basic but functional. Cleaniness is adequate. Breakfast is poor. The on-site restaurant is hit-and-miss. We ordered chicken chop and got fish and chips! It didn't seem worth arguing with the staff so we just ate it. There seems to be only 1 key per room, so it was slightly restrictive. For what you pay, it is OK as a place to sleep if you need to be in the area. Otherwise, try somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
ira c wrote a review Jun 2019
Mungkid, Indonesia1 contribution
Horrible. That’s the right word to describe our stay. They didn’t help us carry our baggage inside. We’re only 2 people with 2 large baggage and 1 small baggage with a wheel chair but they didn’t even bother to help. The receptionist only gave us the key to our room and said it was on the 3rd floor but we searched it and didn’t manage to found it. The security weren’t even helping when we told him that we couldn’t find the room. Luckily, we managed to found our room on the 4th floor. The room WAS NOT like in the picture. Last but not the least, it’s not safe. Note this is HORRIBLE and the hostel doesn’t deserve a star
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from YMCAPenangManagement, Manager at YMCA Penang
Responded Oct 21, 2019
Dear 954irac, Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you had experienced in terms of the service level and other shortcomings. We would like to thank you again for your kind understanding despite the shortcomings and for taking time to write to us. As a hostel accommodation provider ,we shall strive to further improve and heightened the level of services. We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves in the near future. Thank you.
Read more
Eva wrote a review Jun 2019
63 contributions9 helpful votes
We chose this hotel because it's just right at the opposite of Island Hospital, less than 5 minutes walk, which is very convenience if you go to Penang specifically for medical purpose. We chose the double bed type. no fridge in the room, there are some hit and miss but overall good. The hotel also provide breakfast. The biggest downside is the position of the ac is right under the bed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from YMCAPenangManagement, Manager at YMCA Penang
Responded Jun 27, 2019
Dear Vanesharc, Greeting from YMCA Penang. Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you had experienced. However, we assure you that we had address this issue with improvement solution. We would like to thank you again for your kind understanding and support despite the shortcomings and for taking time to write to us. And we looking forward to see you again in the near future at YMCA Penang. Your Sincerely,
Read more
l Wong wrote a review Apr 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Recently we stayed 3 weeks in YMCA Penang, We had always been happy with the accommodation and services. Since the buffet breakfast was introduced 1st April, we were disappointed with the food (oily and tasteless) and were concerned with some of the guests lacking public health hygiene. They were handling food with their fingers, opened food packages and putting them back. Some even dropped them on the floor and put them back on the same tray. There were no individual servings for butter, jam nor sugar. We raised our concerns with the Housekeeping Executive, she was defensive and dismissive as well, unwilling to hear us out. We hope Management will make changes to improve the standard practices if the buffet is to continue. We will continue to support and stay in YMCA in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from PENANGYMCA, Manager at YMCA Penang
Responded May 7, 2019
Dear 4leafclovers, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. Your feedback is important to us and will be reviewed by our management team. We will improve our services to serve you better. We look forward to welcoming you back at our property on your next trip to Penang! Thank you very much. Best Regards, Hostel Management Team.
Read more
C K Yong wrote a review Feb 2019
17 contributions40 helpful votes
Check-In: Requested for early check-in when I book online. Turn up at 1.30 pm and was told that room was not ready and have to come back by 3.00 pm. Was charged $2.00 for car park even when I could not check-in. Shower and toilet; Absolutely cramped. No space for brushing teeth. Toilet area was infested with tiny biting insects. Air-con: Takes a long time to cool down and at night, it warms up rather than cool down. Breakfast: One of the staff rudely shouts at patrons. Advertised as continental but definitely not it. There are no ingredients in the fried noodles, fried rice etc except for one hard boiled egg. It was supposed to be free breakfast but the staff was hawking off the ingredients by telling patrons to pay for it at extravagant prices - a plastic cup of papaya for $6.00 when you get it outside for $1.50 etc. The only staff that are courteous and friendly are the cleaners and security guards. All other staff are pretty rude and unhelpful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Go somewhere else. Do not bother even to look at this place.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from YMCAPenangManagement, Manager at YMCA Penang
Responded May 7, 2019
Dear CheeKYong, Greeting from YMCA of Penang! Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience during your recent stay with us. We valued your feedback and please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you had experienced and alerting us to the problems. We assure you that we had address this issue with improvement solution. Thank you again for your kind understanding and look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Best Regards, Hostel Department Team
Read more
Rahardjo wrote a review Oct 2018
Jakarta, Indonesia194 contributions78 helpful votes
The room are very outdated. Although it is very close to penang island hospital which most of the guest will go if they book there. They have new premium room available but limited. The checkin process was a painfull process. Everything was just so slow. The room are not clean at all. Found hairs on clean towel. Lots of them.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Traveled
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Quest32906715204, Manager at YMCA Penang
Responded Nov 30, 2018
Dear Rahardjo Thank you for staying with us recently and your feedbacks, this will definitely help us to improve moving forward. By the way, we have just completed another round of room upgrading exercise for our East Wing guest rooms. You can be sure ALL our rooms (Deluxe & Premium) are now refurbished and given a more contemporary look with modern features built-in & chic appearance. Do Check us out! Hostel Team
Read more
mamanic wrote a review Sep 2018
Jakarta, Indonesia57 contributions6 helpful votes
We picked this hotel considering the 3 mins walking distance from island hospital, where we took our parents for some medical attention. Aside than that not much to enjoy from this hotel. It's quite far from convenient store, bus stop and places to eat...recommend to have your own vehicle or use grab. Aircon and hotwater ok, room provided with soap and shampoo (no hairdryer, toothbrush & toothpaste), electric kettle, 2 pack of instant coffee,two pairs of glass and 2 towels + floormat....oh yes, wifi is ok just make sure to ask for password at reception and no early check in (3pm check in) for us...
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Quest32906715204, Manager at YMCA Penang
Responded Nov 30, 2018
Dear emikosuryali, Thank you for staying with us recently and your review. By the way, we have just completed another round of room upgrading exercise for our East Wing guest rooms. You can be sure ALL our rooms are now refurbished and given a more contemporary look with modern features built-in & chic appearance. Do Check us out! Hostel Team
Read more
TentenKezia wrote a review Jul 2018
Tangerang, Indonesia25 contributions25 helpful votes
The Hotel located near Island hospital which is a very good place to stay when you visited Island Hospital. Breakfast is standard. You can choose between Noodle/kwetiau and Bread with ham/jam. There is a taxi in front of the hotel so it is easy to go everywhere.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Quest32906715204, Manager at YMCA Penang
Responded Nov 30, 2018
Dear TentenKezia, Thank you for staying with us recently and your review. By the way, we have just completed another round of room upgrading exercise for our East Wing guest rooms. You can be sure ALL our rooms are now refurbished and given a more contemporary look with modern features built-in & chic appearance. Do Check us out! Hostel Team
Read more
DimsumA362 wrote a review May 2018
Jakarta, Indonesia533 contributions112 helpful votes
+1
The hotel had the best location as it was just accross Island Hospital. If you or your family have to visit Island Hospital, then YMCA is the perfect choice. I and my wife stayed here for about 1 week for medical assessment in Island Hospital. It's a 2 star hotel and therefore you need to manage your expectation as it would definetely not a marriot or ritz experience. The building was quite old and so are the rooms. Basic needs were fulfilled: warm water, good and clean beds, towels, simple breakfasts and of course helpfull staffs. The price they offerred was really a value for money. They have now 2 types of rooms: the renovated ones and the old ones. We were lucky as we could experience both types of rooms. The renovated ones were Ibis styles: budget but modern styles. The old ones (which is cheaper) were 1980s styles but stillacceptable. Although there were not many options for meals but the restaurant and cafe in Island Hospital is accessible during working hour and there was also 7-eleven in about 5 minutes walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Quest32906715204, Manager at YMCA Penang
Responded Nov 30, 2018
Dear DimsumA362, Glad to have you staying with us recently in May and appreciate your feedbacks given, we will definitely take that into consideration for improvement in near future. By the way, we have just completed another round of room upgrading exercise for our East Wing guest rooms. You can be sure ALL our rooms are now refurbished and given a more contemporary look with modern features built-in & chic appearance. Do Check us out! Hostel Team
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$27 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ymca international hostel penang hotel penang island
LOCATION
MalaysiaPenangPenang IslandGeorge Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
71
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about YMCA Penang
Which popular attractions are close to YMCA Penang?
Nearby attractions include Dharmikarama Burmese Temple (0.7 miles), Reclining Buddha Wat Chaiyamangalaram (0.7 miles), and Pulau Tikus Markets (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at YMCA Penang?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at YMCA Penang?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at YMCA Penang?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at YMCA Penang?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to YMCA Penang?
Conveniently located restaurants include Heritage Artisans, Ivy's Nyonya Cuisine, and Maple Palace Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at YMCA Penang?
Yes, guests have access to yoga classes during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at YMCA Penang?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, and Malay.
Are there any historical sites close to YMCA Penang?
Many travelers enjoy visiting George Town (1.6 miles), Armenian Street (1.6 miles), and Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion (1.4 miles).