We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Silka Johor Bahru

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Silka Johor Bahru
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 336: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a great 5 days stay in this hotel. Most of the staffs were wonderful and attentive. However, I especially enjoyed the fantastic service provided by Shafiq. Thank you for your great help. On the other hand, the food in the restaurant wasn't that great. Overall everything good. I will definitely visit this hotel in future.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ariunaa A
SilkaHotelsMsia, Director of Operations at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review

Dear Ariunaa A, Warm greetings from Silka Johor Bahru. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us overall, and look forward to wlecoming you again soon. Sincerely, Rudza Johari Director of Operations, Silka Johor Bahru

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I struggled to write this review because it was such a poor start. We'd driven from Singapore facing the Woodlands causeway crossing and the hours of frustration only to arrive 36km later (2.5hrs) to this hotel we had booked through a Groupon voucher. We couldn't access our room as it wasn't ready so we headed off to do some local...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Papalite
SilkaHotelsMsia, Director of Operations at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review

Dear Papalite, Warm greetings from Silka Johor Bahru. Thank you for sharing your feedback and experience with us. We are happy to know that our staff took the time and effort to attend to your needs in a professional and courteous manner. However, we also acknowledge that there are areas where we could have fared better. Indeed, the room should...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked my room using booking.com when it said breakfast included, when i arrived there, it was excluding breakfast. The staff named Shafiq was very friendly, we checked in 15 minutes earlier in the deluxe room, spacious, well maintained. Some of the tv channels didnt have proper satellite. I had a comfortable stay with balcony in my room and king size...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jen L
SilkaHotelsMsia, Director of Operations at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review

Dear Jen L, Warm greetings from Silka Johor Bahru. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We have taken note of the areas where we can improve for a better experience in future. Meanwhile, we are pleased to know that you were well attended to by our staff, and found our room comfortable during your stay with us. We...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The first thing I noticed was that the lobby reeked of cigarettes. The rooms are big, spacious and fairly well kept. Parking is available but it is situated at another building (NO LIFTS! have to use stairs :<), making it hard to move our luggage to and from the car.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette l
SilkaHotelsMsia, Director of Operations at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review

Dear Jeanette, Warm greetings from Silka Johor Bahru. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and for highlighting the issue of the cigarette smell at our lobby. We will look into this and ensure the necessary steps are taken to rid the area of the smell. We hope you will give us a chance to serve you again. Sincerely,...

KL
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Family trip booked 3 deluxe double. Took 1 hour to check us in from 2 pm. Rooms were spacious but quite old and one of the room had a smokey smell and there were cigarettes butts in the glasses left in the toilet. Air cons not functioning well and one of it broke down in the mid of night emitting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulieVerena
SilkaHotelsMsia, Director of Operations at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review

Dear JulieVerena, Warm greetings from Silka Johor Bahru. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We truly apologise for the unsatisfactory experience during your stay with us. We will brief and remind our staff on the importance of attending to guests' needs in a professional, courteous and tactful manner, and ensure this is practiced consistently moving forward. We hope...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice place with large spacious room. Swimming pool is huge and very suitable for children. Restaurant and breakfast served were not bad although not superb. The trouble is parking since it is at another building nearby. Other than that is a good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashaari S
SilkaHotelsMsia, Director of Operations at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review

Dear Ashaari S, Warm greetings from Silka Johor Bahru. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to know you had a good stay with us overall, and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Sincerely, Ridza Johari Director of Operations. Silka Johor Bahru

Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewed December 14, 2016

Had to attend a wedding in Johor and this was nearest to the restaurant. Booked 4 standard rooms but all the rooms smelled like cigarettes even though we specifically requested for non-smoking rooms..however the staff did try to help with air fresheners and the smell was bearable after. its a good place to stay as its a few minutes away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lexine S
SilkaHotelsMsia, Director of Operations at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review

Dear Lexine S, Warm greetings from Silka Johor Bahru. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We sincerely apologise for the cigarette smell you encountered upon entering your room and moving forward, we will ensure the rooms are inspected and delivered according to our guests' requirements, for a pleasant and comfortable stay. Please do visit us again, and we...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed December 12, 2016 via mobile

Breakfast staff very nice, first time since travelling overseas over different countries there is a egg station where you order how you want your eggs cookes which is nice. Good for 1 night stay. Wifi is strong. The only negative I have is the air conditioning. Im not sure if other rooms experienced this but the air con sounded like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank veronicaly
SilkaHotelsMsia, Director of Operations at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review

Dear veronicaly, Warm greetings from Silka Johor Bahru. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to learn you enjoyed breakfast at our hotel, and found the quality of our WiFi satisfactory. We do however, apologise for the unsatisfactory air-conditioning which resulted in you not getting a good night's sleep. Our maintenance team are in the process...

Reviewed December 10, 2016 via mobile

Simply love the room.... the shower was excellent. We checked into business suite and nothing like i expected.... room is divided between study room and bed room separated by door.... and with 2 shower room was awesome. Ill definately come here again. Just the parking is a bit hassle with no lift from level 3 to go down.... otherwise its...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mohd K
SilkaHotelsMsia, Director of Operations at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review

Dear Mohd K, Warm greetings from Silka Johor Bahru. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are pleased to know you had a good stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Sincerely, Ridza Johari Director of Operations, Silka Johor Bahru

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed November 16, 2016

I stayed in the Business Suite during X'mas of 2015. It's huge, clean and convenient. Hotel staff are friendly and nice. However, check-in was a little messy on X'mas eve and I heard a few people quarreled with the check-in staff over late check-in and one particular unpleasant argument I heard was overbooking. A family from KL had not been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seowksseng101
SilkaHotelsMsia, Director of Operations at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review

Dear seowksseng101, Warm greetings from Silka Johor Bahru. Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are pleased that you found the level of cleanliness, comfort and service to be good and up to your expectations. Your input on the room delivery timing during peak season is duly noted and we will work to ensure...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

237 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (217)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (143)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
2.5 mi away
JS Hotel
JS Hotel
#20 of 104 in Johor Bahru
18 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rooms Boutique Hotel
Rooms Boutique Hotel
#33 of 104 in Johor Bahru
42 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hallmark Hotel
Grand Hallmark Hotel
#62 of 104 in Johor Bahru
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Nex Hotel Johor Bahru
Nex Hotel Johor Bahru
#29 of 104 in Johor Bahru
5 reviews
2.2 mi away
Elmark Hotel
Elmark Hotel
#25 of 104 in Johor Bahru
10 reviews
5.5 mi away
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
#28 of 104 in Johor Bahru
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Silka Johor Bahru is a value led international chain hotel in Johor Bahru, Malaysia. It has 252 well-appointed rooms that are suitable for families, business and value-conscious travellers. Located near Jusco Tebrau City, the hotel is less than 20 minutes from Johor Bahru City Centre and less than 15 minutes from the Singapore border (woodlands checkpoint). Silka Johor Bahru is also the only star rated hotel exclusively associated with the Johor Premium Outlets (JPO) which is about 25 minutes away from the hotel. Asia's 1st Legoland themepark is only a 25 minute drive away. Silka Johor Bahru also has a range of food & beverage outlets, meeting rooms and a banquet hall which caters for all dining, function and event needs. You'll never miss home when you stay with us! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Silka Johor Bahru

Address: Jalan Masai | Mukim Plentong, Johor Bahru 81100, Malaysia (Formerly Dorsett Johor Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Price Range: $22 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silka Johor Bahru 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Booking.com so you can book your Silka Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Silka Johor Bahru staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Silka Johor Bahru staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Deluxe room was spacious!”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 weeks ago | Read review
“you get what you paid for”
 of 5 bubbles jeanettel945, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“We stayed at 2nd floor and the rooms have poor sound proofing.”
 of 5 bubbles JulieVerena, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“non-smoking rooms would be best”
 of 5 bubbles lexines2016, Dec 14, 2016 | Read review
“Book the suites. It's beautiful!”
 of 5 bubbles seowksseng101, Nov 16, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay