We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Sunbird Livingstonia Beach

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sunbird Livingstonia Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 87: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
187 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

Very nice rooms on the beach of Lake Malawi. Breakfast is very good. Location is easy from Zambia and Lilongwe. Staff are very pleasant and helpful. Beautiful pool and pub area overlooking the lake. The lake water is clear and beautiful and it is close enough to the local village to experience the local environment.

Helpful?
Thank Jenny i
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, responded to this review

Dear Jenny, Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, and we hope that you visit us again very soon to enjoy the beach and the warmth of the people. Kind regards. More 

Lilongwe
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

This is a lovely hotel with a spectacular view of Lake Malawi. Great for a holiday, nice beach, good swimming pool and an average gym. Staff are quite courteous and professional. You will get value for your money.

Helpful?
Thank jamesoW1628HO
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, responded to this review

Dear James, Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Sunbird Livingstonia Beach. We really appreciate your feedback, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come again soon!!! Kind regards. More 

India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2016

We stayed at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach for almost a week in early April. It is a most wonderful hotel. Lovely service, the rooms overlooking the Lake Malawi are amazing. The beach is clean and well maintained. The entire hotel staff looked after us very well. The room I had was spacious - bigger than some NYC apartments! Really. I was... More 

Helpful?
Thank LRa0
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relation at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great review of Sunbird Livingstonia Beach. It brings us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we do hope that we are fortunate enough to have you come back to Salima and stay with us. We are looking at solutions to the ant problem that we are having, and... More 

Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2016

Not much has changed in 20 years (the last time I stayed here), which is good and bad. The good is that the charm is still there. It's in a beautiful location and the staff really go above and beyond when it comes to friendliness (speed is another thing, but friendliness is top notch). The hotel pool is just steps... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Melssel
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit (including the food and the service), despite the mishap during check in. We sincerely apologize for this, and we are glad it didn't put a dent in your stay. We are in the process of switching internet service providers, and as a result, we are facing... More 

Dehradun, India
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2016

We went for lunch at this place. The view is amazing. They have their own private beach. Really amazing ambience. Food - not so much. The staff said there was no electricity, so if we order food it would take more than an hour. Our only option was the overpriced buffet. For vegetarians, there werent many options, and the price... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PradWestside
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our deepest apologies in regards to the food. We hope that you have a better experience should you visit us again. Your feedback is much appreciated, and we hope you come back to enjoy the views and the lake. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2016 via mobile

I heard this would be the best and most exclusive hotel in Malawi. And it probably is. Good value for money, although the hotel is old and the rooms are basic but spacious and clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good food and nice swimming pool. Right next on the beach with a stunning view. Small gym facilities.

Helpful?
1 Thank Karin K
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you come again soon. More 

Narre Warren, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2016

We finally arrived here after staying in a couple of other not-so-nice places. I was tired of living with heat, no power, terrible quality food and dirty bathrooms (which is what we found in many other places where we had stayed). Finally........something better. Excellent, even! Everything about the place tells you it's nice. The clean uniforms of all the staff... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mishelle P
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! We are glad you were satisfied with the service you got and that you were happy with the environment and staff. We strive to serve you better, and we are very happy that you had a good time while you stayed with us (we hope your children enjoyed it as much as you did... More 

Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
239 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015

We only spent a very short time here, but I felt like I was transported to another world. The beach was clean and I enjoyed my time by the beach. The rondavels are so rustic but sunbird brings a level of quality to the hotel. I would come back here on holiday.

Helpful?
1 Thank SZavahir
Malawi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015 via mobile

Beautiful location, well presented, clean rooms, very friendly staff an ideal place to relax. Air con and fridge in the room. Swimming pool or Lake for swimming. Fabulous breakfast! No electricity, no problem there's a generator

Helpful?
1 Thank JintyC44
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

Paid for a single day visit with a group of friends. They put pressure on us to order from the buffet but the food was often left uncovered by guests and the waiters just waved multiple flies away as they walked past instead of recovering it. So we ordered from the menu and the food took at least an hour... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank laura1044

Travelers are raving about these Salima hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (92)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salima
54.1 mi away
Sunbird Nkopola Lodge
Sunbird Nkopola Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mangochi
4.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
0.0 mi away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Blue Zebra Island Lodge
Blue Zebra Island Lodge
#1 of 1 in Maleri Island
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ngala Beach Lodge
Ngala Beach Lodge
#1 of 8 in Nkhata Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Safari Beach Lodge
Safari Beach Lodge
#3 of 24 in Salima
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Sunbird Livingstonia Beach

Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Sunbird Livingstonia Beach

Address: Senga Bay, Salima, Malawi (Formerly Le Meridien Livingstonia Beach)
Location: Malawi > Central Region > Salima
Price Range: $217 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunbird Livingstonia Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sunbird Livingstonia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbird Livingstonia Beach Hotel Salima
Sunbird Livingstonia Beach Salima
Sunbird Livingstonia Beach Malawi/Salima
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay