We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Bush Street Tawi Conservancy, 00502 Kenya
Expedia.com
Snaptravel
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
Agoda.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (461)
Room & Suite (38)
Pool & Beach (21)

About

#3 of 22 Specialty lodging in Amboseli Eco-system
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Tawi Lodge consists of 13 en-suite cottages all situated to face Mt. Kilimanjaro Each cottage has its own wooden-deck veranda and a fabulous view of the highest mountain in Africa, even from the comfort of your bed or your bathtub. Double or twin cottages, all have ensuite bathrooms fitted with both a bath and shower. A fireplace and a minibar for those very special sundowners will make you enjoy even more your stay. Lighting and water systems are powered 24h thanks to solar power, this system is backed-up by a generator to ensure you will always have total comfort All bathrooms have hot/cold water, flush toilets, bath and shower and shampoo/conditioner.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Evening entertainment
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Spa
Internet
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Massage
Gift shop
Outdoor fireplace
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Great View

Location

Full view
Contact
Bush Street Tawi Conservancy, 00502 Kenya
Getting there
Amboseli Airport13 miSee all flights
Kilaguni Airport46 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
244Reviews3Q+A66Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 226
  • 15
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Nimu wrote a review Sep 2020
11 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Our stay at Tawi Lodge was amazing! We got such a warm welcome from Peter and Alison and such great service from the staff. The lodge is beautiful! Elephants come to drink water at the watering hole just a few meters from the swimming pool and lounge areas, overlooking the majestic Mt. Kilimanjaro, which is clearly visible from all rooms. Every meal was tasty and well presented. The lodge is minutes away from Amboseli National Park, and sits within a conservancy that is home to an array of wild animals. Perfect getaway if you're looking for a tranquil vacation. Definitely coming back again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from New African Territories , Agency / Consultant at Tawi Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us! Glad to you enjoyed your time at the lodge and the gorgeous waterhole we have in front of the lodge! Asante sana for the support and we hope to see you back at Tawi soon :)
Read more
Rene G wrote a review Mar 2020
5 contributions1 helpful vote
We were in Tawi for only 2 days, and had to leave to fly home to Canada because of the COVID-19 virus. We were absolutely blown away by the location, the people, the food and the views of elephants, zebras, baboons, etc. from the pool area. We were lucky in that we had fabulous views of Mt. Kilamanjaro both mornings, before the mountain disappeared behind fog. Our guide, Julius, was amazing -- he was knowledgeable, funny, thoughtful and an exceptionally kind man. We learned a bit about his life while sitting on a grassy plain after a game walk, having a "sun downer" (which in itself was wonderful) -- we learned about his life, his family, his goals, and were impressed with him all over again. We were led on the walking game drive by Larushia (I'm sure that's not the proper spelling), another Masai guide, who knew everything there was to know about the flora and fauna in that area. Our room was outstanding and lacked for nothing. They even loaned me a hair dryer!! The chef prepares beautiful meals, and even packed us a breakfast when we had to leave early our last morning in order to catch a plane out. As soon as we are able to fly again, we will definitely be back to Tawi and stay longer than 2 days. Can't wait to go back! Rene & Peter, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: We stayed in room #7 "Mwanzo" and it was in a perfect, quiet location.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from AfricanTerritories, Tawi Lodge at Tawi Lodge
Responded Apr 9, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! Yes, please do come back to Tawi once we are able to fly again :) Julius is such a talented guide, so knowledge and passionate of the Amboseli region. We hope you are keeping safe in Canada and see you soon.
Read more
Robin S wrote a review Mar 2020
Pau, France12 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
I took my daughter to Amboseli to see her first elephants and wanted to stay in a lodge within a private reservation close to the national park. Taxi Lodge was exceptional at so many levels: from the wonderful enthusiastic welcome from the whole team and the personalized attention thereafter, to the beautiful rooms and delicious meals - but having a waterhole filled with elephants at the end of the pool was exceptionally special if somewhat surreal The highlight of our stay were the game drives where the passion, knowledge, courtesy and humour of our expert Masai guide, Julius, ensured we left with wonderful memories (and loads of photos of elephants ++++).
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from AfricanTerritories, Tawi Lodge at Tawi Lodge
Responded Apr 9, 2020
Amboseli is the best spot to see Kenya's huge elephants herds, we are so lucky to be set in our own private conservancy whilst being so close Amboseli National Park, lots of opportunities to see lots of elephants! Thank for you choosing Tawi to create these memories with your daughter! Hope to see you back soon.
Read more
Tlk wrote a review Feb 2020
180 contributions185 helpful votes
Second trip to Amboseli. We live in Kenya so go to safari lodges often, and Tawi is a great choice. Food was excellent, room was huge as was the bathroom. Mattress very comfortable. Even had a fireplace though rarely cold enough to need one, would be nice atmosphere. While the rooms had tent doors and windows, it was an actual structure with hard walls, so if you are not sure you like the "exposure" to animals a tented camp offers, this might be a plus. Watering hole by the pool so the view might be elephants or zebra or who knows, and this is only if Kilimanjaro isn't out...if it is, wow, it dominates the common areas such as the pool, dining room, lounge, and fire pit. Guide and staff were all very good.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Think all have it, but ask for a view of Kili
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from AfricanTerritories, Tawi Lodge at Tawi Lodge
Responded Apr 9, 2020
Tawi is such a great choice if you live in Nairobi, not to far and a beautiful drive! Asante sana for such a detailed review of your stay with us! Our waterhole is such a treat, always something to see and be in awe of. We are so lucky to have such amazing views of the majestic Mt. Kilimanjaro. We hope to see you back at Tawi soon for your next Nairobi escape.
Read more
80W wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
I had booked a stay at Tawi because I wanted to conclude our two weeks in Kenya taking in views of Kilimanjaro. I told my partner that it was the least interesting of the three lodges that we had booked. Then, we arrived. Tawi’s web site doesn’t do this place justice and it exceeded all of my expectations. Friendly and helpful staff, spectacular design, gorgeous finishes, enormous room, delicious food. Our guide is worth mentioning. He was the best that we had experienced in Kenya- by a long shot. I’m disappointed that I can’t remember his name- perhaps it was Julius. He was kind and interesting and incredibly knowledgeable. He grew up in the area and educated himself in Nairobi. Ask for him. It will only enhance your experience. Finally, I wish that we had been able to stay for a week. It’s a bit out of the way but worth your effort. You won’t be disappointed.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from AfricanTerritories, Tawi Lodge at Tawi Lodge
Responded Apr 9, 2020
A big thank you for your lovely review, we are so happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations and we were able to showcase our amazing lodge and location to you. We hope to see you back at Tawi soon and hopefully for loner next time!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$459 - $930 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tawi hotel amboseli national park
LOCATION
KenyaRift Valley ProvinceAmboseli Eco-system
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tawi Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Tawi Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Maasai Heritage Museum (2.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Tawi Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Tawi Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Tawi Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tawi Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Tawi Lodge have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Tawi Lodge offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.