We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel Tien-Shan

#10 of 66 Hotels in Almaty
Certificate of Excellence
Bogenbay Batyra St., 115, Almaty, Kazakhstan
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Tien-Shan
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

An elegant old school hotel with friendly staff. Well located for Zenkov cathedral and the Green Bazaar. The rooms are well furnished and fairly big, the baths are huge with endless hot water but there is no tea making facilities in the rooms. The restaurant was disappointing, I ordered baked cod which arrived almost raw and I had to send... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clivedubai
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been to many places some good and some not so good. However, this hotel on this visit from Jan 5 through Jan 10 was superb. The hotel is itself grand, has nice decor and is extremely clean. But, what makes the place is the staff who were wonderfully helpful, extremely pleasant and extra professional. Unlike many places in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erich S
George K, Director of Front Office at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Erich S, First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us at Grand Hotel Tien Shan. I appreciate for giving us the highest mark. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel, location was good for you and also nice to hear that room was comfortable for you,... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
263 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015

I booked having checked with TripAdvisor and was not disappointed. Good location, high standard all through out when it came to rooms, breakfast, general facilities and service. I will stay here upon my next visit definitely.

Helpful?
Thank michael c
George K, Director of Front Office at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us at the Grand Hotel Tien Shan. It is nice to hear that we have met all your expectations and I see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will be delighted to see you again at our hotel soon. Thank you! Best Regards, George Kim More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

It is worth staying in the Tien-Shan for the lift instruction alone - if these do not lift your spirits, I can not imagine what will... and you have plenty of time to read them as it is the slowest lift you have probably ever been in ... but that is ok as there are only three floors in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank A P
George K, Director of Front Office at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing Grand Hotel Tien Shan and your recommendation of us, we appreciate it. I am glad to hear that overall you have liked our hotel and we will be delighted to see you again at the Grand Hotel Tien Shan. Thank you also for detailed description of our elevator and floor system even Front Desk... More 

Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
102 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

This hotel is located at city center. At south of this hotel, there are Panfilov Park, Green Bazaar, Zhibek Zholy street and so on. At north, there are Republic Square, Kok Tobe cable car foot station (cable car was not operating in August 2015) and so on. Everything was all right except one small happening. When I finished taking photo... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tadahiro H
George K, Director of Front Office at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Tadahiro, First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us at the Grand Hotel Tien Shan. I apologize for inconvenience which you have faced during your stay. You are right that it is fixable issue. We always strive to provide our guest all that he/she is needed. The next time you just need to... More 

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015

The hotel is very ideally located. The rooms are very spacious and well appointed. Serves good breakfast. Nice indoor pool and good spa.Very helpful staff. I would Highly recommend.Overall we had a nice stay.

Helpful?
Thank RajivGupta61
George K, Director of Front Office at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Gupta, Thank you very much for taking your time and review us. I am glad to hear that location of our hotel was ideally for you and it is also good to hear that room, breakfast and other facilities were met your expectations. Thank you for your recommendations of our hotel we really appreciate it. We hope to... More 

Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2015 via mobile

I could not believe how rude and unhelpful the reception staff was when my wife tried to check in!!!! I was delayed arriving and even though my wife had the email and booking references the desk manager was not going to let her into the room. It was nearly midnight and he made her wait and was arguing. He made... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank knwiseman
George K, Director of Front Office at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our hotel. I would like personally apologize for case which you have faced during your stay. All your comments have been noted and it has been taken all necessary actions to avoid such issues in the future. We hope that you will give us one more chance... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in this hotel during our summer holiday. The location was perfect. There are plenty of cafes and restaurants near by. The room was reasonably large. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Although there was no kettle in the room but we were able to have boiled water and cups... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
George K, Director of Front Office at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Burlingham, Thank you very much for the highest mark and the great review about Grand Hotel Tien Shan. I am glad to hear that location of our hotel was perfect, SPA was nice and room with bed were very comfortable for you. It is nice to hear also that even you did not have kettle in the room... More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

The hotel lives up to its reputation and proudly display their Trip Advisor award for 2015 at their reception desk. Service and staff were good and the breakfast staff were particularly helpful and spoke good English. However, their were a few hidden concerns that I have. First of all they charge 9000 tenge per night for an additional folding bed... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff S
George K, Director of Front Office at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all I would like to thank you for your time to leaving your review about our hotel. Special thanks for your detailed review which is very helpful for us because we always strive to provide the best service and such notes are helping us to fix our small issues to make further stay of guests better.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

Stayed during a business trip to Almaty. Staff were friendly and hotel well appointed. Lack of English TV was a little disappointing but not something that would stop me staying again. Plenty of great restaurants within walking distance. Well worth checking out if visiting Almaty.

Helpful?
2 Thank BigST99
George K, Director of Front Office at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for leaving your review about our hotel. I am glad to hear that in general you have liked our hotel and we were delighted to serve you. Your comment about English TV channel have been taken in note and passed to all necessary departments to fix this issue. We hope to see you again... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almaty hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Almaty
Holiday Inn Almaty
#14 of 66 in Almaty
3.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rixos Almaty
Rixos Almaty
#2 of 66 in Almaty
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kazzhol
Kazzhol
#12 of 66 in Almaty
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty
2.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Almaty
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Almaty Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay