We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

MAQAN Hotel

Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Traveler (3)
Dining (18)
Room & Suite (16)

About

#25 of 93 hotels in Almaty
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Maqan is a boutique hotel of a new formation. It is design hotel which gives to visitors’ a new visual experience, a special esthetics of rest. Standard rooms have comfortable furniture and an interior, equipped from the point of the view of convenience, which is so necessary during having a rest. Rooms of hotel have the certain toilet room with a shower booth and the hairdryer. We provide the TV, satellite television, and also a minibar with the safe for storage of valuable things for our guests. Each harmoniously planned room of DELUXE class includes a comfortable double bed, the plasma TV 43 inches, a table, thereby providing comfortable stay in boutique hotel. A qualitative soundproofing provides the maximum silence in rooms. Each hotel has a restaurant, but we speak not just about an institution for breakfasts, we order the concept of modern city cafe, which can be appreciated by both guests of our hotel and residents. Fashionable place, we are in a trend, on popularity wave we also understand what high-quality rest is. A fabulous interior ideally put light and, of course an ideal sound - a dream audio-perfectionist. Excellent kitchen, quality of products and professionalism of the chef won't leave indifferent even experienced gourmets.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Parking garage
Secured parking
Street parking
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Shared lounge / TV area
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Minibar
Bath / shower
Smoking rooms available
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Russian
15Reviews
0Q+A
0Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 8
  • 2
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Upon arrival, the hotel appeared to be a cozy, chic and sophisticated boutique hotel near the airport. Danial, the front desk clerk greeted me. He was helpful with the check-in service. I didn't think I had enough money to get a taxi for the next day, but Danial reassured me by calling a taxi that charged a standard price to the airport. Next, I went up to my room and was pleasantly surprised by the newness of it and modern design. It was very clean and comfortable. The only amenity that the hotel didn't have was body lotion, which I had forgotten to bring. The towels appeared white, fresh and new. The next morning, I was greeted by friendly dining room staff for breakfast. I was pleasantly surprised by the fact that breakfast was included in the price of the hotel. It was not buffet style but served hot individually and in generous portions. First was the warm oatmeal/porridge, croissant, butter, and yogurt. I thought that was all the breakfast I was going to get. Then eggs, sausage and grilled vegetables were placed in front of me and when I thought I was finished, out came a platter of sliced fruit of oranges, pineapple, kiwi and apples served with coffee or tea. Wow!! was all I could say with my mouth full and looking out the large windows with the scenic view of the mountains in a cozy chic décor on one side and a classy European style on the other side of the dining room gave me a warm, fuzzy feeling. The disadvantages of the hotel are no ATM machine, no body lotion and located far from city centre and isolated, but near the airport and great mountain view. Positive things are low price for high quality, clean, new, modern, wonderful hotel staff, great mountain view, peaceful, quiet and yummy breakfast. Overall, I enjoyed my 1 night stay and recommend this hotel to everyone who is travelling to Almaty.
Read more
Response from Anara202020, General Manager at MAQAN Hotel
Responded May 20, 2019
Dear averypompeii, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at MAQAN Hotel Almaty. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am particularly pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality. I will share your comments with our team. Here at MAQAN, we continuously strive to exceed your expectations. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future. Best regards, Anara Kospanova General Manager
Read more
The rooms are nice , well kept - really nothing to Complain about. The breakfast is not present. You could order from a menu - first it is not a lot on it. Secondly , 50% they did not have. Apart from that, after the moved the breakfast to the bar on the 7th floor - the atmosphere is good. The staff is really nice and try their best, but they are overwhelmed. For the price it is ok- however you find for that price other hotels with better organized service and breakfast.
Read more
Response from Anara202020, Генеральный директор at MAQAN Hotel
Responded Jan 28, 2019
Dear thomasnV2101LR, Thank you for a review of our property, your comments are very valued. We appreciate your feedback about our rooms and staff and your kind comments about our bar on the 7th floor. Here at MAQAN Hotel Almaty we take our roles very seriously and we commit to providing the outstanding level of service to all of our quest at all times. At the moment we are in the process to change our breakfast menu and we hope that on your next visit you will enjoy it. Thank you again for being our loyal guest, and we look forward to welcome you again in your next trip to Almaty! Warmest regards, Anara Kospanova, General Manager MAQAN Hotel Almaty
Read more
This hotel is very good quality and a great location near an excellent Mall and of course, Kok-Tobe. Be sure to use the Y.Taxi app to get cheap trips to everywhere from here including quick and easy access to the airport. The staff here are fantastic and with less than a full days' notice was able to help us arrange day trips to Charyn Canyon and Almaty lake. I have seen other reviews where people report poor experience with the staff. I cannot speak for them but can say that our experience was excellent and they went out of their way to ensure we had water and were happy and able to do everything we wanted. Perhaps they are responding to previous feedback. Breakfast is good but a bit too expensive for what it is and it is better to eat out. The restaurant upstairs was not open while we visited but this was not an issue. Rooms do not generally have bathtubs but they are nice and comfortable. Inexpensive hotel which stands out from the rest.
Read more
Response from Anara K, General Manager at MAQAN Hotel
Responded Jan 3, 2019
Dear Daryl S, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at MAQAN Hotel Almaty. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am particularly pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality. I will share your comments with our team. Here at MAQAN, we continuously strive to exceed your expectations. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future. Best regards, Anara Kospanova General Manager
Read more
Hotel Maqan was more or less a well-designed but ordinarily-staffed hotel. The position of the hotel is not excellent - it is only 1.5km from the city centre, but you need to get a taxi to and from the hotel every time. The hotel use a “driver” rather than a cheap taxi. If you get a taxi from the city using an app like Uber or similar, it will cost around 400 Tenge, if you get the hotel’s driver, the driver will charge you 2000 Tenge every time. I thought this was a little silly and frustrating. I checked in early at the hotel, but never once was I told that I would have to pay for that early check in. Then when I went to finalize the bill, they said oh and you have extra fee for early check-in - ah, if you had have told me I was going to have to pay extra, I wouldn’t have checked in early... communication was not excellent with this hotel. On the last day I was there, the water supply was turned off by the city government, so I was unable to shower or anything. I understand that this was not the hotel’s problem, but still it was a very frustrating experience as I had a long-haul flight to take that afternoon. So by the time I arrived at my next destination, I hadn’t showered for almost 48 hours. I think the hotel could have at least apologized for there being no water when I checked out that day, but they didn’t say anything about it at all. The hotel is well-designed and it’s nice to look at, but that’s about as far as it goes. The breakfast is ordinary, and it’s very awkward walking into the breakfast room, the waiter didn’t even smile or acknowledge me whatsoever. So I just thought ok, I guess I can help myself. To be honest, even though the design is excellent, I would spend more money and go for an even higher-end hotel in the middle of the city, that way you don’t have to worry about getting a car to and from the hotel. Almaty seems to be a safe (ish) city, but you should still exercise caution, and trying to get a taxi from the city back to the hotel was almost impossible. Once I had to just get a ride with a random car, another time I got a taxi from a different hotel in the city and the third time, a lady in a cafe very kindly helped me get a very cheap cab through Uber. When this reviewer, and others say “this hotel is not centrally located”, they mean this. YES, it looks as though the hotel is only 1.5km away from the city centre, but that is “as the crow flies”. 1.5km is an easy walk, but to actually walk in the direction that Google Maps suggests is the best route, is VERY difficult. It requires going through very small residential streets with barking dogs locked up on chains in very close proximity, walking along small trails down a steep hill, through almost a mini forest (with no track at all) until you get to the city centre. It’s basically a cab ride, and there is no other way you can do it. It’s also not a very well known location, so when you do (miraculously) get a cab or car in the city, they have no idea where to go.
Read more
Response from Anara K, General Manager at MAQAN Hotel
Responded Jan 3, 2019
Dear TVH3121, Thank you for taking the time for your detailed feedback and experience at MAQAN Hotel Almaty! Here at MAQAN, we continuously strive to improve our service and exceed guest's expectations. With a new Team memebers we achieved a lot and with each feedback we do our best to make the stay of each guest comfortable. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future. Best regards, Anara Kospanova General Manager
Read more
New Hotel, well made, but air condition does not work yet, breakfast is also not perfekt, but you find something to eat. For the price you pay the service is not appropriate, although the staff tries to help.
Read more
Response from Anara K, Директор по продажам at MAQAN Hotel
Responded Dec 26, 2018
Dear Thomas, Thank you for your feedback response. We are happy to hear such kind of review. Thank you for taking the time to point out both the positive and negative sides. Next time when you will come, we will try to do our best for you. Sincerely, MAQAN Hotel Team
Read more
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
$66 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
KazakhstanAlmaty
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing