We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (845)
Room & Suite (231)
Dining (80)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#5 of 69 hotels in Nara
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Massage
Parking
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Hair dryer
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese
879Reviews
3Q+A
67Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 402
  • 332
  • 102
  • 32
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The hotel is amazing from the outside but inside it is really showing its age and could use an update. The room was large, service was great and we really liked the tea room/bar. However, the layout of the hotel is bad and it becomes a very long and wasteful walk to have to go to front desk to turn key in and pick it up each time you go in and out. The hotel is in a lovely location but farther from Nara Park than other options.
Read more
If you like old-fashioned traditional grand hotels, this is the place to stay in Nara...one could imagine the Emperor or Albert Einstein staying down the hall...the service was impeccable, the location convenient to parks, shrines and temples, the bar relaxing, and the breakfast huge and delicious...can't be beat if you want a quiet retreat.
Read more
Response from teamKK2, マネージャー at Nara Hotel
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear LaurenceJ585 Thank you for choosing to stay at Nara Hotel. We are very pleased that we received the word of your praise, such as atmosphere of our hotel, breakfast etc. We continually strive to improve our quality of service and look forward to welcoming you back here in the near future. Best regards, Hotel Manager
Read more
We booked via Agoda.com to secure a discounted rate. Upon arrival we were told that there was a water leak in the room and we had to be moved. The room be received in exchange was a lower level room and they could not adjust our rate because it was not booked via their site. The room was half the size of what we had booked since traveling with a child. They gave us a complimentary dinner (7 course) at the Japanese restaurant and waived the roll away bed fee. That was a good effort on their part and was appreciated. This hotel caters more to an elderly crowd. It is very historical and has beautiful detail and workmanship. Due to the earthquake a few years ago they are still renovating the buildings and there is constant construction daily from 10am to 4 pm. That did not really affect us but the historical cigar bar was closed and many areas you could not access. I would wait to stay here until the remodeling is complete for a better experience. Not sure how long that will take. It is in a VERY convenient area close to Todaiji temple and deer park. About a 10-15 minute walk.
Read more
Response from teamKK2, Manager at Nara Hotel
Responded Jun 12, 2019
Dear Fannie C Many thanks for choosing Nara Hotel for your recent stay and taking the time out to write about us, it was a pleasure to welcome you. We apologize for the room change and any inconvenience as our hotel is carrying out seismic reinforcement work. We continually strive to improve our quality of service and look forward to welcoming you back here in the near future. Best regards, Hotel Manager
Read more
+1
We stayed at the Nara Hotel after a recommendation. Arriving at the hotel you are greeted by a lovely old building that clearly has a lot of history. You can select a room in the “Old” or “New” wing of the hotel. We booked in the “New” wing, I think because of the room type we wanted. Check in was smooth and we were escorted to our room. The room is a really good size with a sliding door that leads to a balcony. There’s not much of a view though... just a few trees that block the parking area of a church next door. Now when I say “New” it refers to the rooms that are newer than the old rooms... but they are not new in terms of recent. Our room had a particular musty smell about it and the decor is in desperate need of updating. The bathroom is an okay size and there is a bath with the shower over the bath. WiFi is sporadic throughout the hotel. Sometimes it works and other times you can’t connect. At best it is an acceptable speed for browsing but don’t expect pages to download quickly. The hotel is well located within easy walking distance of Nara Park and the main areas of interest. There is also a free shuttle bus to the railway station that runs fairly regularly. There is a charm about the hotel and you can’t help but wonder about it’s history. The staff are friendly and helpful but the hotel itself really needs a bit of money spent on it to give it a refresh.
Read more
Response from teamKK2, Manager at Nara Hotel
Responded Jun 7, 2019
Dear RichardB473 Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Nara Hotel and taking the time to detail your experiences during your stay with us. Our hotel is under the seismic reinforcement work and renovate according to the plan,we apologize for any inconvenience during the construction. We will also check the Wi-Fi problem and make an improvement. Feedback is really important to us as it allows us the opportunity to address any areas where we can improve our product and service. I do hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to meet all of your expectations. Sincerely yours Hotel Manager
Read more
After 3 weeks in Japan, this is my 1st disappointment. I choose a large bed room when i booked : in fact it was twin sticked together and the right side was touching the wall. So the bed was in a corner with one side accessible easily. My room was located in a new wing of the historical hotel, and my first opinion when i arrived in my room was bad. The decoration from the corridors, the room and bathroom was old style, like my grandmother house, very far from the design used by hotels today even in historical hotels which respect the historical atmosphere in a more elegant way than here. So i didn't tell anything as it was for 1 night and i am happy to leave to retrieve a beautiful stylish hotel in Kyoto. For the contact with staff : they are helpless as they don't speak english or so few. So it's a strange choice in such touristic place. And the top was the breakfast ! when i arrived there was 30 persons waiting - seated or standing , just because the restaurant was full. So the hotel decided to create a new wing of 4 storeys but they keep the historical restaurant without increasing its size - so the result is a long line of hungry people, sometimes in rush to get a train , waiting for an available seat for breakfast. It's just unacceptable. The management is greedy increasing significantly the number of guests for more revenue without increasing the size of the restaurant as they consider their guests can wait in a long line to get their breakfast. Obviously i don't recommend at all this hotel for the rooms, for the staff and for the too small restaurant.
Read more
Response from teamKK2, マネージャー at Nara Hotel
Responded May 23, 2019
"Dear laakk Thank you for choosing to stay at Nara Hotel. However, we sincerely apology for all the unpleasant experiences you have encountered during you stay in our hotel. Thank you for your comments on the English proficiency of the staff. We will strengthen staff education, to provide you with better service. Thank you for your valuable opinion about the breakfast. We will take your valuable advice and make an improvement to make our customers feel more comfortable at our hotel. Wish we can get another opportunity to serve you back in Nara Hotel next time and we will guarantee that you will get a better service. Sincerely yours, Hotel Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$143 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
JapanKinkiNara PrefectureNara
NUMBER OF ROOMS
129
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing