We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sounkaku

Show Prices
Ryokan 
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Sounkaku
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 44: English reviews
Start your review of Sounkaku
 Click to rate
CA
Reviewed December 8, 2016

This is our first trip to Japan and Hakone, after debating between hotels, locations and budget. I booked two rooms for four of us, the hotel was conveniently located between last stop of the Cable Car and starting point of Ropeway. Most of tourists will take the Ropeway and Cable Car anyway. The day we were going to Hakone, it...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank TongtongCa
Espoo, Finland
Reviewed December 7, 2016

We had a room with an own bath on the terrace, and altough that was expensive it was also worth every penny. A very polite young lady served us during our staying. She made the room and served meals. Her English was quite well. The dinner and the breakfast were very Japanese, but the menu we got was written in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kai L
Suffolk
Reviewed October 31, 2016

On our two night trip to Hakone we chose to try different accommodation for our second night. There was absolutely nothing wrong with our first Ryokan, we just wanted to sample a different style of Ryokan and compare the two. Our first Ryokan was only a couple of stops down on the Tozan cable car so we were able to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rosie2409
Perth, Australia
Reviewed October 7, 2016 via mobile

Just one minute walk from Sounzan station, greeted by 2 gentle men (forget their names, sorry) asking me some words in Japanese and found out asking me what the reservation name is. Helping me carrying the luggages. Being well served by Akino san theoughout our stay. Even her english is little but trying to do the best as she could....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KeioCio
London, Canada
Reviewed July 25, 2016

My wife and I stayed at this Ryokan and were very disappointed. For the price I believe there are many better options. The rooms were average and our room over looked the parking lot. The meal was well prepared but fell short of our expectations. I would recommend you look at other options if you travel to Hakone! I could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MacFiveCanada
Lutterworth
Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here and the hotel was extremely comfortable. We had a really nice room with a great view. The Onsen experience was great and highly relaxing. The service was impeccable, the food was delicious and we really had a great time. The hotel is 100 metres from the Hakone ropeway so very convenient. We would highly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank babaDADA
New York City, New York
Reviewed May 24, 2016

We spent one night here with an extended family of 8. This is a mix of traditional and modern Ryocan in my opinion. Tatami rooms are clean and functional but less exciting than some of places we have stayed. I was looking for a more traditional place so hence my slight disappointment but if you are looking for a slightly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TimBNY
早雲閣, フロント at Sounkaku, responded to this review

Thank you for staying in Gorahanaougi Sounkaku! Could you enjoy a stay ? I wait for your stay again. Thank you!

London, UK
Reviewed May 8, 2016

Stayed here in late March for one night, as part of a trip around Japan. The journey to get here is a bit of an effort with luggage, not least the funicular for the last part of the trip. However, it is well worth it. Got a very warm welcome on arrival, then taken to our room, which was spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LiveLondonWillTravel
早雲閣, フロント at Sounkaku, responded to this review

Thank you for staying in Gorahanaougi Sounkaku! Could you enjoy a stay ? I wait for your stay again. Thank you!

Reviewed April 30, 2016

We were thrilled to experience a night in a Ryokan on our trip to Japan. This was the only Ryokan I have ever stayed in, so not much to compare it to, but I did feel like it was a relaxing, unique and truly Japanese experience. There was one guy who helped take care of us and served out meals....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren L
早雲閣, フロント at Sounkaku, responded to this review

Thank you for staying in Gorahanaougi Sounkaku! Could you enjoy a stay ? I wait for your stay again. Thank you!

Singapore
Reviewed April 12, 2016

Sounkaku is situated right in front of the Sounzan cable car station. The mountain view outside the ryokan is great on a clear day. However, do note that this view is accessible to public and not exclusive to the ryokan. We wanted to enjoy the mountain view from the comfort of our room but the weather suddenly changed and we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank libra84
早雲閣, フロント at Sounkaku, responded to this review

Thank you for staying in Gorahanaougi Sounkaku! Could you enjoy a stay ? I wait for your stay again. Thank you!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

471 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (175)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (91)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (286)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Japanese Room (Botan) (37)
Viewed
Japanese Room (Kintochi) with Open-Air Bath (35)
Viewed
Japanese Room (Komursaki) (30)
Viewed
Japanese Room (Rindou) (34)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Standard Room (Sakura) (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#8 of 242 in Hakone-machi
433 reviews
Gora Onsen
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Gora Onsen
Gora Hanaougi
Gora Hanaougi
#6 of 242 in Hakone-machi
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Fujiya Hotel
Fujiya Hotel
#2 of 242 in Hakone-machi
877 reviews
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#5 of 242 in Hakone-machi
226 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Manatee
Hakone Manatee
#11 of 242 in Hakone-machi
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
It is 3 minutes walking distance from Sounzan Station. Check-in: 2pm to 6pm (No later than 6pm) Check-out : 10am (No Late out) No vegetalian meal. All smoking room. If you have food dietary such as allergy, please let us know in advance. A dinner and breakfast is served in a semi private dining room. If your arrival time will be later than 5pm, please contact us in advance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sounkaku

Address: 1300-492 Gora, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0408, Kanagawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Gora Onsen
Price Range: $315 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Rakuten so you can book your Sounkaku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Hakone-machi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Sounkaku staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Sounkaku staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Take a room with a terrace bath”
  • Room's terrace bath
 of 5 bubbles 169kail, Dec 7, 2016 | Read review
“If possible, request a room on the top floor (at the front) to get a better view”
 of 5 bubbles LiveLondonWillTravel, May 8, 2016 | Read review
“If possible, get a room with a view.”
 of 5 bubbles laurenl968, Apr 30, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the second floor facing the mountains provide nice views and the onsens are located on the second floor as well.”
 of 5 bubbles 255gabriellel, Mar 8, 2016 | Read review
“Room on the Mountain side provides a great view .”
 of 5 bubbles raymondy539, Nov 29, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question