We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
885 Sengokuhara, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun 250-0631 Kanagawa Prefecture
E-mail hotel
Hotel direct offer!Package deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (422)
360
Panoramas (8)
Videos (1)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#7 of 255 hotels in Hakone-machi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
A 2-minute walk from the Hakone Lalique Museum, hotel Mount View Hakone features indoor and outdoor Nigori-yu hot spring baths, Japanese-style rooms and Japanese cuisine. Massage treatments can be arranged, and free wired internet is available in the lobby. Guests at Hakone Mount View can enjoy rare volcanic hot spring water (called Nigori-yu), either in a public bath or a private one, for an additional fee. The hotel provides ping-pong, a shop with local products and free parking. The tranquil rooms feature a tatami (woven-straw) floor and traditional futon beds. Amenities include an LCD TV, a safe and yukata robes. All rooms have a private toilet and a washstand. The bathroom facilities are shared. Japanese meals, featuring local and seasonal ingredients, are served for breakfast and dinner in the dining room. Mount View Hakone is a 15-minute walk from Hakone Garasu-no-Mori (the Venetian Glass Museum), and a 15-minute drive from Gotenba Premium Outlet Mall. JR Odawara Station is a 3
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Restaurant
Game room
Table tennis
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free shuttle or taxi services
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Banquet room
Spa
Hot spring bath
Massage
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
Shops
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Japanese
Hotel links
Special Offer:Package deal

Location

Full view
95Great for walkers
Grade: 95 out of 100
68Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
7Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
343Reviews52Q+A22Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 175
  • 123
  • 26
  • 14
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Great value, great food, great views. Comfortable beds, nice staff. Good skiing. Would come again! Many thanks. Also great Onsen. Dinner was especially nice. We only stayed one night but would like to have stayed longer.
Read more
We stayed for one night in Hakone. The location was fairly central although if we had a time again, we probably would have booked a hotel closer to the Hakone ropeway / Lake Ashi as it had a nicer feel / vibe to the town. There were plenty of restaurants within a few mintues walk. The main bus from Odawara Station stops right outside the hotel (approx 45 mins ride). The same bus stop also takes you directly to the Hakone Ropeway (approx 15 ride). You can also walk about 5 minutes to another bus stop which takes you directly to the premium shopping outlets in Gotemba (approx 20 min ride). This was really handy given it was raining when we arrived and not appropriate for outdoor sight seeing The room was traditional ie fairly basic but very spacious. Beds were futons which I found comfortable enough. We elected to not book the room with a private bathroom although the room did have a sink and seperate toilet. This was fine for 1 night however would recommend a private bathroom if you stay for longer. We also enjoyed a private onsen which was worth the 3000 yen for 45 mins. Traditional japanense breakfast was included and was great to experience at least once. Only negative was how strict they were for the 3pm checkin when we arrived around 1pm (note that this wasn't unique to this hotel). The hotel wasn't busy yet we weren't allowed to access our room until after 3pm.
Read more
We loved the experience of staying at a typical Japanese Ryokan. Half board highly recommended to sample the different foods on offer & the food was delicious. Very helpful, friendly reception staff who gave good advice how to spend our day sightseeing in the region and see the major attractions using the buses. The other staff in the hotel were also very friendly. The private onsen looking out onto the bamboo forest was brilliant & so relaxing. Public onsens, both indoor & outdoor & family onsens also an option. Easy access to buses to travel around the Hakone region using Hakone Freepass. We would stay again.
Read more
Absolutely loved this place! From the moment we arrived to the point at which we left, we cannot fault this place - it is a truly lovely ryokan. We were looked after by all the staff. They catered for dietary requirements - vegetarian and vegan - and everything was done seamlessly, nothing too much trouble. The staff are all amazing. We emailed in advance to give our dietary requirements which the ryoken confirmed was ok. We didn't need to remind them - on check in everything was explained to us properly and staff all speak good English. The girls and night man on the front desk are all very polite and give you lots of really useful tips and information. The food was impeccable! We loved everything about our vegetarian meal, traditional japanese kaiseki was delicious and the breakfast was great. Big thank you to Miyuki who works in the dining hall and explained everything about the food to us. She was the sweetest most lovely lady who made our experience extra special. As it was my birthday, they arranged a candle on my dessert and a little birthday sing song which was such a nice touch. The onsen/hot springs are really special. We booked the private one for two people...gorgeous outdoor onsen looking out to a view of bamboo. You have to book this and advise to book as soon as you arrive otherwise the timeslots go quickly. Also tried the public onsen which wasn't busy at all, esp just before dinner so had it to myself most of the time I was there. We had the traditional Japanese room which was so lovely with a view out to the mountains. Rooms is decent size with private toilet and sink area. Location is good for getting the bus to Gora or Togendai although it is quite a way from the main area for shops and restaurants. This didn't matter to us as we were only there for a night. Be aware of how long it takes to places! Overall, absolutely loved our stay here - thank you to all at Hakone Mount View. Definitely recommend staying here esp if you are vegetarian/vegan.
Read more
Response from Mount_View_Hakone, お客様担当マネージャー at Mount View Hakone
Responded Dec 10, 2019
Thank you very much for using this hotel. Access from Haneda is good and the bus stop is right in front of you so you won't get lost It seems to be a popular secret of the hotel. However, the highly rated natural hot spring “Nigori-yu” is highly rated. It is recommended that you enjoy yourself slowly with a charter, or enjoy an outdoor bath for each gender. Having dinner in a yukata or resting in a futon in a tatami room was a precious memory of a trip in Japan, It is a great pleasure for us. If you come to Japan, please come to the hotel. All the staff are waiting for you.
Read more
As this was our first visit to Japan, several of my work colleagues who had previously visited or lived in Japan said that a trip to the Hakone hot springs was an absolute must. One colleague in particular said he had stayed at the Mount View and it was recommended, so I booked a night there with my fiancée and was expecting a special experience. The entrance to the Mount View is grand and has the air of a quality hotel, the lobby too is welcoming and quite grand. The room we had booked however didn’t live up to the promise of the hotel entrance. The room was tired and in need of redecoration, comfortable enough but a bit tatty. We put aside thoughts about the room and looked forward to an excellent dining experience. This however proved to be a disappointment too, the food was good but was just laid out in front of us with no explanation of what it was nor how to eat it and in what order. The restaurant also had more of a feeling of a traditional canteen, noisy and with children running around being disruptive. I do blame the parents for the behaviour of their children but the hotel staff should say something to said parents to curb the behaviour of their children. We opted for an extra cost personal hot spring, which although a lovely experience, was all a bit rushed, having to actually be out of the spring before the hour is up. It was the best thing about the evening we spent at the Mount View, but like everything else, didn’t live up to expectations. We also couldn’t find the shower rooms so we spent the next day, until we reached our next hotel, in need of a shower. In summary, our visit to the Mount View was pleasant enough but at the price we paid it simply wasn’t special enough. This is a relatively expensive hotel and takes some effort to get to but the decor is in need of updating, the dining experience not relaxing and an overall feeling of paying too much for too little. Disappointing.
Read more
Response from Mount_View_Hakone, お客様担当マネージャー at Mount View Hakone
Responded Dec 10, 2019
Thank you for staying at Mount View Hakone. Although it was a great visit, there seemed to be a point where we were not fully satisfied and we are very sorry. I'm sorry that I couldn't enjoy the hot springs and hot springs that we are proud of. If you are in Japan, come to Hakone for a hot spring. We'll be waiting for your visit sincerely.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$103 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
JapanKantoKanagawa PrefectureHakone-machiSengokuhara Onsen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
37
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mount View Hakone
Which popular attractions are close to Mount View Hakone?
Nearby attractions include Lalique Museum Hakone (0.1 miles), Hakone Venetian Glass Museum (0.4 miles), and Hakone Shisseikaen (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mount View Hakone?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Mount View Hakone?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mount View Hakone?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mount View Hakone?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mount View Hakone?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chaina House, Hakone Sushi, and Le Virgule.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mount View Hakone?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, and Japanese.
Are there any historical sites close to Mount View Hakone?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Hakone Shrine / Kuzuryu Shrine Singu (4.6 miles), Daiyuzan Saijoji Temple (Doryoson) (4.2 miles), and Higashiyama Kyukishitei (3.3 miles).
Does Mount View Hakone have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.