We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Takayama Green Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Takayama Green Hotel
Takayama Green Hotel
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

378 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 73: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This large hot springs hotel was perfect for us. It looks austere from the outside but it very nice inside. Besides the hot springs they also have a "foot" hot springs just to one side of the front where people bath their feet. There are five restaurants, a huge shop, and a wonderful buffet breakfast. They have a shuttle that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen O
高山グリーンホテル, マネージャー at Takayama Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your fantastic feedback. We have 2 hot spring baths and 1 foot hot spring bath. The foot one is used by anyone for free, so please stop by for a little break. We have various kinds of restaurants such as Japanese, Chinese, buffet and steak. The buffet restaurant is very popular because guests can order Hida-beef dish as... More 

Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

Positives: free onsen, very clean, free shuttle to JR station, courteous front desk Negatives: twin room was very small, very dated, beds not comfortable, quite far too walk to JR station / bus terminal, only Japanese TV channels available

Helpful?
Thank bonvivant23
高山グリーンホテル, マネージャー at Takayama Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your experience of staying at Takayama Green Hotel. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed onsen. Did you relax in it? We are sorry that you weren't satisfied with your room. We guess you stayed at standard room(Main Bldg.). We have superior rooms (Tenryokaku Bldg.), and they are newer. Please try one of them next time. More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016

We liked the mix of western and japanese restaurants, rooms, decor, public baths. The rooms on the premium floors were luxurious, but not pretentious. the public bath area was one of the best I used during my recent 2 week trip.

Helpful?
Thank Jethro_CHF
高山グリーンホテル, マネージャー at Takayama Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We guess the premium floors you mentioned is "Tenryokaku-Bettei." The guests must take elevator to the floor with special key. The public baths (onsen) are on the first floor and basement. You will have gotten smooth skin from the onsen. We look forward to having you again. More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016 via mobile

Stayed as part of tour group. Older hotel but very clean. Room size good. Japanese and Western breakfast buffet. Somewhat meager but one can get plenty to eat. Has hot springs as part of the hotel. Didn't go but others said it was very refreshing and enjoyable. Close to sight seeing sites. Circle K convenience store right around the corner.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
高山グリーンホテル, マネージャー at Takayama Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your experience of staying at Takayama Green Hotel.  We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here. We wish you would have gone to hot spring. It is one of our specialty and it has good reputation.Wishing your continuous support, and will see you again in near future. Best wishse, More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights. I had a double room but most rooms are the same size. The hotel is very dated, everything is from the 80's and although that does have a certain charm, somethings were falling apart and in dire need of refurbishing. The breakfast is ok at best but given the location, you wont find better... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmad A
高山グリーンホテル, マネージャー at Takayama Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing to stay at Takayama Green Hotel. We are very sorry that you enjoyed your room and breakfast. We guess you stayed at the room in Main Bldg. We have another Bldg. called "Tenryokaku". The rooms are newer and larger and have modern equipment. Did you enjoy onsen and shopping at Hida Bussankan? I appreciated that you have... More 

Miami
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2016 via mobile

We stayed only one night. Found the hotel a bit dated but clean and well kept. Enjoyed the Japanese style room which we found comfortable except for the bathroom which in total is smaller than my bathtub! Staff is friendly which is normal for Japan. The unpardonable part was the food. We pretty much had no choice because odd circumstances... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carlos L
高山グリーンホテル, マネージャー at Takayama Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your experience of staying at Takayama Green Hotel. We are sorry that you weren't satisfied with your bathroom and meal. We have larger rooms and Japanese restaurant, Chinese restaurant, and steak restaurant. If you stay at our hotel again, we recommend to use another type of room and restaurant. We provide guests yukata(kimono), and they can wear... More 

County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2016

The hotel is in a good location about a 15 minute walk to the city centre. The rooms are immaculately clean as are the common areas. However the hotel has a dated feel throughout (first opened in the early 1970's). The brekfast room in particular was very bare and needs an update.The price of the rooms were also a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank johnR1292DJ
高山グリーンホテル, マネージャー at Takayama Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your experience of staying at Takayama Green Hotel. Our hotel was built in 1973, and we have renovated again and again. We guess you stayed at Main Bldg. We also have new Bldg. called ”Tenryokaku Bldg.” We are very pleased that you enjoyed cycling. The guests can hire bicycles at 300 yen for 2 hours and 800... More 

kansas city
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016 via mobile

Stayed with a group. Our room was very small, bathroom was like an insert. Very small. Barely enough space for one person to stand. You had to step up about a foot to get in the bath room closet. Other members of the group had same issues. Hotel must have assigned poor quality rooms to this tour group. Restaurant was... More 

Helpful?
Thank fromkc10
高山グリーンホテル, マネージャー at Takayama Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying Takayama Green Hotel. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay. We guess you stayed at the room in Main Bldg. which was built in 1973. If you have a chance, we will recommend you staying the room in new Bldg. (Tenryokaku) Did you enjoy onsen? We are honored that it often... More 

Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

While we did not stay here, we used their onsen - it's publicly available for a very small fee. One of the nicest kept, picturesque city-onsen's I've stayed at. As a bonus, they offer very timely massage services right outside the baths, and in the expansive lobby you can buy soft serve and beer! Fabulous find in Takayama, though a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
高山グリーンホテル, マネージャー at Takayama Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for your fantastic feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed onsen. The guests can use our onsen without booking. We have 2 onsen(1st floor and basement), both have inside and outside baths. In the 1st floor one, you can enjoy Japanese garden in the outside bath. It can surely be a little far from Takayama Green hotel to... More 

Wilmslow UK
Level Contributor
328 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016

Based on the reviews I've read, expected better. Not too much to criticise about the facilities inside, but the location is way out. Walking to the station/town is uninspiring to say the least, and the hotel shuttle is very infrequent. You also need to watch out for sudden changes in the room rates: we had a 25% hike from one... More 

Helpful?
Thank mosolygo
高山グリーンホテル, マネージャー at Takayama Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for giving your feedback. We are very sorry about the inconvenient location. Our shuttle bus runs every 30 minutes between Takayama Station and Takayama Green Hotel. In Japan, the room rate before holiday (Saturday, Sunday, GW, the Bon, the New Year, etc..) can be higher. Kindly understand that. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

792 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (234)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (123)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (325)
Viewed
Amenities (60)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Tenryoukaku Japanese Room (83)
Viewed
Tenryoukaku Twin Room (69)
Viewed
The Hotel (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (233)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (195)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#9 of 172 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 stars 612 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hotel Associa Takayama Resort
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#11 of 172 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
BEST WESTERN Hotel Takayama
#14 of 172 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no yume
Oyado Koto no yume
#2 of 172 in Takayama
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have natural onsen and the largest souvenir shop in Gifu called "Hida-Bussankan". We also have 7 restaurants to enjoy Hida-beef and local food. The guests can enjoy bath, shopping and eating not only stay, so our hotel is resort type hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Takayama Green Hotel

Address: 2-180 Nishinoisshikimachi, Takayama 506-0031, Gifu Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Hidatakayama Onsen
Price Range: $140 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Takayama Green Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Takayama Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Takayama Green Onsen Hotel
Hotel Style:
#1 Onsen Hotel in Takayama
#3 Spa Hotel in Takayama
#3 Family Hotel in Takayama
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay