We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ryokan Murayama

Agoda.com$60*
View Deal
Ryokan 
Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$136*
$60*
Great Deal
$72*
$136*
$60*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Ryokan Murayama
Ryokan Murayama
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 96: English reviews
Start your review of Ryokan Murayama
 Click to rate
Milan, Italy
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at a double room without bathroom for 1 night. But there was a clean toilet for men at women on each floor. There were also the traditional hot tubs. We could use one of it just for us, to have more privacy. It's also possible to use it for families. There are futon, traditional Japanese bedding set. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank javierreboll
murayama, オーナー at Ryokan Murayama, responded to this review

Hello javierreboll, Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Though we did not have you with us for long, we are so glad that we were able to impress you with our hospitality. Long or short, a vacation is a precious commodity in these busy times, and it is our...

Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have been there for 2 nights in family room with private bathroom. The room is so specious, 2 separate rooms with air condition/heater in each room. The bathroom is normal Japanese size unit bathroom which is able to set temperature of the water (not mixed type) ,very useful for us to bath my kid. Dinner in IORI style (Japanese...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhenJP
murayama, オーナー at Ryokan Murayama, responded to this review

Dear PhenJP, Thank you for choosing to make our ryokan a part of your Takayama adventure. It was our pleasure to take care of you while you were with us, and delight you with our traditional Japanese cooking. We must agree with you that the tofu prepared by our chef really is superb and leaves you wanting more. We are...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The whole placre looks old, scruffy and dirty. We arrived late and were told we could only use the shared bathroom at specific hours, so not great to clean up. Our room was more hostel than ryokan-like ( same goes for the whole place) and we paid 179 USD for a room with no bathroom. Really overpriced and definitely not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie-Switz
murayama, オーナー at Ryokan Murayama, responded to this review

Dear Nathalie-Switz, From all the staff here at the hotel, we deeply regret not being able to impress you during your stay with us. Staying true to the traditional and authentic experience we offer to guests, does mean that we are unable to heavily modify and modernise our ryokan. However, we will go to our webpage and re-confirm the images...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We reached JR Takayama station in the evening. We called up the ryokan from the Tourist Info centre. In a few mins, Mr. Murayama was right there to pick us up. Very nice and quiet place for comfortable stay in this beautiful little town. Our room was quite spacious with a private Japanese style toilet. The onsen is just perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pranav N
murayama, オーナー at Ryokan Murayama, responded to this review

Dear [Pranav N], Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Takayama, which we agree is most definitely a beautiful town, especially during the festival. Tradition and tranquility, comfort and affordability, and true Japanese hospitality is what our ryokan strives to provide to all of our guests, and we are thrilled that we were...

Montreal
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in a few ryokans in Japan, and this one was average. The walls are paper thin as is the norm, but difficult to endure if your neighbours chat or snore. The room was clean but the cupboard surfaces had large stains and the whole place needed a good updating. The hot tub was ok. There was no breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kitsou
murayama, オーナー at Ryokan Murayama, responded to this review

Dear [kitsou], Thank you choosing our ryokan and for taking the time to write about your stay with us. Feedback from you - our valued guest - is an important path of communication that allows us to provide the best possible service. We apologise that you were unable to fully relax in your room. We are dedicated to providing our...

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 9, 2017

We stayed here for two nights as part of our Exodus Travel tour of Japan. I had been looking forward to staying in a Ryokan but I was disappointed with the standard of this one, however I did not let this distract from my enjoyment after all 'It is what it is'. The friendly owner picked us up from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ALH57
murayama, オーナー at Ryokan Murayama, responded to this review

Hello, ALH57. Thank you for choosing our Ryokan, and for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. It was our great pleasure to have you with us. We are glad that your stay with us was pleasant, but we sincerely regret not being able to make it a great one. It is our wish to make all of...

Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewed March 12, 2017

We received recommendations from our son who spent 2 nights at the Murayama Ryokan and we never regretted it. The room with private bathroom, is typical Japanese, ta ami on the floor, futon on it. Not so easy to get up but the room is very big, the shutters are rice paper, opening the window you're in a forest, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IC170252
Reviewed December 22, 2016 via mobile

Located 25 mins walk from Takayama Bus Station/JR station. Uphill walk for the last 10 mins. Or taxi cost 900yen from Bus station. They provide shuttle bus from the other entrance of JR station at specific time, twice a day. INN nearby walking distance to Hida Folk Village & Art exhibition. Fantastic snow peak mountain scenic view from where we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Foonglin
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed November 28, 2016

We arrived too late for station pick up and dinner and these times were strictly adhered to. 2 rooms booked and had shared bathroom unfortunately too late booking to get a room with bathroom but more than happy with shared families. Managed to use the family bathroom although my niece and I found this room far to hot for us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spinfamily
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 20, 2016

Takayama was a great experience. The city offers a typical village and old village to visit. We really loved the train ride from there to Tokyo as well, The Ryokan offers all the basics, and is in a quite area but is not very comfortable. Room is dated and amenities are ok. You can use the washing/drying machine which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sissi748
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

494 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (135)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (357)
Viewed
Amenities (94)
Viewed
Family Room (57)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (82)
Viewed
Triple Room (66)
Viewed
Twin Room (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#12 of 174 in Takayama
423 reviews
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Hidatakayama Onsen
Ryokan Asunaro
Ryokan Asunaro
#5 of 174 in Takayama
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hakuun
Hakuun
#23 of 174 in Takayama
99 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hoshokaku
Hoshokaku
#21 of 174 in Takayama
150 reviews
Takayama Station
Oyado Hachibei
Oyado Hachibei
#43 of 174 in Takayama
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Ryokan Murayama

Address: 3-829 Nishinoisshikimachi, Takayama 506-0031, Gifu Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Takayama Station , Hidatakayama Onsen
Price Range: $64 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ryokan Murayama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Rakuten, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Ryokan Murayama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Murayama Hotel Takayama
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Takayama
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Takayama
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Ryokan Murayama staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ryokan Murayama staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“traditional thin walls”
  • tatami mats and futon
kitsou, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Room walls are just partitions. You can hear noise from adjacent rooms!”
fastraxxgroup, May 28, 2016 | Read review
“If you're traveling en famille, book a big room. These are amongst the largest ryokan rooms I've seen.”
caninoz, Apr 13, 2016 | Read review
“Our corner room with private bath was large and lovely, open to views on two sides.”
Catbird28, Nov 15, 2015 | Read review
“If you are carrying a few bags, 2nd floor is best. Above cooking, but less stairs. Try the Onsen.”
237markn, Sep 28, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Agoda.com
$60* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com$72
TripAdvisor$60
Rakuten Travel$136
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates