We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1 Flint Rd, Amherst, NY 14226-1047
E-mail hotel
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View deal
View deal
Comfort Inn$82
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (25)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (5)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Comfort Inn University
Updated 06/02/20


#6 of 19 hotels in Amherst
Conveniently located to both Downtown Buffalo and Niagara Falls and directly adjacent to the University at Buffalo North Campus, the Comfort Inn University is the place to stay when visiting the Amherst/Buffalo, NY area. All of our rooms include flat screen televisions, refrigerators, coffee makers, iron/boards and hairdryers. Our guests enjoy the Comfort Inn signature breakfast "Your Morning Breakfast" that includes...hot eggs, sausage and/or bacon, make your own fresh waffles, yogurts, fruit, breads, bagels, muffins/danish, cereals and more! Take a soak in our indoor heated pool, workout in our fitness room and surf the web with our fast high speed wireless internet. We look forward to your stay with us!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Golf course
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
485Reviews2Q+A97Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 238
  • 140
  • 64
  • 24
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
JohnRegoPark wrote a review Sep 2021
Rego Park, New York911 contributions333 helpful votes
The hotel should be called the Discomfort Inn, because the rooms, while clean, were old, and in bad need of remodeling. The staff did what they could to make the place pleasant but there was no denying the accumulated wear everywhere in the room. The breakfast room followed no covid guidelines whatsoever. There were no disposable gloves at the buffet, so everyone had to handle the same utensils. I saw no staff member wear a mask, even in the elevators where the space is more contained. There are a number of hotels in the immediate area. Try those instead.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Response from Hotel Manager, Owner at Comfort Inn University
Responded Sep 23, 2021
Dear John, I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. My apologies for all the inconveniences. We are working to improve the problems areas detected in your stay and will ensure that they are improved to the best.Despite your disappointment, we hope you will consider us again. You can be assured of a pleasant stay. Sincerely Hotel Manager.
Read more
Botto wrote a review Jul 2021
7 contributions4 helpful votes
Two nights. Pretty busy place. No real issues with the hotel, but previously used soap in the shower. However, that was the only room issue. Guests were all appropriate as encountered and no issues with late night noise. A good location for access to I290 and several restaurants and grocery stores. Biggest complaint is they said my choicehotels membership did not afford any discount. But was later told if I booked through the choice hotels website (I made it directly with desk staff) - I I would have likely had a discount.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Response from Hotel Manager, Owner at Comfort Inn University
Responded Aug 30, 2021
Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed our location and its surrounding. Our apologies for whatever inconveniences you had with the stay. We will look into this further as it shouldn't have happened. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Sincerely Hotel Manager
Read more
Francis wrote a review Mar 2021
Melville, New York4 contributions
We booked this hotel because of the free hot breakfast and its location. Breakfast was white bread wrapped in plastic, hard boiled eggs and packaged oatmeal. There was a broken down car in front of the hotel. The pool was closed for construction. The room smelled like smoke. Very disappointed and will never come back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Response from Hotel Manager, Owner at Comfort Inn University
Responded Sep 23, 2021
Hello James, I am sorry to learn about all the inconvenience you had to endure. My sincere apologies. We understand your experience and realize your feelings of disappointment. Our team has taken serious note of your observations and all the issues will be investigated and take appropriate actions. Request your understanding. You will have a nice stay next time. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
Dewayne P wrote a review Sep 2020
Elizabethtown, Kentucky1507 contributions400 helpful votes
This was a quiet location that has a few restaurants nearby. The grab-and-go breakfast was average. The room was clean, as were the common areas. No frills, only the basics, but still a decent stay. Overall not bad for one night.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Sleep Quality
Response from Hotel Manager, Owner at Comfort Inn University
Responded Sep 23, 2021
Dear Dewayne, Thanks for your stay and the feedback. Hope you had a satisfactory experience and liked our hospitality. I appreciate your valuable comments and suggestions for improvement. We will take effective actions to resolve all of them to the best of our efforts. Customer satisfaction is important to us. Hope you will give us another opportunity. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
Mana J wrote a review Jun 2020
3 contributions
We came to check in and the younger lady was kind and I told her we extended our stay (a huge regret). She gave me a confirmation letter and checked us in our room. We went in and the room smelt like someone was smoking. The kitchen smelt like mold and there was only one bed when we asked for 2. The AC also made so much noise. It was really hard to sleep. The next day we told them about how dissatisfied we were with the room so they switched us to a new one. The new room was better but the kitchen still smelt like mold. The AC was a lot less noisy. However, the toiled was overflowing. We called the front desk 14 times and no one picked up so my boyfriend went downstairs. The gentleman said because we have changed our room already he can only give us a plunger. We were furious!!! You gave US a plunger to clean someone else’s doing?!???? How sick is that??? Plus when we got a room change it was YOUR fault, not ours. We went back, got some towels and gloves and cleaning products and unclogged the toilet. The next day I get a call from front desk telling us we must check out. Not knowing that we extended our stay the night we came. That evening we got another call from front desk telling us to check out! How do you make the same mistake twice???! It was honestly the worst experience ever. We will never come back again nor recommend anyone. This place is awful and needs to be closed down. The rooms were also really dirty- it just smelt clean but when you would take a tissue and wipe the counter it would be dusty black. You were basically staying at a low quality expensive motel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from Hotel Manager, Owner at Comfort Inn University
Responded Sep 23, 2021
Dear Guest, It is disappointing to see your comments regarding your experience. It is unfortunate that several issues caused inconvenience to you during your stay. We care about your experience and I realize your feelings of embarrassment and inconveniences. Our team will certainly investigate these points and take corrective steps wherever required. Hope to have the opportunity of seeing you back again in the future for a more positive experience. Regards, Hotel Manager
Read more
$62 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
comfort inn university hotel amherst, comfort inn amherst, amherst comfort inn
United StatesNew YorkAmherst
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Comfort Inn University
Which popular attractions are close to Comfort Inn University?
Nearby attractions include AMC Maple Ridge 8 (0.7 miles), The Northtown Center at Amherst (0.5 miles), and The U (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Comfort Inn University?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Comfort Inn University?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Comfort Inn University?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Comfort Inn University?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Comfort Inn University?
Conveniently located restaurants include Santora's Pizza Pub & Grill, Blue Fire Grill, and Forno Napoli Pizza & Italian Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Comfort Inn University?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Comfort Inn University have airport transportation?
Yes, Comfort Inn University offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Comfort Inn University?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Comfort Inn University?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Comfort Inn University offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.