We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 111: English reviews
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Reasonably priced and well located if transiting the Buffalo area. The check in experience was different, the night clerk was friendly and the combination of piercings and glitter was cute. The room was large and the AC worked well but due to the high humidity this week the room felt damp. The attached restaurant is understaffed one young person greeting,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard K
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Dear Richard K, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that the quality of food served and the size of the room received are at par. However, we regret if you did not fully enjoy your stay due... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I wanted to get away for a couple of days and chose this hotel. The staff was very friendly from the front desk to maintenance. The king size bed was so comfortable we felt like we were in our own bed at home. We had a problem in the bathroom as the sink would not drain. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maggiet1946
brooklyn
Level Contributor
66 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Yes will let u know. Coming. Back from niagara fall's Canada to NY. It was after12 at night we called in holiday Inn. To stay over night. I can tell u folks. It is the same as a five star hotel what you pay more then a double and don't get so nice what. I got in holiday inn nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank marty344
Trenton, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very good front desk staff, the hotel is a bit dated on the outside, rooms are fine but wifi was sketchy and the toilet was slow to flush and loud to refill. We didn't try the hotel restaurant as Bob Evans is across the street.

Helpful?
Thank Ted P
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Dear Ted P, Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am pleased to know that you found our staff to be commendable. On the other hand, allow me to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the WiFi service provided and our toilet. Let... More 

Merrillville, Indiana
Level Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is in dyer needs of remodeling, very busy location, but the rooms are stained, outdated, and if I am not mistaken, there is a hint of mold in the air! I am glad that I packed febreze and lysol in my luggage bag. The staff seems to be friendly at most times,

Helpful?
Thank Donald B
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Dear Donald B, Thank you for writing a review on our hotel. Our goal is to deliver exceptional service and superior accommodation to all of our guests and we appreciate your business with us. I am glad to read that you have acknowledged the friendly service received from our staff. However, it is regrettable that you found the rooms dated... More 

Hamilton
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here Friday August 19th. Staff was friendly. The girl that worked Friday night and Saturday morning was awesome. Good location. Rooms were good Older place but there is a lot of restaurants close by . Restaurant on site is very good. I like the cookies at check in.

Helpful?
Thank Joe Q
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016

We were traveling with our 91-year-old mother, and she just couldn't take the trip anymore. We decided to stop in the Amherst area for the night. What a disappointment. We grabbed one of the travel books from a rest stop to look for a stop. We called this hotel, thinking it would offer the extras she needed, even if it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adam Denton S
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Dear Adam Denton S, Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I certainly appreciate you taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. We are always happy to provide a consistently clean, comfortable and courteous place for our guests. However, we regret that we did not meet your expected stay due to the... More 

Baden(outside Toronto)
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2016

Great location, hotel is kept up to Holiday Inn standards however this is an older hotel. Just a two storey building, ample parking but the highlight is the salt water pool. Big pool, lots of patio tables & chairs around, kept very clean. Rooms are good, the bathroom is dated with wallpaper but kept clean. Beds were comfortable and have... More 

Helpful?
Thank qtpiede19
Audrey K, Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you, qtpiede19! We appreciate your comments on our hotel and we're happy to hear your stay was clean and comfortable. Our large indoor swimming pool is a great amenity of ours that many of our guests love taking advantage of. Although we are an older property with a classic layout, we try to make it up with our staff... More 

Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016

We chose this hotel for our recent 1 night stay mainly because of our IHG member discount and hoped that it would be in better shape than it was when we were there a few years ago....it wasn't. This is an old 2 story complex in need of renovations. The 1st room we were assigned to on the ground floor... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan2996
Audrey K, Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Dear Alan2996, We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to have not met your expectations. Our location near the 290 is very convenient for our travelers and we are so close to a variety of shopping outlets and malls. Although we may not be the newest hotel in the area, we do try to compensate that with our excellent staff... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights during our Niagara trip. Though the stay was comfortable, we had our worst experience here. Few personal things which we left in our room got STOLEN. When I highlighted this at the time of check-out, the hotel receptionist was very casual to hear about that. I stayed in many hotels in 6-7 countries, but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Amit T
Audrey K, Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Dear Amit_Tunara, I am highly alarmed by the details of your review. I apologize that the agent you spoke with did not address this matter with more professionalism as this is obviously not something that one should have a "casual" response to; we take any accusations of theft seriously at our hotel. We are investigating this issue further as your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 17 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
1.8 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
1.9 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Buffalo-Amherst, conveniently located between Buffalo and Niagara Falls, NY. Only a few miles from the Buffalo Niagara International Airport we offer free 24-hour airport shuttle. Our location is ideal for taking in the sights around Buffalo. Only a short drive to Niagara Falls, the Boulevard Mall, University of Buffalo Center for the Arts, and many summer festivals including the Italian Fest, Allentown Art Festival, Wing Fest and the Canal Fest. The hotel offers an indoor pool, 24hr fitness center and full service restaurant; blvd Bar and Grill offering American fare including Buffalo wings and award winning Bar-B-Q Ribs. The Holiday Inn Buffalo-Amherst is an ideal place to stay for the sports fan. Close to UB Alumni Arena, Northtown Center in Amherst Ice rink and Coca-Cola Field, home of the Buffalo Bisons. Ralph Wilson Stadium, home of the Buffalo Bills, is only a 30-minute ride. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst

Address: 1881 Niagara Falls Blvd, Amherst, NY 14228-3517
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Price Range: $97 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Holiday Inn Amherst
Amherst Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay