We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 106: English reviews
Merrillville, Indiana
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

This hotel is in dyer needs of remodeling, very busy location, but the rooms are stained, outdated, and if I am not mistaken, there is a hint of mold in the air! I am glad that I packed febreze and lysol in my luggage bag. The staff seems to be friendly at most times,

Helpful?
Thank Donald B
Hamilton
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here Friday August 19th. Staff was friendly. The girl that worked Friday night and Saturday morning was awesome. Good location. Rooms were good Older place but there is a lot of restaurants close by . Restaurant on site is very good. I like the cookies at check in.

Helpful?
Thank Joe Q
Baden(outside Toronto)
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, hotel is kept up to Holiday Inn standards however this is an older hotel. Just a two storey building, ample parking but the highlight is the salt water pool. Big pool, lots of patio tables & chairs around, kept very clean. Rooms are good, the bathroom is dated with wallpaper but kept clean. Beds were comfortable and have... More 

Helpful?
Thank qtpiede19
Audrey K, Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you, qtpiede19! We appreciate your comments on our hotel and we're happy to hear your stay was clean and comfortable. Our large indoor swimming pool is a great amenity of ours that many of our guests love taking advantage of. Although we are an older property with a classic layout, we try to make it up with our staff... More 

Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose this hotel for our recent 1 night stay mainly because of our IHG member discount and hoped that it would be in better shape than it was when we were there a few years ago....it wasn't. This is an old 2 story complex in need of renovations. The 1st room we were assigned to on the ground floor... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan2996
Audrey K, Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Dear Alan2996, We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to have not met your expectations. Our location near the 290 is very convenient for our travelers and we are so close to a variety of shopping outlets and malls. Although we may not be the newest hotel in the area, we do try to compensate that with our excellent staff... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights during our Niagara trip. Though the stay was comfortable, we had our worst experience here. Few personal things which we left in our room got STOLEN. When I highlighted this at the time of check-out, the hotel receptionist was very casual to hear about that. I stayed in many hotels in 6-7 countries, but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Amit T
Audrey K, Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Dear Amit_Tunara, I am highly alarmed by the details of your review. I apologize that the agent you spoke with did not address this matter with more professionalism as this is obviously not something that one should have a "casual" response to; we take any accusations of theft seriously at our hotel. We are investigating this issue further as your... More 

Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was comfortable but realize there are no elevators if you are on the second floor. The internet was horrible, basically not worth bothering with. They need a serious bandwidth upgrade. The breakfast was also a bit pricey, I would say overpriced. There is a Bob Evans next door, go there. I considered giving them 2-stars due to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank bikerguy516
Audrey K, Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Dear bikerguy516, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We do take feedback like yours seriously. I am happy to hear however that you were able to get a good night's sleep so the next day you felt refreshed and ready for work. Thank you for staying with us -- we appreciate your business! -Audrey, Asst.... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Amherst for a 40th Birthday Girls weekend with tickets to see the Thunder from DownUnder at the Seneca Casino. We called the front desk for a cab which after 20 minutes of waiting had not shown up so our friend went back inside to inquire. We were told the cab company said 15-20 so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank shannondryan
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here over night while visiting SUNY Buffalo. The price was right and less than 10 mins from UB. The hotel was right off the highway. I believe I checked in with Lindsey and she was very friendly, professional and accommodating. She provided us with two beds and told us it was on the second floor with no elevators.... More 

Helpful?
Thank GothamPOP
Audrey K, Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback GothamPOP on your stay at the Holiday Inn! We appreciate your comments on our Front Office Manager, Lindsey. She is quiet a gem and we enjoy having her as part of our team! Our indoor swimming pool is one of our fantastic amenities we offer here and it is one of the largest indoor swimming... More 

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pros: Nice property layout, big pool, friendly staff Cons: Dated rooms, needs some TLC and maintenance I stayed here on a Saturday night with my two sons. I had read the reviews in advance, but felt that the pros would outweigh the cons. I'm not really disappointed in my decision, but read on to make sure this property is for... More 

Helpful?
Thank William H
Audrey K, Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you, William H, for your review on our hotel. We appreciate all your feedback on the pros and cons of our property and use it as a tool to improve our services. I'm happy to hear that overall your stay was pleasant and you enjoyed your time with us. We hope you'll stay with us again the next time... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My family stayed here when we were in town for a funeral. We had a baby with us as well. Our first room was 140 and it had a musty smell and very wet floor. We informed the front desk who switched us to room 129. This room did not smell musty but still had a damp floor. Overall we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alexander H
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Dear Alexander H, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned that we have fallen short of your expectations. Please accept our apologies for the shortcomings you have experienced, particularly with the overall quality of the rooms you have received. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#8 of 17 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#13 of 17 in Amherst
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
1.9 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Buffalo-Amherst, conveniently located between Buffalo and Niagara Falls, NY. Only a few miles from the Buffalo Niagara International Airport we offer free 24-hour airport shuttle. Our location is ideal for taking in the sights around Buffalo. Only a short drive to Niagara Falls, the Boulevard Mall, University of Buffalo Center for the Arts, and many summer festivals including the Italian Fest, Allentown Art Festival, Wing Fest and the Canal Fest. The hotel offers an indoor pool, 24hr fitness center and full service restaurant; blvd Bar and Grill offering American fare including Buffalo wings and award winning Bar-B-Q Ribs. The Holiday Inn Buffalo-Amherst is an ideal place to stay for the sports fan. Close to UB Alumni Arena, Northtown Center in Amherst Ice rink and Coca-Cola Field, home of the Buffalo Bisons. Ralph Wilson Stadium, home of the Buffalo Bills, is only a 30-minute ride. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst

Address: 1881 Niagara Falls Blvd, Amherst, NY 14228-3517
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Price Range: $103 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Holiday Inn Amherst
Amherst Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay