We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Leopard Rock Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mutare
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 223: English reviews
Start your review of Leopard Rock Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed with my husband in January and we enjoyed our stay very much.The staff were very attentive and polite.The linen was so cozy and comfy.The standard room had beautiful views and plenty of space.We got annoyed because we were not able to watch Zimbabwe play with Tunisia as the only TV was not working.I like the fact that there are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StewnFafy K
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A weekend away to Leopard Rock Hotel is an absolutely magic experience, the staff are incredibly attentive and flexible to residents needs, the rooms are immaculate and the ambiance is one of a kind. I would happily recommend Leopard Rock to anyone looking for a place to stay in the eastern highlands.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neil A
Maputo
Reviewed January 16, 2017

This location in the Bvumba Mountains near Mutare couldnt be more beautiful. Golf Course, a challenging but phenomenally lovely. (Right now Jan 2017, we are having exceptionally heavy rain, so its hard for the Golf Crew to keep it mowed, but thats temporary and forgivable.) But its the hotel TOP management that are letting the staff down. In the past...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maputojane
Bucks
Reviewed January 16, 2017

I stayed at this hotel on Saturday, the hotel was very clean the beds and linen was of high quality. It was so sad to see a beautiful hotel with such friendly staff, the receptionist wasnt that friendly on arrival but all the waiters and barman were well trained. Well done we will be back this month with a group...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denco07
Reviewed January 12, 2017

My husband and I had a great romantic weekend get away at Leopard Rock for the weekend of January 6-9th 2017. The room was clean, bed comfortable and the meals were delicious. We had good conversations about religion in the Chapel with its amazing views of the mountains. Toured the Castle and had a drink at whiskey at the top....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nrussell1512
Samir S, Owner at Leopard Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review and we are glad that Leopard Rock did for you what it is supposed to do: bring families and couples closer. With respect to your concerns about the staff working hours, since the staff live on property, they often work split shifts. Claris is great and always happy to help. Beyond split shifts,...

Harare
Reviewed January 5, 2017 via mobile

We used to be very regular visitors to Leopard Rock, sometimes once a month. The views & crisp fresh air are hard to beat. A few years ago the previous owners let the standard of the hotel drop drastically, resulting in us finding new places to visit. Today we have returned en route from Gonarezhou & have found with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JedKariba
Samir S, Owner at Leopard Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind remarks and noticing our efforts to improve the hotel. Your observation about the number of plugs is absolutely correct and we will be updating the rooms with new multinational plugs shortly. We had allocated funds for the purchase of televisions but sadly while we were given a license to import them duty-free we were not...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 5, 2017

I visited Leopard Rock a day before Christmas hoping for the magic service I last saw 3 years ago. However what I found was nothing short of of a disaster zone in the making. The gate required a $20 charge per vehicle, which was in fact a voucher that we could use to purchase food and beverages in the hotel......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShapiroMak
Samir S, Owner at Leopard Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for using the opportunity to tell us how you fee about Leopard Rock in your first and only review on TripAdvisor regarding your "day visit" to Leopard Rock. Your visit to the hotel, without a confirmed reservation on the 24th was particularly unfortunate. We had published a notice in local papers and the web/email publications. Clearly you and...

Reviewed January 4, 2017 via mobile

Leopard Rock is set in a beautiful part of Zimbabwe. We were very impressed by the rooms and the food was delicious! We played some golf, went for sundowners at the castle and managed to go for a walk in the forest. It was unfortunately raining when we were there, so we didn't head to the viewing platform, but will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kas1307
Samir S, Owner at Leopard Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Leopard Rock. We do hope to see you again in the near future and hope that you will enjoy the Hotel on a clear day!

Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed December 31, 2016

Whatever you do, don't book Leopard Rock for lunch or dinner if you are a visitor not saying in the hotel. We were invited by friends to the hotel for Christmas lunch. We were all looking forward to a very nice occasion, such as one might have at one of the best hotels in the country: good food, good wine,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank irene212016
Samir S, Owner at Leopard Rock Hotel, responded to this review

It is very kind of you to rate us four stars despite this experience. I would like to investigate this and find a way to make up for the experience. I hope you will communicate with me directly on my email shashs@leopardrockhotel.com so I can appropriately apologize for this experience and do what I can to make up for it.

Reviewed December 13, 2016

Leopard Rock Hotel is located in the Eastern Highlands of Zimbabwe where there are beautiful mountains and rainforests. The area is called Vumba from the constant mist found in the area. The Hotel has a world class golf course, casino and beautiful British style rooms. There is also an old castle which believed to have been built as a hiding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victor Molife R
Samir S, Owner at Leopard Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Well the Queen of England never hid in the Castle but then Queen Mother did visit and make some memorable remarks. Thank you for your kind words. We hope to host you again in the near future.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

217 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (182)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mutare
13.4 mi away
African Sun Amber Hotel Mutare
0.0 mi away
Cresta Churchill Hotel
Cresta Churchill Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bulawayo
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Flamboyant
Hotel Flamboyant
#1 of 1 in Masvingo
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.7 mi away
Musangano Lodge
Musangano Lodge
#1 of 9 in Mutare
155 reviews
4.8 mi away
Eden Lodge Vumba
Eden Lodge Vumba
#2 of 7 in Mutare
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Matobo Hills Lodge
Matobo Hills Lodge
#2 of 9 in Matobo National Park - The Matopos
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the Bvumba Mountains - part of the Eastern Highlands of Zimbabwe, the Leopard Rock Hotel provides an extraordinary fusion of natural beauty and world class hospitality. Its old world charm and its internationally acclaimed 18 hole PGA golf course as well as numerous activities which can help you connect with its exceptional surrounds make it an ideal getaway. No wonder the Queen Mother described it this way, "There is nowhere more beautiful in Africa." ... more   less 

Additional Information about Leopard Rock Hotel

Address: Eggardon Road | Vumba, Eastern Highlands, Mutare, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Manicaland Province > Mutare
Price Range: $420 - $1,200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leopard Rock Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Also Known As:
Leopard Rock Hotel Zimbabwe/Mutare
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Leopard Rock Hotel staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Beira, Sofala, Mozambique
over a year ago
Bulawayo, Matabeleland North, Zimbabwe

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Leopard Rock Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for room with a view, although the back facing rooms look into an amazing forest so for birdwatching.....no problem”
 of 5 bubbles Maputojane, Jan 16, 2017 | Read review
“Choose the front facing rooms, lovely view.”
 of 5 bubbles denco07, Jan 16, 2017 | Read review
“Front facing rooms have good views”
 of 5 bubbles nrussell1512, Jan 12, 2017 | Read review
“The hotel still charging the same luxury hotel prices, historical brochure pictures and far from present day reality... 1 star service”
 of 5 bubbles ShapiroMak, Jan 5, 2017 | Read review
“I did not stay the night.”
 of 5 bubbles irene212016, Dec 31, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question