We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (148)
Room & Suite (39)
Pool & Beach (32)

Overview

AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Poolside Bar
3 Star accommodation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
437 results
Traveler rating
216
167
38
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
216
167
38
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free pancakes communal kitchen free shuttle deluxe room free tea and coffee cafe zambezi close to shops every afternoon victoria falls central location self catering kitchen nice pool restaurants and bars booking activities air con within easy walking distance swimming pool
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 437 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was one of a group of seven that stayed here for four nights starting January 9th. I booked this hotel based on the reviews. When pulling up in the taxi I was worried. However, we all agreed that the reviews were right. Our rooms...More

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank Willynill
Response from Elissa D, General Manager at Fawlty TowersResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Willynill. Thank you so very much for such a lovely review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We kind of love the fact that we are a little understated on the outside; it's always such a lovely surprise to our...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well having just read the review by John Doe I have to ask myself if he was having a bad day !!! I have stayed at Fawlty towers on numerous occasions as my preferred place to stay. Fawlty towers is situated in the centre of...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank chrisduffy
Response from Elissa D, General Manager at Fawlty TowersResponded 4 weeks ago

chrisduffy, thank you so much for your lovely supportive review. It was so lovely to have you visit us again recently and we look forward to have you visit us again sometime. A returning guest is one of the best compliments we could receive. Wishing...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This is literally one of the worst experiences I ever had while traveling in Africa. We were absolutely not welcomed when we arrived. The rooms are small and dirty. Even when you don't book a room with an air-condition you will hear the noise from...More

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank Johndoe8814
Response from Elissa D, General Manager at Fawlty TowersResponded 4 weeks ago

WOW Johndoe8814! You really have it in for us. Never have we had such a scathing review under my watch and I have to wonder what bee got into your bonnet. You have shredded us in every possible aspect that you could and I get...More

Reviewed January 10, 2019

Very nice hostel with a great garden and common areas. There is a swimming pool, pool table, braai areas and they offer some free snacks. There is the option of taking a great breakfast for US$3 and dinners for US$6 that you need to request...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2019
Thank Wander51458614245
Response from Elissa D, General Manager at Fawlty TowersResponded January 10, 2019

Wander514586614245, thank you! We love you!

Reviewed January 8, 2019

We spend 3 nights at Fawlty Towers over NYE. During our stay we enjoyed the relaxed vibe of the place and the staff were all very friendly. Our rooms (Standard Double En-suite) were great, but the thin ceilings meant sounds carried quite easily. There is...More

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank iamruark
Response from Elissa D, General Manager at Fawlty TowersResponded January 10, 2019

Thank you iamruark for such lovely feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed you stay. Just to comment on a few things: Although we are a backpackers, we have opted to become more upmarket and appeal to all ages and all budgets including families. With our...More

View more reviews
About
Description
Fawlty Towers is set in a large, private garden shaded with mango trees, with a crystal clear swimming pool. We offer accommodation for those on a budget, as well as private air-conditioned rooms and with the best More service in Livingstone. Enjoy our free pancakes served every day, whilst cold beers and drinks are available at the bar. Try our chef's legendary meals or have your own barbeque round the pool on our braai stand. Internet access and a Wi-Fi hotspot is available. The Lodge is in the centre of town with seven cafes and restaurants less than 500 yards away and the town's largest supermarket is just over the road. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Free Internet
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Air Conditioning
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair access
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
20
Price range
$32 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Fawlty Towers Hotel Livingstone
Location
Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
20
Price range
$32 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Fawlty Towers Hotel Livingstone
Location
Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone

Photos

Traveler (148)
Room & Suite (39)
Pool & Beach (32)
Dining (21)
Family and Play Areas (7)
Business Center & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 19 nearby hotels
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
68 reviews
.46 miles away
New Fairmount Hotel & Casino
50 reviews
.86 miles away
Rite Inn
7 reviews
.97 miles away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
329 reviews
.97 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 40 nearby restaurants
Golden Leaf
370 reviews
.59 miles away
Ocean Basket
270 reviews
.10 miles away
Kubu Cafe
219 reviews
.08 miles away
Cafe Zambezi
947 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 77 nearby attractions
Devil's Pool
1,479 reviews
.56 miles away
Livingstone Museum
525 reviews
.41 miles away
Zambezi Eco Adventures
69 reviews
.02 miles away
Railway Museum
75 reviews
.68 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
JS-BBW
January 3, 2017|
Answer
Response from Elissa D | Property representative |
Hi JS de la Bat Thank you very much for your email. How long does your son and friends intend to stay? We don't usually offer camping. Drop me an email which you can find on our website (unfortunately, I cannot enter... More
0
Votes
PrudenceGov
November 6, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Elissa D | Property representative |
Hi there. The Victoria Falls are about 8 km from Fawlty Towers. You can reach the river at different locations in Livingstone, but the closest access is about 6kms from Fawlty Towers. Fawty Towers has a shuttle that runs... More
0
Votes
Michael M
September 2, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from jill a | Reviewed this property |
No this is to Vic falls Zambia.Would then need to get taxi to border and possibly walk across the bridge. Ensure you have a multiple visa before you enter Zambia if want to do this.Vic falls from Zambia is just as... More
2
Votes

Room Tips

"Rooms far from the pool area are quieter"
iamruark
Jan 8, 2019
Read review
"Standard double room located in a block next to the grounds with a chair outside to sit in and relax."
Dorsetbruce
Nov 6, 2018
Read review
"Try for a bigger room."
aussiedave717
Jun 27, 2018
Read review
"no a/c in our room, but a decent fan. Not sure about other options."
stevevinc
Apr 17, 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing