We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thorntree River Lodge- African Bush Camps

Traveler (208)
Room & Suite (104)
Dining (50)
Certificate of Excellence


Certificate of Excellence
Thorntree River Lodge is set in Zambia’s Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park, just a short distance from the famous Victoria Falls, Thorntree River Lodge is built with an environmentally-conscious design. Drawing inspiration from local customs and culture, it is a modern contemporary design with tented roof structures to maintain the feel of authentic Africa. The lodge boasts 8 twin rooms and 2 family units comprising of 4 beds each. Each unit will have its own indoor and outdoor bathrooms, as well as a luxurious private plunge pool. The main lodge consists of a lounge with an open dining area, where the fine dining experience of African cuisine will come to life. The dining room flows into a private, temperature controlled wine cellar stocked with the finest wines. A gym and spa overlook the mighty Zambezi River, and there is a small library with WIFI for our guests’ convenience. The communal deck is set on the edge of the stunning riverside, and is home to a sunken boma area and an infinity pool. Wooden decking floats on the edge of the river, and moves with the water level to create the illusion of sailing a boat, and help to achieve a seamless feel between river and land. Activities include visits to Victoria Falls UNESCO World Heritage site, cultural village visits, sunset river cruises (on our own private boat), fishing, and visits to the Livingstone Museum. Thorntree River Lodge is the perfect linkage for your safari experiences in Zimbabwe, Zambia and Botswana.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Room Service
Airport Transportation
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
River View


Full view
Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park, Livingstone 20100 Zambia
Getting there
Livingstone Airport5 mi
Victoria Falls Airport18 mi
See all nearby hotels
38Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 140
  • 19
  • 2
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
African Bush Camps does a good job training it's staff to be professional and accommodating. All the camps will greet you with a cool washcloth & drink, upon return to the lodge after a long day, which is wonderful. After our travel agent incorrectly informed us that we had the
Read more
Response from Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Thorntree River Lodge- African Bush Camps
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide this comprehensive review it is essential in order for us to maintain and improve our services. The information provided in regard to our Cub Club offering is of particular interest and something I have noted to be addressed and fixed, we have the facilities and guides to run the Cub Club and I will ensure this will be ironed out. I am sorry to hear that your luggage was lost I hope that it eventually caught up with you. I am glad our team was able to accommodate you and your family in one tent. Thank you for the compliments to our team an for this review. We hope to welcome you back to African Bush Camps in the near future. Until then keep well.
Read more
From the moment we arrived everything was amazing. Great cabins with full amenities. Amazing helpful and friendly staff. Good food. Amazing safaris. Absolutely nothing to complain about whatsoever. We went with our 3 kids and everyone had a great time.
Read more
Response from Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Thorntree River Lodge- African Bush Camps
Responded Jan 11, 2019
Thank you for this lovely feedback, Thorntree River Lodge is a wonderful offering for the whole family and I am delighted you were able to enjoy it with yours. I will be sure to pass this wonderful feedback on to our staff. We hope to welcome you back again in the future until then keep well.
Read more
What a beautiful, full-service safari lodge, just 20 km from Victoria Falls or 25 minutes from Livingstone airport. We had just two nights but we wish we could have stayed for 4. Guided tour/escort to the falls (waited while we saw them also from the Zimbabwe side), rhino trek,
Read more
Response from Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Thorntree River Lodge- African Bush Camps
Responded Jan 11, 2019
Thanks, Tracy for this delightful feedback. Thorntree offers all the luxuries to relax after a busy safari... if that is how you choose to spend your time. I am so happy you had an amazing relaxing stay. You will have to come back and stay longer next time to truly unwind. Thanks again for this lovely review, I will be sure to pass it onto our wonderful staff.
Read more
Thorntree Lodge is excellent! The location is stunning, right on the river a few miles upriver from the Victoria Falls. The meals were well done. The staff was attentive. They arranged some very nice day trips while we were there. Victoria falls and seeing the Rhinos are a
Read more
Response from Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Thorntree River Lodge- African Bush Camps
Responded Dec 24, 2018
Hi Michael, thank you for such a lovely review, we are delighted that you had an amazing stay. Victoria Falls and the rhinos are two precious African gems, what a wonderful experience! I will be sure to pass this kind message onto our staff, thanks again. We hope to welcome you back to our lodge in the future, until then stay well and all the best to you and yours in the new year.
Read more
This fantastic lodge is in the National Park near the Victoria Falls. You ca visit the falls and the National Park. The guiding is excellent. It is great to do a boat safari or do a rhino tracking walking safari. The food is fantastic and the service is great, The rooms are very
Read more
Response from Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Thorntree River Lodge- African Bush Camps
Responded Jan 2, 2019
Thank you for this luxurious review. it seems like you made the most of your time at Thorntree, what a fantastic experience. I hope you have a loveley New Year and we hope to welcome you back soon. Until then keep well.
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementThorntree River Lodge- African Bush Camps
Private plunge pool at room
Booze cruise views
Hi Larry K, How lovely that you are coming to visit us at Thorntree River Lodge. You are going to have the MOST amazing time! May is technically winter in Livingstone. However, the weather is pleasantly fresh and dry during the winter months. I would suggest packing layers, including a jacket to keep out the chill. You will definitely need a pair of shorts and a t-shirt for the warm afternoons. Please also pack a pair of lightweight, non-slip shoes to wear when you visit Victoria Falls. There will be lots of spray and you will get a bit wet, so non-slip, quick-drying shoes are essential! We are looking forward to seeing you at the beautiful Thorntree River Lodge! Until then, take care and best wishes Jemma from African Bush Camps
2 votes
Show all answers
Hi Jeff, There is wifi at Thorntree. It is limited to the library and doesn't extend to all areas of the camp. i.e- you will not have wifi access in your room. However, the internet is decent and will be fine for a skype call. If you would like to, you can purchase a local Sim card. MTN and Airtel are the most reliable mobile (cell) phone networks and you will be able to pick up a signal at Thorntree. You can buy a Sim card at the Livingstone Airport- You'll need to show your passport to have it activated. We are SO looking forward to having you at Thorntree- you are going to love relaxing and unwinding on the banks of the mighty Zambezi River.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi African C, The rates change depending on season. Please email leah @ africanbushcamps . com. Leah will be able to help you with rates and find the deal that suits you best. Best, Jemma
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi chihyuen, Unfortunately, the pools are not heated. But the days, even in June, are still warm so the kids may still want to dip in! There is tv, internet and some games to keep the kids occupied, as well as the game drives, boat cruises, rhino tracking and everything else on offer :) Best, Jemma- African Bush Camps
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi Joe M B, Please will you pop an email to contact @ africanbushcamps . com and one of our dedicated safari aficionados will help you out with pricing and any other requests you may have. We hope to see you at Thorntree River Lodge soon!
0 votes
Show all answers
"room 11 and 12 -- FARTHEST away from the common area. Request a room close to the spa."
"All the rooms are great."
"Every room is spectacular - all private with their own plunge pools and decks."
"As a family of 4, we were given two interconnecting lodges, both overlooking the Zambezi and of identical luxury standard."
"There is a family unit. There is a room right next to shared spaces. I am not sure if that felt noisy to those staying in that unit."
thorntree river hotel victoria falls
ZambiaSouthern ProvinceLivingstone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing