We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Private Bag 31, Livingstone Zambia
E-mail hotel
Hotel direct offer!Stay 4, Pay 3 - Enjoy A Free Night On Us!
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
StayForLong
Destinia.com
Expedia.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (858)
Room & Suite (318)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 09/28/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Tongabezi by Green Safaris
Updated 09/28/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 28 in Livingstone
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.8
Value
4.4
Travelers' Choice
Tongabezi Lodge is a romantic hideaway on the banks of the Zambezi River just upstream of Victoria Falls. Our friendly team welcomes guests to a selection of houses and cottages, each beautifully styled with furniture and embellishments from all over Africa. Guests can dine beside the river or on their private terrace. Privately owned and run, Tongabezi combines an exclusive ambience with the legendary warmth and hospitality of the people of Zambia.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Entertainment staff
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Fishing
Free airport transportation
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Butler service
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
River View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Stay 4, Pay 3 - Enjoy A Free Night On Us!

Location

Full view
Contact
Private Bag 31, Livingstone Zambia
Getting there
Livingstone Airport8 miSee all flights
Victoria Falls Airport21 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
577Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 510
  • 37
  • 16
  • 6
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Amy Andersen wrote a review May 22
23 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
My friend and I stayed at Tongabezi for one night (too short!!), to celebrate my 30th Birthday. We had the most amazing stay, and I highly recommend lodging at Tongabezi! The staff were very forthcoming, super friendly, and we had some great conversations around the bonfire during the night. The views at Tongabezi are also stunning, and we enjoyed a lunch on deck, and dinner with the beautiful African sunset in the background at night. We were blown away by the rooms (yes, we had several!), and wish we could've stayed longer to explore all the opportunities that Tongabezi offers. I can't recommend this place enough, and I'll be sure to book my next stay here once I am back in Zambia. They also cooperate with a local school, and I'd recommend that you check out their gift shop - to support the school, but also local NGOs.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Tongabezi by Green Safaris, General Manager at Tongabezi by Green Safaris
Responded 2 days ago
Greetings from the Zambezi! What a pleasure it was to have you celebrate such a memorable day with us. We are so happy to hear that you were well taken care of and that our team was engaging. It is our hope that you will return again. Supporting the local community is of paramount importance to us as a company. We are so lucky to operate in such a pristine area, which is one of the reasons why our Tongabezi Trust School was founded in 1996. We take our responsibility to support our community through education very seriously, as well as aiding other organizations that are creating positive change in Zambia. So yes, when you shop in our gift shop you take away something beautiful that is also doing good! We hope that next time you have much more time with us. Team Tongabezi
Read more
Morwenna wrote a review Aug 2021
10 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Even though this was my first time visiting the African continent, a feeling of arriving home came upon me as I set foot on the beautiful terrains of Tongabezi. The way the lodge is set up provides a unique sense of cosiness, while still having loads of space to roam around the premises and discover the Zambezi river and the spectacular wildlife it accommodates. The lodge is characterised by having different levels, loads of trees in which you can spot little vervet monkeys, and many different main areas from where you can witness a breathtakingly beautiful sunset, or where you can sit around the fire meeting other guests if you wish to do so. As for the accommodation, we stayed in the Nut House as well as one of the chalets. While the Nut House has its own private pool and is more spacious than the chalets (especially the bathroom is rather astonishing), the chalets are incredibly charming, cosy, and form a little sanctuary in an already magical place. Both are decorated with exquisite taste, and radiate warmth and a homely atmosphere. Then the staff: they were ever so lovely, and what surprised me most was that they were so sincere in their hospitality. Sometimes when you go to restaurants or stay at hotels, you can sense that the staff is merely being professional and that being friendly is part of the job. At Tongabezi, however, it was clear that all the staff, from the drivers to the waiters to the chefs, were really being themselves and they were always in for a chat. They were so thoughtful too, making sure your every need was met before you even realising you needed something. A last thing to mention is that while Tongabezi is a place where one could most definitely come into complete relaxation, there is adventure in abundance. From rhino walks to bungeejumping to stunning views of the Victoria Falls – experiences that will last you a lifetime are guaranteed.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Tongabezi Victoria Falls, General Manager at Tongabezi by Green Safaris
Responded Aug 17, 2021
Greetings from Tongabezi! You have managed to capture our little slice of paradise so perfectly in your incredibly generous review. Thank you so much for taking the time to describe our magical views and vistas of the mighty Zambezi. At Tongabezi (as a member of the Green Safaris family) we work very hard to keep our home green. We love our trees and always build around them where possible. This means that often you can see a riverine ebony happily growing through our decks, or even (in the case of the Tree House) growing through our rooms! We also boast a wonderful organic garden on the premises, which we are very proud of. We also love that you mentioned our team. The Tongabezi Team is almost entirely from the local villages and town, as we believe in training up and offering opportunities in an otherwise very vulnerable area. This is why, as you mentioned, our team feels confident and proud to chat and interact with our guests: they know that they are the heart and soul of Tongabezi. Having your own personal valet also enables guests to create a personal bond with a member of the team, and makes leaving all the harder... .. which is why we hope to have you back very, very soon. Team Tongabezi
Read more
WeonHaupt wrote a review Mar 2022
Cape Town, South Africa1 contribution
When going on holiday somewhere new you never know what to expect, you ask yourself, is it going to be as you imagined, or as reviews and photos indicated? When speaking about Tongabezi, it exceeded my expectations. When you walk into the main building, you are greeted with a friendly hello and taken on a tour of the lodge. The first thing you see is the amazing view of the Great Zambezi River from the deck, and this is where you first realize that your holiday is going to be amazing. You are then taken to see the tranquil dining area and then shown your room. We stayed in the Garden house, which was our own private area where we had a pool, a lawn, two rooms and a shared living area. The Tongabezi lodge does have other rooms that are also amazing! These include the Tree house and the Bird house. On our first day after arriving, we went on a cruise on the Zambezi where we saw a variety of animals, from hippos to alligators to the Pied king fisher and an African fish eagle, all guided by our trusted Captain Felix! We then proceeded back to the lodge where we were met by our host, Chris who informed us what was served for supper. For supper we decided on a medium rare steak, with a choice of a side dish, that was made by one of the chefs at the Lodge, Henry. While we stayed at the Tongabezi I can honestly say that the food was exquisite. Every meal was on point, with each one making the experience so much better. The following few days we went to see the Victoria Waterfalls which is an amazing sight. We also did the white water rafting where you go through the rapids on the Zambezi River itself. We visited Victoria Island where you go swimming in the angel pools and stand on the edge of the Victoria Waterfalls. We also spent a night on Sindabezi island, which is only accessible via boat. This was one of my favourite experiences because it is between Zimbabwe and Zambia. At night while sitting around a fire, made by the staff on the island, having a drink, smelling the nature, hearing the wildlife around you, looking up and seeing the milky way after having another amazing meal made by Henry, you realize that you are exactly where you are meant to be. To me it was more than a holiday, it was an experience, something that I will always have with me, a place in my memory where I can go to and nostalgically remind myself that one day, I will be back at Tongabezi Lodge to experience it all over again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Tongabezi by Green Safaris, General Manager at Tongabezi by Green Safaris
Responded Mar 7, 2022
Thank You for writing us such a heartfelt and fantastic review about your time spent at both Tongabezi and Sindabezi! We could not be happier to hear that we exceeded our expectations and that our warm Zambian hospitality will be a lifelong memory you carry with you. Surrounded by nature and the magic of the Zambezi, coupled with spectacular sunsets, night skies and noises from nature, you simply can get lost in thought and let go of all your worries. It is wonderful to see that this is just what happened to you whilst visiting us. Often times we would like to blame the laundry ladies for shrinking your clothes, but we found the true culprit – it is Chef Henry! H continues to tantalize our taste buds here. Wishing you a speedy return visit. Team Tongabezi
Read more
Sheldon H wrote a review Jan 2022
7 contributions
We went to Devil's pool at Victoria Falls with Tongabezi. The guys were really helpful and took good care of us and made sure we were safe all the way through. They were really professional. We can only recommend to this trip with Tongabezi. We got a good breakfast afterwards.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Tongabezi Victoria Falls, General Manager at Tongabezi by Green Safaris
Responded Jan 17, 2022
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our 'Life on the Edge' experience – really one to have on the bucket list. We have had heaps of rain which has now resulted in very high water levels – so you made it just in time! We hope you will be back soon. Team Tongabezi
Read more
ken1ceo wrote a review Dec 2021
Fort Lauderdale, Florida178 contributions38 helpful votes
Tongabezi is one of the most incredible places we have ever stayed. We consider ourselves experience travelers having been to over 50 countries worldwide. When it comes to travel we love authentic access to nature with creature comforts that weave in luxury. This place sets the standard that all other travel destinations should aspire to be. Our trip to Africa included three weeks and six countries. After enjoying an amazing experience at Tongabezi we were disappointed in the next camp, also 5-Star rated. It fell short on the details Tongabezi does so well. It's inspiring to see what they are doing to help children receiving schooling. You'll want to do Devil's Pool, it's awesome! The people make the journey and Tongabezi has the best people. You will make lifelong memories and relationships and want to return.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Tongabezi Victoria Falls, General Manager at Tongabezi by Green Safaris
Responded Dec 9, 2021
We cannot express how delighted we are to read this wonderful review. So lovely that you enjoyed our unique rooms completely entangled in their natural surroundings. The school is a must-see for a heart-warming experience and Devil’s pool for an adrenaline rush! We value our people and know that the entire team is what creates the most memorable part of your stay. Hoping for a speedy return!
Read more
micape wrote a review Nov 2021
Zurich, Switzerland17 contributions34 helpful votes
The hotel is paradise - located right on the zambezi you cannot have better views. Its done very tastefully and has wonderful cottages and common spaces. The staff are wonderful- we were looked after by Rita and Aggray, always super helfpul and smiley. There are plenty of activities available (incl. mountain biking, sunset boat trips). They have a lovely partnership with a school that was founded by Tongabezi. It's a beautiful and authentic place, a must go to!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tongabezi by Green Safaris, General Manager at Tongabezi by Green Safaris
Responded Mar 7, 2022
Our staff are our favourite feature, and we are so happy to hear that you thought so too. Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We hope to see you back again soon, Team Tongabezi
Read more
Where are the Actons? wrote a review Nov 2021
Australia61 contributions64 helpful votes
If you could pick my dream hotel - layout, decor, amenities, activities - this would easily be it. Claire the reservations agent I booked with absolutely went out of her way to get everything booked in for us in advance to make sure we got the trip we wanted. She was truly so patient and responsive I can't thank her enough. Soon after checking in you are greeted by your personal valet team, who tend to you day and night for everything you need. We never had to ask for anything they just delivered. Truly first class service from start to end. They really go out of their way to tailor the experience to exactly what you want. Food was excellent - amazing variety and quality. Again, completely tailored to you. The rooms I can't even begin to describe - other than saying they are absolutely dreamy and probably the nicest rooms we'll ever have the privilege to stay in. Full of amenities and gorgeously decorated it's hard to tear yourself away for activities. We took full advantage of activities on offer - doing a mix of the included activities and paid activities such as Devil's Pool. There are so many activities included in the rate which we would have taken more advantage of if we had more time. I truly hope we'll be able to come back one day - what an amazing place.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Tongabezi by Green Safaris, General Manager at Tongabezi by Green Safaris
Responded Mar 7, 2022
We truly hope you will be able to come back someday soon too! We are beyond proud to hear about how our team looked after you so well, and that you enjoyed our immense range of activities. Did you know that most of our interiors are sourced locally, and some were even made on the site of our sister property Kaya Mawa in Malawi? All of the tumbling glass or shell chandeliers are hand-made by single mothers and orphan carers, who use their creative skills to support themselves and their families and to make lodges like Tongabezi unique and spectacular. Thank you again for your wonderful words, Team Tongabezi
Read more
Penelope Y wrote a review Nov 2021
Ormond Beach, Florida22 contributions22 helpful votes
This lodge was the perfect place to relax after several days of a tented safari. I would love to go back! Staff were all very friendly and attentive—I wanted for nothing. There was no pressure to take part in activities; information was provided, and, aside from a trip to nearby Victoria Falls (with a reasonable $20 park fee that everyone pays) and a no cost sunset cruise (in addition to a surprise onsite cultural event), I chose to mostly laze around, read, enjoy the river view, and enjoy the pool. My traveling companions, who came later, enjoyed a variety of activities. The buildings and furnishings—all the decor—are gorgeous, unique, and comfortable. I spent three nights there alone and felt perfectly safe. I slept so soundly! They have security and the property is fenced and walled off. Still, there are plenty of monkeys on-site….very cute. A special plus is that the lodge is community oriented. The small gift shop offers an abundance of unique crafts, and some proceeds support the nearby school. The only drawback is that it’s a very long plane ride to get there from the US! Oh, and, yes, the Covid test I got onsite was required for me to travel to Zimbabwe, back to South Africa, and on to the US. I viewed this as a service rather than a lodge requirement.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Tongabezi Victoria Falls, General Manager at Tongabezi by Green Safaris
Responded Nov 8, 2021
We very much appreciate such a glowing review of your stay with us in our tranquil and unique piece of paradise. There are so many activities to keep your days filled but as you mentioned we are also the perfect spot to have a little rest and get to that book. We take pride in our variety of inclusive experiences, designed to suit all varied ages and walks of life. Safety is always of paramount importance for us and our security team is always on high alert watching for that occasional hippo that may pay a visit and feed on the juicy lawns! Hoping for a return visit, Team Tongabezi
Read more
PassingWonders Travel Guide wrote a review Oct 2021
Germany81 contributions13 helpful votes
I am so happy that I came to Zambia to do the devils pool tour. The tour provider is easy to find and the starting point is already close to the river. The tour starts and ends with a brief speed boat tour, which has a good vibe. Once you get off the boat (at the beginning), you will get into your swimming outfits and make your way to the edge of the waterfalls. I am very impressed by the amount of pictures you took and also of the quality. WoW! So far the guide with the best photography skills I had so far (came with no extra charge). 😊 Thanks so much. Your time at the edge is limited, around 20 minutes, but this is a sufficient amount of time (loved it). After that, I liked the snack at the restaurant with the waterfall view. Before the tour I was a bit confused about a pickup service, maybe just highlight it a bit better, that this is not an option. (in case tourists won´t have a local SIM card)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Tongabezi Victoria Falls, General Manager at Tongabezi by Green Safaris
Responded Nov 8, 2021
Thank you so much for this lovely review of our Livingstone Island and Devil's Pool experience! We love that you recognized that the guides on the island are from Tongabezi and left the review on here accordingly. We will be sure to pass your kind words and suggestions on to the Livingstone Island department. Our guides do have fabulous photography skills, and are always very proud to show off their incredible abilities as well as capture your perfect shot. We hope that you share your experience with friends from around the world who then make their way to Zambia. All the best, Team Tongabezi
Read more
Mathew wrote a review Sep 2021
Seattle, Washington1 contribution
After reading the many positive reviews, my wife and I were excited to start our African vacation with a few days of relaxation at Tongabezi. I was impressed with the many (all) 5 star reviews and was a tiny bit concerned about this as I have never encountered any place with such stellar reviews. There is no way a place could be this perfect, I thought. I was correct, but was blown away at how off the mark reviews were. It also shocks the conscience that review sites rate this as one of the best hotels in the world. Having stayed at some of the truly best resorts in the world, this pales in comparison. The pool by the front was green with algae and unusable (see photos). We were shown our room and although it looked excellent at first glance, many of the doors to the outside had trouble opening. The front door could be locked from inside with a manual latch, but if you left, the door was locked from the outside with a simple latch, not a key. That just seemed really unsafe to me and anyone staying or working there could just go in your room as they pleased. We were instantly pressured to arrange for activities as soon as we walked in our room. Activities were supposed to be included but they pushed us to add on additional experiences with the US price sheet, wink wink. In hindsight, I don’t see that any activities were included in the rate aside from being driven to Victoria Falls. We to pay cash when we got to the falls, so that is not an included activity in my book, but I digress. At the same time we were being pressured into activities, we were forced to get an additional Covid test for our flight back to South Africa in a couple of days. We had received a Covid test prior to leaving South Africa for Zambia that would still be good for our return trip. They told me I had to get another one even though the rules for entry back into South Africa were very clear and my test would still be good. This was an additional $150 per person and instead of finally relaxing we had to wait for the “doctor” to perform the test because he was there and we had to get it then. Our lunch that they offered to us when we got to our room was getting cold while all this was going on and we didn’t get to eat any of it. This doctor swabbed my tongue (red flag right there) and then proceeded to fill out a bunch of paperwork while our food is still sitting there. They told us our results would be ready the following evening. The plunge pool on our deck was ice cold and a filthy green just like the pool up front. We could not even see the bottom and having a pool at our home in the US, I know this is not a good thing. Bird droppings were all over most of the furniture so we could not really sit outside. That evening, we tried to change some of our activities and had to endure 45 mins of sitting by the fire with Prezley instead of spending it alone. The next morning we went down and had breakfast and I guess that was okay but forgettable. My wife got sick and couldn’t make the boat ride we had scheduled for the second evening. We changed our lunch activity for the falls and decided not to do the devil’s pool due to my hesitancy about not wanting to risk my life in my mid 40s and being happy with life. I mean, we kept getting told it was Africa and stuff happens. Breakfast our last morning was absolutely inedible. The eggs tasted really funny and the bacon tasted rotten. I took a shower that same morning as my feet were solid black due to the floors not being mopped in a very long time. We were totally sickened by it and wanted to get out of there as fast we could and get back to South Africa. After numerous trips up front requesting my test results and even the activities guy Douglas coming back with Lizzie and asking if I wanted another Covid test (seriously), we finally got our Covid test results. The paperwork was fraudulent as it said it was a nasal swab and our names were even spelled wrong. At the airport, I had both sets of Covid test results and guess what? The first test I got in Johannesburg worked. I didn’t need to get the test at Tongabezi or show it and had to waste money on it. Furthermore, on further reflection, we realized we were under constant surveillance at the resort with all the cameras around and that would explain why someone was always waiting when we walked up front. No way will we stay here again. If you fine with everything I just described, go ahead and book. If you want a real 5 star experience, book elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Tongabezi Victoria Falls, General Manager at Tongabezi by Green Safaris
Responded Sep 28, 2021
Our team is thankful for your constructive feedback; we hate falling below expectations and are incredibly sorry we didn’t do well enough on your trip. Our goal is always to make experiences of a lifetime for each and every guest. We do wish that you had raised some of these issues with our team during your stay. We understand that some guests don’t feel comfortable doing so but in this case we didn’t manage to pick up on anything from you and unfortunately, this leaves us unable to turn anything around, which we would have absolutely loved to do. We ask all our guests to give us feedback at the end of their stay and you gave us an excellent rating across all areas, so we were unprepared to receive this very damming review. However, we learn and grow from every experience and will pass your comments on. Please be assured that guest feedback is reviewed at the highest level in the organisation and is taken very seriously. As your photographs show, the condition of your personal plunge pool was unacceptable and inadequate, we must and do usually do better than this. It was an unfortunate drop in standards that has been rectified and we completely understand that it would have been very frustrating for you. Your other photograph was of one of our two main swimming pools which was closed during your stay, the larger of these with its sunshine deck is a lovely place to swim and was available throughout. Regarding the legitimacy of the Doctor who came out to test you at Tongabezi for your convenience following your late check-in: we were unaware until now that you felt you didn’t need this test. It was arranged by your travel agent in advance. We can assure you they were legitimate, as was the state health certificate you received. We do review the practitioners used for these COVID tests but we cannot be responsible for their work. The same is true for the officials you encounter at the airport; we cannot influence their response to an expired certificate. We help all our guests to navigate the rapidly changing rules and procedures as best we can. We would be very happy to address your other concerns, such as our security cameras which are limited in number and confined to public areas as is common practice, so please do get in touch over email. We hope your journey home was a safe one. All the best, Team Tongabezi
Read more
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
tongabezi hotel livingstone
LOCATION
ZambiaSouthern ProvinceLivingstone
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tongabezi by Green Safaris
What are some of the property amenities at Tongabezi by Green Safaris?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Tongabezi by Green Safaris?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a mosquito net.
What food & drink options are available at Tongabezi by Green Safaris?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Tongabezi by Green Safaris?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tongabezi by Green Safaris?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Tongabezi by Green Safaris have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Tongabezi by Green Safaris offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Tongabezi by Green Safaris have airport transportation?
Yes, Tongabezi by Green Safaris offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Tongabezi by Green Safaris have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.