We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Tabonina Guesthouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tabonina Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 228: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I loved my time at Tabonina! Laurent was really helpful via email with my booking, despite me having several changes to my itinery. And when I arrived there I knew it would be a wonderful place to stay! My room was spacious, comfy, spotlessly clean, and nicely furnished. The bathroom was big and had a lot of shelves to put... More 

Helpful?
Thank kezzer1976
Tabo2004, Owner at Tabonina Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this very kind review. We are more than delighted that you felt safe, confortable and at home at Tabonina. We’ll make sure to pass on your compliments to our staff and to Obey. You are right to point out that at night a taxi is the best way to get back to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Well, the reviews on here and elsewhere are fantastic... we booked this and were very excited. However, we left quite disappointed. First of all, for context, I have lived in Africa for 3 years and stayed all over the continent. This was my 3rd trip to Livingstone too. So when we arrived, I was a little surprised (but not too... More 

Helpful?
Thank ProjectOverland
Tabo2004, Owner at Tabonina Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, although obviously we regret that you left Tabonina dissatisfied. Having said that, your criticisms would have had more weight had most of your remarks not been so inaccurate. There are a number of incorrect, as well as puzzling, not to say vexing, statements in your review. Your comment about Tabonina... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came with a two night reservation (thanks, Tripadvisor) and stayed all week. Within easy walking distance of centre. Really friendly, honest and helpful staff. The owner Laurent visited each morning and was a font of knowledge and interesting discussion and also good at helping arrange the famous ‘activities’. This is not luxury, but it is more than sufficient if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simon H
Tabo2004, Owner at Tabonina Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and fair comments about Tabonina. We are delighted that you felt comfortable enough in our guesthouse to spend a week with us, which allowed you to experience the true pace of Livingstone’s way of life. Besides, I also truly enjoyed our morning discussions. More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
530 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Although I did not get to stay my dealings with them were very good - quick to reply to emails - although they don't take credit cards they made is easy to pay the deposit. However, due to health issues I had to cancel our booking and they quickly arranged for a refund of my deposit. Hope to stay next... More 

Helpful?
Thank kiwi-traveller-PS
Tabo2004, Owner at Tabonina Guesthouse, responded to this review

This is a kind and unusual review. Of course, we would have like it even more, had it been based on your actual stay at Tabonina. We certainly hope that you get better soon, that your trip to these shores is simply postponed and that we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you to Livingstone in the not too distant future.... More 

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Much better value than on the Zimbabwe side. Attractive grounds, good size room, helpful staff, good location. Don't remember the breakfast but I think it was fine. Wi-fi didn't work in our room, had to go near the office.

Helpful?
Thank Aimee S
Tabo2004, Owner at Tabonina Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for this very kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed many aspects of Tabonina (garden, service, room, location). More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

We stayed at Tabonina Guesthouse for 4 nights and felt like we were leaving home when we had to leave. We booked room 5, which is the thatched roof chalet with 2 queen size beds. On arrival it seemed dark and gloomy but at night time it became very cosy and the thatched roof gave the room a wonderful atmosphere.... More 

Helpful?
Thank survdale
Tabo2004, Owner at Tabonina Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted that Tabonina made you feel at home and comfortable, and that you were conquered by the special charm of the chalet. Thank you for your kind words about our staff which we will make sure to pass on to them. More 

Delhi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

We just stayed for day in livingstone but it was worth it as it is a very pretty and clean and green place. The host Laurent is very nice and helpful, answered all our questions and gave many suggestions. Rooms were confortable and clean. Rest of the staff was also very helpful and sweet, always smiling. By the way the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ira_Madan
Tabo2004, Owner at Tabonina Guesthouse, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Tabonina. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this beautiful guesthouse early June 2016. Found it on booking.com. Just turned up and was made very welcome by the staff and the French owner, who was a great help with planning a two day safari. I was there with my son and his friend. We had been staying at Jolly Boys. However we didn't like it there... More 

Helpful?
Thank nigela8
Tabo2004, Owner at Tabonina Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this very kind and positive review. We are delighted that we played our part in making your time in Livingstone (and nearby) enjoyable. And even more pleased to know that you will be returning to our shores. More 

Katete, Zambia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

Such a gorgeous little place to stay and excellent value. We unfortunately missed Laurent when we went there, but all staff were very kind and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. We had a lovely comfy bed and it was nice and secluded - highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank lauraismyname2016
Tabo2004, Owner at Tabonina Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and positive review. Hope I won’t miss you next time you are in Livingstone, but we are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Tabonina. More 

Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016

A little guest house run by a great Frenchman Laurent who does everything for you, and by the time you arrive, you have a full schedule of activities. Laurent answers all e-mail within the hour, and more often than not, quicker. You just tell him what you want to do, and he goes off and books them for you. He... More 

Helpful?
Thank rokasanda
Tabo2004, Owner at Tabonina Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your short stay with us and all the activities you managed in your tight schedule. Looking forward to your next visit to Livingstone. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by MarriottR Livingstone
5.6 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 15 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 stars 1,356 reviews
5.2 mi away
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
#1 of 15 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Zigzag B&B
Zigzag B&B
#5 of 25 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
6.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Waterfront
Victoria Falls Waterfront
#13 of 79 in Livingstone
3.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fawlty Towers
Fawlty Towers
#8 of 79 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated close to the Victoria Falls, one of the biggest wonders of the world, Tabonina Guesthouse is a secure, cosy and relaxing guesthouse located in the peaceful Nottie Broad area of Livingstone, only a short walk away from the town centre. Set in a beautiful mango tree garden, Tabonina Guesthouse consists of nine en-suite rooms and two non en suite rooms, with an ablution block nearby, a breakfast/dinner area, a sitting room equipped with large flat screen TV, a swimming pool, a gazebo with pool table for drinks and games, and a self-catering kitchen. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tabonina Guesthouse

Address: 3 Maisoko Road, Nottie Broad | PO Box 61284, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Price Range: $48 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tabonina Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay