We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tabonina Guesthouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tabonina Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 235: English reviews
Freshwater, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 10, 2016

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in Room 2 as part of a longer visit to Zambia. We wanted somewhere clean and comfortable to stay whilst visiting Livingstone and Victoria Falls without spending a fortune on the more famous river lodges in the area. The reviews on this site proved correct. From first contact Laurent was ever so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katie W
Betchworth
Reviewed October 10, 2016

Lovely setting with wonderful hosts and staff, - brilliant at booking activities and transport etc. Rooms basic but clean with very comfortable bed. Simple but perfectly adequate breakfast. Would firmly recommend the Tabonina to anyone who wants good quality accomodation at a sensible price in Livingstone

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed October 7, 2016 via mobile

I recommend Tabonina Guest House to anyone visiting Livingstone. It is a reasonable, homey, clean, friendly place to base yourself while visiting all the attractions of Victoria Falls. The owner Laurent and all his staff are so welcoming, and they can arrange any activities or tours, taxis, airport transfers, and give information about the area. Our e-mails to Laurent when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spindreamer
Reviewed October 3, 2016

Stayed for 4 nights while visiting Victoria Falls. Was pretty busy with activities while we were there but having a nice clean room, with A/C and friendly staff to come back to after a day sightseeing really was fantastic. The staff were able to deliver on every request we made, from taxis, to laundry, to last minute requests to book...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ewan C
Tabo2004, Owner at Tabonina Guesthouse, responded to this review

Many thanks for sharing your appreciation of Tabonina. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Livingstone, and your day trip to Chobe. As you mention a future new visit, do bear in mind the beautiful national parks within Zambia — Kafue, South Luangwa and Lower Zambezi —, to mention three of the main ones. Having experienced all three, these are...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed September 30, 2016 via mobile

We spent 4 nights here and enjoyed everyone of them It is great value for your money clean and comfortable with amazingly friendly staff nothing was ever too much trouble for them our plane was 2 hours late but Laurent ensured a driver was there to pick us up Special thanks to Belinda Karen Lance and of course our entertaining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Surfing100
Tabo2004, Owner at Tabonina Guesthouse, responded to this review

Most welcome. Delighted that you had a great stay in Livingstone and at Tabonina. It was a pleasure looking after you.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed September 21, 2016 via mobile

We spent a lovely 4 nights at Tabonina. All of the staff are so helpful and accommodating and make you feel at home. We had a deluxe room which was very spacious and clean. The power went out twice during our stay (we are used to this now as we have been travelling around Africa for 2 weeks) but they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joandjerry
Tabo2004, Owner at Tabonina Guesthouse, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Tabonina. Thank you for sharing your appreciation of our guesthouse and our staff. Thank you also for pointing out that we do have a generator, and that we are in walking distance of the town center. It is not always obvious to guests who do not know how spread-out Livingstone has...

Spain
Reviewed September 4, 2016

We spent 5 nights in Tabonina with our children and we had a wonderful time there. The rooms are clean,the pool is nice after a morning in the falls and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Lauren, the manager is a very nice guy, he will help you with everything you need (Thanks for your help with our luggage)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank natifer
Tabo2004, Owner at Tabonina Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Tabonina, and in Livingstone, in spite of your three days without your pieces of luggage. Thankfully you were reunited with them. It was a real pleasure looking after you, your family, friends and children. We hope that you’ll be back to Zambia in...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 25, 2016

I loved my time at Tabonina! Laurent was really helpful via email with my booking, despite me having several changes to my itinery. And when I arrived there I knew it would be a wonderful place to stay! My room was spacious, comfy, spotlessly clean, and nicely furnished. The bathroom was big and had a lot of shelves to put...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kezzer1976
Tabo2004, Owner at Tabonina Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this very kind review. We are more than delighted that you felt safe, confortable and at home at Tabonina. We’ll make sure to pass on your compliments to our staff and to Obey. You are right to point out that at night a taxi is the best way to get back to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 22, 2016

Well, the reviews on here and elsewhere are fantastic... we booked this and were very excited. However, we left quite disappointed. First of all, for context, I have lived in Africa for 3 years and stayed all over the continent. This was my 3rd trip to Livingstone too. So when we arrived, I was a little surprised (but not too...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ProjectOverland
Tabo2004, Owner at Tabonina Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, although obviously we regret that you left Tabonina dissatisfied. Having said that, your criticisms would have had more weight had most of your remarks not been so inaccurate. There are a number of incorrect, as well as puzzling, not to say vexing, statements in your review. Your comment about Tabonina...

Reviewed August 21, 2016

We came with a two night reservation (thanks, Tripadvisor) and stayed all week. Within easy walking distance of centre. Really friendly, honest and helpful staff. The owner Laurent visited each morning and was a font of knowledge and interesting discussion and also good at helping arrange the famous ‘activities’. This is not luxury, but it is more than sufficient if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
Tabo2004, Owner at Tabonina Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and fair comments about Tabonina. We are delighted that you felt comfortable enough in our guesthouse to spend a week with us, which allowed you to experience the true pace of Livingstone’s way of life. Besides, I also truly enjoyed our morning discussions.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (67)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
5.2 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
0.5 mi away
Zigzag B&B
Zigzag B&B
#4 of 27 in Livingstone
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Waterfront
Victoria Falls Waterfront
#14 of 79 in Livingstone
364 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jollyboys International Backpackers
0.0 mi away
Camp Nkwazi
Camp Nkwazi
#7 of 79 in Livingstone
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated close to the Victoria Falls, one of the biggest wonders of the world, Tabonina Guesthouse is a secure, cosy and relaxing guesthouse located in the peaceful Nottie Broad area of Livingstone, only a short walk away from the town centre. Set in a beautiful mango tree garden, Tabonina Guesthouse consists of nine en-suite rooms and two non en suite rooms, with an ablution block nearby, a breakfast/dinner area, a sitting room equipped with large flat screen TV, a swimming pool, a gazebo with pool table for drinks and games, and a self-catering kitchen. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tabonina Guesthouse

Address: 3 Maisoko Road, Nottie Broad | PO Box 61284, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Price Range: $48 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tabonina Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Tabonina Guesthouse staff and other travelers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Tabonina Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room 2 was by the pool. A very comfortable bed, a large wardrobe and seating outside”
 of 5 bubbles Ps127v2, Oct 10, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 1 and 2 front the pool”
 of 5 bubbles 964MikeW, Oct 10, 2016 | Read review
“Room 6 is great!”
 of 5 bubbles kezzer1976, Aug 25, 2016 | Read review
“The chalet is very good value.”
 of 5 bubbles survdale, Jul 8, 2016 | Read review
“Didn't see the other rooms, but all rooms should be good.”
  • A room good enough for 3
 of 5 bubbles rokasanda, May 29, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay