We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bushbuck River House

Plot 1607 Liyoyelo Farm off Nakatindi Road, Livingstone 60060 Zambia
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
Agoda.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (144)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (15)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Bushbuck River House is set in 105 acres of bush on the banks of the Zambezi, 16km from Livingstone. It is the first property beyond the Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park. The house is an owner-run traditional Zambian farmhouse, which has been renovated and thatched to a high standard. All rooms in the main house are en-suite and there is a swimming pool, pool boma and tree house/viewing platform overlooking the river.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Restaurant
Airport transportation
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Great View

Location

Full view
Contact
Plot 1607 Liyoyelo Farm off Nakatindi Road, Livingstone 60060 Zambia
Getting there
Livingstone Airport6 miSee all flights
Victoria Falls Airport19 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
161Reviews3Q+A32Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 141
  • 17
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Thanks to Linda and the Bushbuck River House staff, we had a great stay in Livingstone and didn't want to leave. We stayed in the main farmhouse and enjoyed the grounds on the Zambezi River. On the first afternoon, we were greeted by an elephant in the back garden and buffalo on the road into the lodge. Linda was very knowledgeable and helped us create an itinerary to meet our family's wish list. She has a great relationship with local outfitters and drivers. We also enjoyed her company and hearing her stories each night at dinner. Albert, the chef, prepared delicious meals using local ingredients. Our en suite guest room had a comfy king bed and a twin bed. It had fresh water and kettle for hot tea and coffee. The river house is a traditional Zambian farm house with a thatched roof, pool, and beautiful gardens. Highly recommend!
Read more
Response from Oriel S, Owner at Bushbuck River House
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you Rebecca, for your very kind review. It was a pleasure having you to stay and we have had plenty more elephants visit us since then! Hope to see you again one day.
Read more
Family of 3. Stayed from 11-14June. Accommodation and all pre-arranged activities with Linda EXCEEDED all our expectations. The place itself is very clean and serene- truly an outback setting which is lovely. A very short walk to the banks of the Zambezi River. ZERO mosquitoes!!! And hot, freshly-cooked food served every meal time- Albert is such a gem of a chef (still can't get over his roasted pork with apple sauce). Highly recommend this place. Linda's got everything covered- from airport pick-ups to arranging activities to game drives. She just does it all... seamlessly!!! She made our stay truly memorable and special in every way. If you need anything, Linda's got it. She's remarkable! Thank you Linda for having us.
Read more
Response from Oriel S, Owner at Bushbuck River House
Responded Jul 10, 2019
Thank you Donna, for your very kind review. It was a pleasure to look after all of you, and we hope to see you again sometime soon.
Read more
+1
The Location of the guest house could not be better. Just next to the national park, only 15 Minutes away from town center. After leaving the main road, you drive about 1,5 km trough the African bush on a good private road, before you reach the entrance gate. You get immediately the feeling of staying at some friends house and not in one of those artificially made up and often overdesigned places, which are trying hard to give you the feeling you are in africa, but could as well be anywhere else in the world. This place feels like a real home, with real people and not just a hotel ,,business,, with employees, told to be nice. There is a large garden behind the house where most vegetables are grown - all organic - and shared at times with elephants and monkeys. Dinner is cooked on demand and has to be ordered in advance, therefore always fresh and homemade and just perfect. No waist or recooked or precooked stuff. The place has only very few rooms, all in perfect conditions, clean and with great attention to details. Probably the smallest lodge on the Zambezi with the largest garden and bush surrounding it. The nature is kept completely unspoiled and untouched. The riverfront has not been overbuilt at all with fancy terrasses, pools or cabins , like most other lodges nearby , blocking animals to pass. You will find very few guests, but a lot of nature and the frequent visit of many different animals, including elephants, hypos, crocs, buffalo and bushbucks. They all enjoy this unfenced place coming often daily from the nearby national park. Internet is working fast enough. I communicated without problems on skype and WhatsApp. Very few mosquitoes (in fact did not see any) compared to the often infested places in Town. No light pollution, as you often have from larger hotel infrastructure, made the night a highlight to see the stars unbelievably close. I will come again - with friends - to share with them this great place.
Read more
We were lucky enough to stay at BBRH for 3 nights after a few weeks of overland travel. It was the best decision we made that trip! Linda (manager) started by going above and beyond expectations when she kindly offered to pick us up outside of Livingstone upon learning we'd be walking over the border from Zimbabwe early in the morning. It foreshadowed our whole experience at BBRH as we were treated like family from that moment on! On arrival, we were greeting by a breeding herd of elephants munching at the edge of the garden. There were plenty more opportunities to spot wildlife right on the property, and owners Oriel and Alan were happy to share their bit of paradise with guests! We stayed upstairs in the cottage and thoroughly enjoyed the lovely view and gentle breezes. We had all our meals on site and were treated to a wide variety of lovely meals made fresh by Albert. All the staff (especially Linda) did an amazing job of accommodating and working around some challenging food allergies without compromising flavour or presentation. I felt completely at ease that the food was safe from allergens, and could relax and enjoy the meals without worries for the first time in weeks. I cannot thank them all again for the peace of mind that afforded. Any and all activities available in and around Livingstone can be arranged by Linda on-site, and with years of experience living and working in the area, you will not find a more knowledgable guide than her! More than that, any time chatting to her often results in side-splitting anecdotes of her many adventures guiding overland expeditions between Eastern and Southern Africa, always delivered with dry British wit. In short, whether looking for adventures of your own (or perhaps recovering from a few already enjoyed) there is no better place to stay inthe Livingstone area. We will be back to stay much longer next time and highly recommend it to anyone.
Read more
Response from Oriel S, Manager at Bushbuck River House
Responded Mar 4, 2019
Thank you Wendy, for your kind and generous review. So happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, such a shame it wasn't for longer, but we hope to see you again soon. Linda
Read more
Linda was a wonderful host picking us up from the airport and has great local knowledge. We needed gluten free food and Albert the chef did not disappoint a really nice place to relax and provide a base for activities.
Read more
Response from Oriel S, Owner at Bushbuck River House
Responded Jan 28, 2019
Thanks Clive and Ange, it was a pleasure looking after you and very happy to hear the gluten free was up to scratch! Enjoy the rest of your trip. Linda
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$150 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ZambiaSouthern ProvinceLivingstone
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing